amstrad cpc 6128

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby vebxenon » Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:58 am

lips2k15 wrote:Is there anyway we can get 6128 plus features added? And perhaps gx4400 features? But I think that is the same to be fair.


GX4000 is a the console version of 464 Plus computer. And this is the Plus range:

n 1990 Amstrad introduced the "Plus" range which tweaked the hardware in many ways and added a cartridge slot to all models. The Plus included the 464 Plus, 6128 Plus and the GX4000 video game console (which is a cut down Plus without the keyboard nor support for non-cartridge media). All of the range included a cartridge slot and additional hardware improvements.

Most improvements were to the video display which saw an increase in palette to 4096 colours and gained the capability of hardware sprites. Splitting the display into two separate windows and pixel scrolling both became full supported hardware features although both were possible on the non-"Plus" hardware using clever programming of the existing Motorola 6845. An automatic DMA transfer system for feeding the sound chip was also added but the sound chip itself remained unchanged. Additionally, the BASIC command set for disc access was improved.


Can you ask Renaud Helias, the core creator, here: renaudhelias AT gmail DOT com :cheers: :cheers:

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby vebxenon » Mon May 08, 2017 7:01 am

New release!

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... es/amstrad

TV mode experimental : xorTV.
Not tested.
Another TV mode experimental : comparative analysis with parrot (http://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board ... sson11.png)
Another TV mode experimental : applying Gerald HSYNC/VSYNC width formula.
Just a merge with r005.8.14 and several experimental versions around TV mode (thanks a lot at Atari Forum for experimental tests)





---------------------------------------------------------------------------
#param : cpc => parrot
RVwidth : 8 (16 for CRTC1)
RHwidth : 14 => 63
RHdisp : 40 (0..39) => 640
RHtot : 63 (0..63) => 640+51+63+110=864

etat_monitor_vsync(2)=DO_VSYNC and etat_monitor_vsync(3)=DO_NOTHING

vSyncCount 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
0 1 2 3 4 5 6
X X X X 0 => normaly shall be 2, not 4 here

Replacing
if vSyncCount=2+4 then
by
if vSyncCount=2+2 then
in simple_GateArrayInterrupt.vhd
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
if etat_monitor_hsync(2)=DO_HSYNC and etat_monitor_hsync(3)=DO_NOTHING then

hSyncCount 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4
X X X X X X X X X X X X 0 => 12
X X X X 0 => normaly
8 9 0 1

63*40/640=3,9375
64*63/864=4,6666666666666666666666666666667

"The HSYNC is modified before being sent to the monitor. It happens 2us after the HSYNC from the CRTC and lasts 4us when HSYNC length is greater or equal to 6.
If R2=46, and HSYNC width is 14 then monitor hsync starts at 48 and lasts until 51."

Replacing
if hSyncCount=RHwidth then
--inHSync = false;
etat_hsync:=DO_NOTHING;
--listener.hSyncEnd();
--etat_monitor_hsync(0):=DO_NOTHING;
etat_monitor_hsync:="0000";
--hsync_int<=DO_NOTHING;
end if;
by
if hSyncCount=RHwidth then
--inHSync = false;
etat_hsync:=DO_NOTHING;
--listener.hSyncEnd();
--etat_monitor_hsync(0):=DO_NOTHING;
etat_monitor_hsync:="0000";
--hsync_int<=DO_NOTHING;
else
if hSyncCount=2+4 then
etat_monitor_hsync:="0000";
end if;
end if;
---------------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Higgy
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby Higgy » Mon May 08, 2017 7:12 am

Fingers crossed it works on a normal TV CRT. Hopefully I will get to test it this evening.

DanyPPC
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby DanyPPC » Mon May 08, 2017 12:24 pm

This time PAL RGB Scart works well, but i don't understand why the border of Basic Initial Amstrad Screen is Black.
Test with "border" Basic command don't change the color, only for "paper" and "pen" in every mode (0, 1, 2).

Thanks for keeping this core alive.
I'm waiting a next release where Commando graphics work as due, as on real machine.

User avatar
Higgy
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby Higgy » Mon May 08, 2017 7:58 pm

A new Core was released about 2 hours ago (current 20:57 UK time), and it fixes the black border issue.

You need to download or watch the excellent Logon's run - 3D meets the aging bits demo - http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=69651

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby DrOG » Tue May 09, 2017 3:57 am

Both screens are well-centered!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Higgy
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby Higgy » Tue May 09, 2017 6:59 am

Sorry I forgot to say. It is working fine on my CRT TV. Not tried on LCD etc

The 'Batman Demo' single disk version does not work, due to drive incompatibilities. Where there different types of Amstrad disk drive? Or are 'single disk' versions more for emulators etc which can 'swap' over disks to the other side?
I am pretty sure I used the single disk version on my 6128 with HxC Gotek drive installed.

breiztiger
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby breiztiger » Tue May 09, 2017 9:26 am

single disk version is for 3"1/2 drive on cpc

lips2k15
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby lips2k15 » Tue May 09, 2017 11:31 am

Is there any way to load a cart Rom?

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby vebxenon » Tue May 09, 2017 1:37 pm

lips2k15 wrote:Is there any way to load a cart Rom?


Cartridges were not present on CPC 464, 664 or 6128. Cartridges were only present on 464 and 6128 Plus computers. Plus range had also better graphical and sound hardware.

DanyPPC
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby DanyPPC » Tue May 09, 2017 4:26 pm

I confirm the border screen in now ok (Blue Color) as on real machine.
Test on LCD Samsung TV/Monitor.

Good work !
;)

RobeInie
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:11 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby RobeInie » Tue May 09, 2017 5:51 pm

Working well but right border a little bigger than left border (it affects a bit on games because you see part of a "right-side character" that is on the top of the border ,appearing on the left side).

Anyone can see this or it's my TV ?
(in last cores I see the same)

RobeInie
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:11 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby RobeInie » Thu May 11, 2017 11:24 pm

Last experimental core works now fine , borders centered well and no bad characters on the top of the screen :)

User avatar
Total Eclipse
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 2:20 pm
Location: Sheepy Magna, UK

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby Total Eclipse » Fri May 12, 2017 9:36 am

I tried the last couple of core releases last night. Previously I'd reported that the screen wasn't particularly stable on my TV, but I'm happy to report that the last two releases look fantastic. No issues with the screen at all, and I even treated myself to a quick game of Cybernoid :thumbs:
Atari equipment all in storage - Now playing with MiST :)

RobeInie
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:11 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby RobeInie » Sun May 14, 2017 11:53 am

Anyone knows if it would be possible to implement tape loading , via CDT files ?

lips2k15
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby lips2k15 » Mon May 15, 2017 9:31 am

RobeInie wrote:Anyone knows if it would be possible to implement tape loading , via CDT files ?


Or real tape loading via the serial/midi connector or one of the joystick ports maybe?

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby vebxenon » Sat Jun 17, 2017 10:32 am

New core was released a week ago :)

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... es/amstrad

Robustness : less compiling warnings
- less "others=>'Z'" useless wires
- removed some useless variables/functions
- renamed MIST_CLOCKS instance "clock" instead of "inst13" in main schematic, FPGAmstrad_MiST_top.sdc clock|altpll_component|auto_generated|pll1|clk[2] formula seems now applied.

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby DrOG » Sun Jun 18, 2017 4:13 am

Thanks for your work!

Nicely centered image again over SCART!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby vebxenon » Sun Jun 18, 2017 12:56 pm

Well, thanks to FreeMac (Renaud Hélias), the creator ^^

schombi
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 6:02 am

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby schombi » Sun Jun 18, 2017 1:45 pm

Did I get it right that, so far, the core doesn´t work well on TFTs? On my Acer K242HQL the screen is approx. 1/5 shifted to the left. Am I missing a step?

User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby farvardin » Mon Jun 19, 2017 8:57 am

On my LG Flatron L1750B, the screen is centered correctly (I've tried with latest core)

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby vebxenon » Tue Jun 20, 2017 9:05 pm

On my NEC MultiSyncEA190M (VGA) is well centered.

DanyPPC
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby DanyPPC » Wed Jul 12, 2017 7:21 pm

New Core 170712 r005.8.14.4:

Green OSD while screen is in green mode.

Ligther pixels while bootloading : more luck to have a centered screen with some stupid screens.

Another tip : pressing page-up (the quick reset button) during a long time force ligther pixels (usefull when using multi-core using a stupid screen : do switch core, do press, do turn off/on screen, do unpress, tadam !)


https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... es/amstrad

schombi
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 6:02 am

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby schombi » Thu Jul 13, 2017 5:24 pm

Cool, but download link seems to be broken.

User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby farvardin » Thu Jul 13, 2017 6:46 pm

I think he forgot to commit the core binary. You can still get the older core in the "old" folder. https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... mstrad/old


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests