MiST - FPGA ST

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1561
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Gryzor » Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:22 pm

Ooh that'd be fantastic, unfortunately *I* can't do this. Hoping the board is successful enough for others to implement some ideas...

Btw, if I may suggest so, in case third-party projects come up, it would be really nice if you could mention them on your MiST page so we can learn about them without hunting various fora...
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1334
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:41 pm

Gryzor wrote:Btw, if I may suggest so, in case third-party projects come up, it would be really nice if you could mention them on your MiST page so we can learn about them without hunting various fora...


That's why i moved to google for this. Developers can get direct access there and upload cores and documentation themselves if they want.

Even if you just want to get wiki access to document something: Please just ask.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
jcgamestoy
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:28 am
Location: Alacant (Spain)

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby jcgamestoy » Fri Jul 19, 2013 6:57 am

MasterOfGizmo wrote:
jcgamestoy wrote:The firmware update over USB is implemeted?


It's not "implemented". That's just an inherent feature of the ARM controller used. You need to set a jumper and do some power-on power-off magic. But you don't need more than the USB cable for emergency flashing.

Normally you don't even need that. Instead you can just update the firmware from sd card using the MIST itself.

More infos here:
http://code.google.com/p/mist-board/wik ... heFirmware


Thanks now everything is clear.

I had read this:

"5. Remove the jumper and connect the board to the PC using a USB cord connected to the square USB plug next to the three push buttons"

But I had understood it was the micro USB connector.

It will be very useful if I make something evil modifying the firmware :twisted:

Impatient to get my hands on this

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1334
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Fri Jul 19, 2013 1:50 pm

jcgamestoy wrote:I had read this:

"5. Remove the jumper and connect the board to the PC using a USB cord connected to the square USB plug next to the three push buttons"

But I had understood it was the micro USB connector.

Oops ... that section still described the dev boards. Now it should be clearer.

jcgamestoy wrote:It will be very useful if I make something evil modifying the firmware :twisted:


Exactly that is what this is for. I cannot count how many times i uploaded something that was broken ...
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 277
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Methanoid » Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:41 am

Does anyone know how the capabilities of the MIST board compare to the Replay board? It looks like the Replay has the better Minimig core in beta (but I could be wrong) with AGA/020 but MIST has an ST core (Replay says its a WIP).

Both are impressive but I need to decide which to put the money into!!

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1334
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Mon Jul 22, 2013 9:09 am

Methanoid wrote:Does anyone know how the capabilities of the MIST board compare to the Replay board? It looks like the Replay has the better Minimig core in beta (but I could be wrong) with AGA/020 but MIST has an ST core (Replay says its a WIP).

Both are impressive but I need to decide which to put the money into!!


The boards itself are pretty similar and FPGA sizes are also very close (i'd say replay has the slightly bigger FPGA, but it's hard to compare different brands and replay has xilinx while mist haqs altera). The other main differences imho are: Replay can be better expanded using addon boards, but the mist comes with a robust case and native usb. If you are going to spend more money and expand your setup with e.g. a 68060 card then get a replay board. If you just want a small complete device get a mist.

The cores differ and yes, it seems the replay has aga support for amiga. But it looks like all cores are based on the original minimig + tobiflexx tg68 core (this is definitely true for the mist and probably true for the replay as this cannot be verified since the replay project has not published their code yet). The licenses the original minimg/tg68 code comes under enforces all derived works to be also released under that license. This simply means that all projects based on that code have also to be made available to everyone. And in the end you can probably just port the mist cores to the replay and vice versa.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1561
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Gryzor » Mon Jul 22, 2013 9:27 am

Anyone received a board? Haven't even got my tracking number :(
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image

User avatar
xc8
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:23 pm
Location: B'ham, UK

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby xc8 » Mon Jul 22, 2013 9:36 am

As I understand Lotharek is doing all the work (cases/testing/packaging etc) alone..

User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1561
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Gryzor » Mon Jul 22, 2013 2:06 pm

xc8 wrote:As I understand Lotharek is doing all the work (cases/testing/packaging etc) alone..


Yes he is :) I'm just anxious!
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image

User avatar
jcgamestoy
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:28 am
Location: Alacant (Spain)

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby jcgamestoy » Tue Jul 23, 2013 7:13 am

I think that other core (open source) that can be easily ported is the CPC-Trex

http://www.symbos.de/trex.htm

What do yout think MasterOfGizmo?

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1334
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Tue Jul 23, 2013 7:26 am

jcgamestoy wrote:I think that other core (open source) that can be easily ported is the CPC-Trex

http://www.symbos.de/trex.htm

What do yout think MasterOfGizmo?


"easily" may not be the right term. It's sure several weeks work to get a core to run really nicely with all the features a user expects. But it sure is doable. This is a community thing. If someone wants to do this he's definitely free to do so. All the documentation is there, all the code is there. No hidden secrets.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1561
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Gryzor » Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:14 am

If anyone ports CPC-Trex I'll worship their idol (as long as it fits next to my monitor)...
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2779
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby alexh » Tue Jul 23, 2013 1:53 pm

It all depends on the quality of the BSP (board support package) provided with MiST.

It will comprise of some FPGA configuration + RTL (Display I/O & de-interlacer, Sound I/O and D2A, Keyboard I/O and handler routines) and probably C-Code to run on an assistant Microprocessor to handle UI, SD card access etc.

Porting to MiniMig v1.1 PCB was hard, the C-Code for the PIC was nasty and the UI overlay etc.. But porting to the Terasic DE I hear is much easier.

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1334
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Tue Jul 23, 2013 2:55 pm

alexh wrote:It all depends on the quality of the BSP (board support package) provided with MiST.

It will comprise of some FPGA configuration + RTL (Display I/O & de-interlacer, Sound I/O and D2A, Keyboard I/O and handler routines) and probably C-Code to run on an assistant Microprocessor to handle UI, SD card access etc.

Porting to MiniMig v1.1 PCB was hard, the C-Code for the PIC was nasty and the UI overlay etc.. But porting to the Terasic DE I hear is much easier.


You can see what's provided with/for the MIST. It's all on http://code.google.com/p/mist-board/

The DE1 comes without seperate IO controller, so it's easier to port something that is not meant to use a seperate io controller.

The MIST also has an io controller to the minimig. If a minimig core is being run it behaves exactly like a minimig io controller. If a atari st core is being run it does something atari specific and if an arcade core is being used it just forwards joystick and button events into the fpga.

Using the io controller for a 8 bit setup like the cpc or the c64 may need another simple generic mode for the io controller where keyboard events are also sent to the core and some simple interface to read/write files from and to the sd card are provided. I can help you with that. So far there was no need for something like that.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
xc8
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:23 pm
Location: B'ham, UK

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby xc8 » Wed Jul 24, 2013 11:31 am

I just received the MiST ! Fantastic small machine! Good work Till (and others).

I just noticed: 68010 + 020 alpha, and TURBO mode for the ST (not sure if the turbo works/implemented , I did not test it too much).

Just a bug (or feature?), it seems the MiST does not keep the last core/settings and after a reset (from the push button) or power-off , the machine goes back to ST with mono monitor..

chris

update : turbo mode is probably for demo/test, is not working.
Last edited by xc8 on Wed Jul 24, 2013 9:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
xc8
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:23 pm
Location: B'ham, UK

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby xc8 » Wed Jul 24, 2013 2:20 pm

xc8 wrote:@johncarteronmars

as I understand mate, the MiST can use a HDD image from Hatari (eg. like the 1GB image from PP's site: http://8bitchip.info/atari/DiskImgPP1.html)


Just to update here..
It seems that the MiST is not compatible with that HDD image, when I mount it and boot from it, the result is
a line full of bombs.. :lol: (another bug I assume?)

User avatar
jcgamestoy
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:28 am
Location: Alacant (Spain)

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby jcgamestoy » Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:42 pm

What a lucky man! I'm dying of envy.

Mmmmm A 68020. This has a 32 bit bus so 32Mb Ram are possible. (And the 1200 Amiga emulation closer)

Fantastic News!

User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 277
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Methanoid » Wed Jul 24, 2013 7:32 pm

jcgamestoy wrote:What a lucky man! I'm dying of envy.

Mmmmm A 68020. This has a 32 bit bus so 32Mb Ram are possible. (And the 1200 Amiga emulation closer)

Fantastic News!


I think MIST has 8Mb only?

User avatar
jcgamestoy
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:28 am
Location: Alacant (Spain)

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby jcgamestoy » Wed Jul 24, 2013 7:36 pm

No, No 32MB SDRam read de previous page. :wink:

User avatar
Jungsi
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 9:21 am
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Jungsi » Thu Jul 25, 2013 7:22 am

Is there a chance to make a harddisk image file for the MIST using Windows? In the manual I can only see the way how to create it with the dd command by Linux.
That's not so easy for me, because I've never used Linux before ;-)
Atari: 1040 ST/STFM/STE, Mega STE, Falcon, TT - GigaFile, SuperSatan, Ultrasatan, EtherNEC, NetUSBee, Unicorn, CosmosEx
Sinclair: ZX81, 48k, +48k, 128k,+2, +3, QL - DivIDE+, DivIde 2k11, Interface 1, Microdrive, Interface 2, Spectranet, Datel+D, Interface 1bis, ZXpand
http://www.jungsi.de

User avatar
xc8
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:23 pm
Location: B'ham, UK

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby xc8 » Thu Jul 25, 2013 7:46 am

Jungsi wrote:Is there a chance to make a harddisk image file for the MIST using Windows? In the manual I can only see the way how to create it with the dd command by Linux.
That's not so easy for me, because I've never used Linux before ;-)


Yes :

Code: Select all

fsutil file createnew <filename> <size in bytes>


I put a comment to the (MiST) wiki about this.

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1334
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Thu Jul 25, 2013 7:50 am

xc8 wrote:I just received the MiST ! Fantastic small machine! Good work Till (and others).

I just noticed: 68010 + 020 alpha, and TURBO mode for the ST (not sure if the turbo works/implemented , I did not test it too much).

Just a bug (or feature?), it seems the MiST does not keep the last core/settings and after a reset (from the push button) or power-off , the machine goes back to ST with mono monitor..

chris

update : turbo mode is probably for demo/test, is not working.


Yes, turbo for st is not working (in theory it should switch the ST memory to "fast ram".

Also yes, i "save config" option is missing for the st. That'll come soon.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1561
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Gryzor » Thu Jul 25, 2013 8:47 am

I have to say, it's very encouraging that you're sticking around and commenting on stuff; it bodes well for future support, as possible bugs are revealed...


MasterOfGizmo wrote:
xc8 wrote:I just received the MiST ! Fantastic small machine! Good work Till (and others).

I just noticed: 68010 + 020 alpha, and TURBO mode for the ST (not sure if the turbo works/implemented , I did not test it too much).

Just a bug (or feature?), it seems the MiST does not keep the last core/settings and after a reset (from the push button) or power-off , the machine goes back to ST with mono monitor..

chris

update : turbo mode is probably for demo/test, is not working.


Yes, turbo for st is not working (in theory it should switch the ST memory to "fast ram".

Also yes, i "save config" option is missing for the st. That'll come soon.
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image

User avatar
xc8
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:23 pm
Location: B'ham, UK

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby xc8 » Thu Jul 25, 2013 9:04 am

Just FIY guys, Till just activated the issues tab on the MiST wiki :cheers:
http://code.google.com/p/mist-board/issues/list

User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1561
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Gryzor » Thu Jul 25, 2013 9:46 am

xc8 wrote:Just FIY guys, Till just activated the issues tab on the MiST wiki :cheers:
http://code.google.com/p/mist-board/issues/list


Good, good, let's get the ball rolling!
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests