MiST - FPGA ST

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
xc8
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:23 pm
Location: B'ham, UK

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby xc8 » Mon Jul 01, 2013 6:49 am

yea, cross fingers, as sometimes with the FPGAs the video issues can be a real bitch.
for example I have a Philips (15") that has vert. 56-76 Hz and works like a charm with any core of the c-1,
but there is NO way to see picture on an widescreen one -vert. scan 50-75 Hz !

User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1560
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Gryzor » Mon Jul 01, 2013 7:18 am

We'll know in a few days... I *really* don't want to go looking for another monitor, obviously!
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image

User avatar
xc8
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:23 pm
Location: B'ham, UK

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby xc8 » Mon Jul 01, 2013 7:37 am

As you can see there : https://code.google.com/p/mist-board/wiki/HowTheAtariStCoreWorks
the video output can be switched between 50Hz / 56Hz (and 72Hz for the mono).
So IMHO I think is ok.
I also noticed that there is a "color 640/320x200 at 60Hz" mode, I assume this is NTSC.

User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1560
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Gryzor » Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:35 am

I was reading this doc last night; frequency-wise it looks ok, what worries me is the low resolutions. Have never tried something like that...

Yeah, the 60Hz must be NTSC, it'll be interesting to see if this gives any speed boost as is done with games consoles...
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image

User avatar
johncarteronmars
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 9:05 pm
Location: Wickenburg Arizona

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby johncarteronmars » Mon Jul 08, 2013 4:23 pm

any update on status and availability
of the MIDI add-on for the upcoming MIST Board????????????????????????????????

Waiting on the board but REALLY waiting on the add-on!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1310
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Wed Jul 10, 2013 2:47 pm

johncarteronmars wrote:any update on status and availability
of the MIDI add-on for the upcoming MIST Board????????????????????????????????

Waiting on the board but REALLY waiting on the add-on!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


I don't think the demand for that is too big so i may simply build a few of them and sell them myself. Send me a PM if you want one. Price of course depends on demand. E.g. the empty pcb in a quantity of 10 already is ~10 Euros. Plus parts plus shipping ...
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
jcgamestoy
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:28 am
Location: Alacant (Spain)

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby jcgamestoy » Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:50 am

Hi, I recently bought a "Mist Board" (I'm waiting for it to arrive)

I am interested in programming this thing and I have a lot of questions.

- This page (https://code.google.com/p/mist-board/wiki/TheBoard) said that the board has 32 ​​MB of memory, but in this one (https://code.google.com/p/mist-board/wiki/FaQ) says it has only 16. What is the right amount?

- According to the diagram board, SDRAM memory is connected directly to the FPGA and is accessed from the ARM through SPI How much ram is available from the IO controller?, What is the clock frequency of the IO controller?

- Can use Megadrive controllers on DB9 ports without problems?

Congratulations for your great job.

PS: Sorry for my bad English but I'm Spanish :wink:

User avatar
xc8
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:23 pm
Location: B'ham, UK

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby xc8 » Sun Jul 14, 2013 2:25 pm

- Can use Megadrive controllers on DB9 ports without problems?


Megadrive? I don't think so, as the +5v is on pin nr 5.
On the "standard" atari (c64/amiga etc) joysticks , the +5v is on pn nr 7.

MegaDrive:
http://www.hardwarebook.info/Mega_Drive_Joystick
Atari:
http://www.hardwarebook.info/Atari_Mouse/Joy

User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1560
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Gryzor » Sun Jul 14, 2013 3:20 pm

xc8 wrote:
- Can use Megadrive controllers on DB9 ports without problems?


Megadrive? I don't think so, as the +5v is on pin nr 5.
On the "standard" atari (c64/amiga etc) joysticks , the +5v is on pn nr 7.

MegaDrive:
http://www.hardwarebook.info/Mega_Drive_Joystick
Atari:
http://www.hardwarebook.info/Atari_Mouse/Joy


Ah damn, I didn't even think about it, but now I wish I could use my HoneyBee XE-8 arcade stick (MD) with MiST... :D
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image

User avatar
xc8
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:23 pm
Location: B'ham, UK

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby xc8 » Sun Jul 14, 2013 3:28 pm

alternative its possible to build an adaptor (one female + one male DB-9) that swaps the pin 5 to pin 7

User avatar
jcgamestoy
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:28 am
Location: Alacant (Spain)

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby jcgamestoy » Sun Jul 14, 2013 9:14 pm

I know they are not electrically compatible, but in boards like the V6Z80P they are (http://www.retroleum.co.uk/v6z80p/)

In the C64 if you use them, you can damage the IC and then it will not work on the Megadrive http://www.minimig.net/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=426

Torlus
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 6:56 pm

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Torlus » Mon Jul 15, 2013 7:03 pm

Interesting project. ;)
I have a few cores that could be ported to this board, the PC-Engine one could be a good candidate. ;)

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4178
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Dal » Mon Jul 15, 2013 8:07 pm

Torlus wrote:Interesting project. ;)
I have a few cores that could be ported to this board, the PC-Engine one could be a good candidate. ;)


Good idea, and then you could run a PC-based Atari emulator like STeem and.... oh wait...
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Torlus
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 6:56 pm

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Torlus » Mon Jul 15, 2013 8:16 pm

No, I meant the NEC PC-Engine / Turbografx-16 ;)
See here : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V0jXQXZHToE

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4375
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby DarkLord » Mon Jul 15, 2013 8:59 pm

Dal wrote:Good idea, and then you could run a PC-based Atari emulator like STeem and.... oh wait...


:lol:
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
delvis
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:49 pm
Location: Leander, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby delvis » Tue Jul 16, 2013 12:48 am

I think this is very cool.

Off the wall question. Can this board be adapted to fit inside a PC or Mac laptop case? Near me is a "Computer Works Goodwill" that collects all the scrapped computers from everywhere. You can go in and find lots of long lost older PC and Mac stuff. (Use to carry Atari 10 years ago but not now)

So my thought was if the laptop case offered the space would it be very hard to adapt this MB into it.

* Connect to a LCD and keep the external VGA connector
* power the back lite of the LCD panel
* tie into the keyboard of the laptop
* support the laptop battery and the AC power supply

I think this would make a heck of a cool ST laptop mainboard

The scope might be too great but it might be worth looking to. If Dell Model XYZ laptop was the best match and a hack could be created to make it work in side the case...

I know on the Firebee design there is all kinds of places to connect cables ect. If this had a way to do some stuff like that you could hook up alternate cases.
Delvis
Atari User since 1982
400 / 800/ 1200XL / 800XL /65XE / 130XE
520ST / 1040ST / MegaST4

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1310
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Tue Jul 16, 2013 7:14 am

jcgamestoy wrote:I am interested in programming this thing and I have a lot of questions.

You are extremely welcome to do so. I'll try to help as good as possible ...

jcgamestoy wrote:- This page (https://code.google.com/p/mist-board/wiki/TheBoard) said that the board has 32 ​​MB of memory, but in this one (https://code.google.com/p/mist-board/wiki/FaQ) says it has only 16. What is the right amount?

Oops. Fixed the FaQ. 32MBytes is correct, but the 68000 can only address 16MB.

jcgamestoy wrote:- According to the diagram board, SDRAM memory is connected directly to the FPGA and is accessed from the ARM through SPI How much ram is available from the IO controller?, What is the clock frequency of the IO controller?

The IO controller has 64kBytes of own internal RAM and 256kBytes flash. The IO controller runs at 48Mhz.

jcgamestoy wrote:- Can use Megadrive controllers on DB9 ports without problems?

I never did that. The IO controller has the horse power to handle things like that transparently in the background meaning that e.g. the Atari or Amiga wouldn't even recognize that it's a different joystick. But as already said, you might habe to build an adapter to not fry anything.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1310
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Tue Jul 16, 2013 7:54 am

delvis wrote:Off the wall question. Can this board be adapted to fit inside a PC or Mac laptop case? Near me is a "Computer Works Goodwill" that collects all the scrapped computers from everywhere. You can go in and find lots of long lost older PC and Mac stuff. (Use to carry Atari 10 years ago but not now)

...

The scope might be too great but it might be worth looking to. If Dell Model XYZ laptop was the best match and a hack could be created to make it work in side the case...


I know this hurts my business :D , but: If you are really going to put that much effort into this, i'd really suggest you spend the money on a firebee or similar. The MIST was primarily designed to be simple and cheap. If you are going to spend a lot of money on the case and spend many hours of work i'd suggest you also spend some serious money on the board.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
delvis
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:49 pm
Location: Leander, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby delvis » Wed Jul 17, 2013 3:55 am

Makes sense to keep it within the realm of what it was designed to be.
Delvis
Atari User since 1982
400 / 800/ 1200XL / 800XL /65XE / 130XE
520ST / 1040ST / MegaST4

User avatar
jcgamestoy
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:28 am
Location: Alacant (Spain)

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby jcgamestoy » Wed Jul 17, 2013 10:59 am

MasterOfGizmo wrote:
jcgamestoy wrote:I am interested in programming this thing and I have a lot of questions.

You are extremely welcome to do so. I'll try to help as good as possible ...

jcgamestoy wrote:- This page (https://code.google.com/p/mist-board/wiki/TheBoard) said that the board has 32 ​​MB of memory, but in this one (https://code.google.com/p/mist-board/wiki/FaQ) says it has only 16. What is the right amount?

Oops. Fixed the FaQ. 32MBytes is correct, but the 68000 can only address 16MB.

jcgamestoy wrote:- According to the diagram board, SDRAM memory is connected directly to the FPGA and is accessed from the ARM through SPI How much ram is available from the IO controller?, What is the clock frequency of the IO controller?

The IO controller has 64kBytes of own internal RAM and 256kBytes flash. The IO controller runs at 48Mhz.

jcgamestoy wrote:- Can use Megadrive controllers on DB9 ports without problems?

I never did that. The IO controller has the horse power to handle things like that transparently in the background meaning that e.g. the Atari or Amiga wouldn't even recognize that it's a different joystick. But as already said, you might habe to build an adapter to not fry anything.


Thanks for the info.

One more question ¿The Micro USB conector for power and firmware flash can be used to debug the firmware?.

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1310
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Wed Jul 17, 2013 1:45 pm

jcgamestoy wrote:The Micro USB conector for power and firmware flash can be used to debug the firmware?.


The Micro-USB is currently only used to power the board when the main firmware runs.

But there's no particular reason for this. The firmware could be modified to do the debug output there instead of the rs232 connector. It can potentially be used for other things like presenting the Ataris RS232 as a virtual USB com port to the PC or to present the Atari joystick as a USB joystick to the PC or give it card reader like functionality to allow access to the inserted SD card or ... or ... or ... way more possibilities than time to implement them. But that's why i enjoy if people plan to develop on/with the board.

You could probably even run a gdb stub over the micro usb and then connect with a debugger to the arm controller. Thinking of this: You could even add a gdb stub to the tg68 core and then debug and trace via the arm controller using a debugger on the PC. This is sure everything but simple, but it's possible. Wouldn't that be cool?
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
jcgamestoy
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:28 am
Location: Alacant (Spain)

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby jcgamestoy » Wed Jul 17, 2013 2:38 pm

Cool :lol:

The firmware update over USB is implemeted?

User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1560
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Gryzor » Wed Jul 17, 2013 2:40 pm

So the USB port is a full one, not just the power wires? Wow, lots of possibilities, even though using the board as a joystick adaptor for the PC is a bit... well, degrading :D

Maybe write a web server to run off MiST and communicate with the net through the PC! :)
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1310
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Thu Jul 18, 2013 10:51 am

jcgamestoy wrote:The firmware update over USB is implemeted?


It's not "implemented". That's just an inherent feature of the ARM controller used. You need to set a jumper and do some power-on power-off magic. But you don't need more than the USB cable for emergency flashing.

Normally you don't even need that. Instead you can just update the firmware from sd card using the MIST itself.

More infos here:
http://code.google.com/p/mist-board/wik ... heFirmware
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1310
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Thu Jul 18, 2013 11:04 am

Gryzor wrote:So the USB port is a full one, not just the power wires?

Yes!

Gryzor wrote:Maybe write a web server to run off MiST and communicate with the net through the PC! :)

Before that i'd suggest to use the PC as a network interface for the MiST. And if you're done with that replace the PC with the raspberry Pi and you have a networked MiST. Or you write a driver for one of those USB/Ethernet dongles.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests