MiST - FPGA ST

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1034
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Thu Sep 25, 2014 2:14 pm

Newsdee wrote:There seems to be a problem with the latest NES core, the start button doesn't seem to work (either from OSD or the gamepad).
Worked fine with first core, although we had to use the OSD.


I just checked that and the latest core works for me.

I do have gamepads that report more buttons than they actually have and even worse: Some of these buttons are reported as being pressed. Please unplug your USB gamepads and test the OSD "start" button again.

Also keep in mind that the MIST cannot read the labels on your game pad. So it just uses the first four buttons the pad reports. These may not necessarily be the ones that are labeled "start" or "select".
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1144
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Newsdee » Thu Sep 25, 2014 4:03 pm

I figured it out: you can't use the start button if you load the NES core after the AppleII+ core! (I had the a2 as core.rbf)

Starting up with NES works fine; but switching to the A2 core and back to the NES breaks the (virtual) start button.
It's fine if I cycle through the ST core though; haven't tried other cores.

One more for the wiki: in case of strange issues, try setting a core as your default :)

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1034
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Sat Sep 27, 2014 6:32 pm

Thanks. That's exactly the kind of feedback I need to fix these thing: Exact instructions how to trigger a problem. I'll look at that asap. Sounds like a firmware problem.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

ChrisTG
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 2:57 pm

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby ChrisTG » Sun Sep 28, 2014 11:16 am

MasterOfGizmo wrote:A cubase3 dongle is on its way to me. I'll see if how I can integrate this into the mist setup.

Any news on this topic yet?
Thanks!

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1034
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Sun Sep 28, 2014 12:30 pm

Yeah. The dongle was broken. 80 Euros for a small red plastic case and four 25 year old diskettes.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
xc8
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:23 pm
Location: B'ham, UK

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby xc8 » Sun Sep 28, 2014 12:42 pm

MasterOfGizmo wrote:Yeah. The dongle was broken. 80 Euros for a small red plastic case and four 25 year old diskettes.


:( I hope you got your money back...

User avatar
matt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 317
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Contact:

MiST - FPGA ST

Postby matt » Sun Sep 28, 2014 12:48 pm

Happy to donate my Cubase stuff to the cause?

PM me.
Atari 1040STE 4MB, TOS 2.06 patched, C-LAB Notator SL 3.21, Cubeat 2, EIZO FlexScan L565 17", Supera Color HD video converter

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1034
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Sun Sep 28, 2014 1:25 pm

No money back (yet). I already ordered another one.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
matt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 317
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby matt » Sun Sep 28, 2014 1:56 pm

Is the dongle the same across all Cubase products? I also have a Cubeat and perhaps something else.
Atari 1040STE 4MB, TOS 2.06 patched, C-LAB Notator SL 3.21, Cubeat 2, EIZO FlexScan L565 17", Supera Color HD video converter

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1034
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Sun Sep 28, 2014 2:51 pm

I don't think so. At least cubase 3 and cubase audio falcon seem to have different ones.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
matt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 317
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby matt » Sun Sep 28, 2014 5:36 pm

In that case my offer still applies. :)
Atari 1040STE 4MB, TOS 2.06 patched, C-LAB Notator SL 3.21, Cubeat 2, EIZO FlexScan L565 17", Supera Color HD video converter

ldv-01
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:14 pm
Location: Italy

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby ldv-01 » Mon Sep 29, 2014 7:33 pm

MasterOfGizmo wrote:I don't think so. At least cubase 3 and cubase audio falcon seem to have different ones.

in order, Cubase 2, Cubase 3, Cubase Score2 and Cubase Audio Falcon use different dongles.

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1034
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Mon Sep 29, 2014 8:11 pm

The intersting thing is that the dongle I just received does not work with the cubase 3 disk the broken one came with. I initially thought that one was also broken. But my dongle test routines received data from it. And indeed that dongle works with a cubase 3.1 copy. So even the cubase 3 and 3.1 dongles seem to be different ....
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
matt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 317
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby matt » Mon Sep 29, 2014 8:14 pm

Yikes!
Atari 1040STE 4MB, TOS 2.06 patched, C-LAB Notator SL 3.21, Cubeat 2, EIZO FlexScan L565 17", Supera Color HD video converter

FedePede04
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1016
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby FedePede04 » Mon Sep 29, 2014 8:33 pm

stupid question, is there not a crack version of the program, since that all are looking after a dongle?

btw. nice work on the midi part :)
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
matt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 317
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby matt » Mon Sep 29, 2014 9:36 pm

AFAIK, none of the cracked versions work 100% because of lack of dongle
Atari 1040STE 4MB, TOS 2.06 patched, C-LAB Notator SL 3.21, Cubeat 2, EIZO FlexScan L565 17", Supera Color HD video converter

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1034
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Tue Sep 30, 2014 8:41 am

Looking at the dongle in detail is sure nothing that'll result in something anytime soon. I'll e.g. first have to build a small device to connect the dongle to.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1034
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Thu Oct 09, 2014 7:50 am

double post due to forum problems ...
Last edited by MasterOfGizmo on Thu Oct 09, 2014 7:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1034
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Thu Oct 09, 2014 7:50 am

double post due to forum problems ...
Last edited by MasterOfGizmo on Thu Oct 09, 2014 7:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1034
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Thu Oct 09, 2014 7:50 am

TomPhobos wrote:Now that 2 buttons work a port of the OneChipMSX on the MiST would be great :D


Here you go:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wuJGqrItLts

Thanks to Alastair for his great work on this. His code can be found here:
https://github.com/robinsonb5/OneChipMSX

Official builds for the MIST will probably show up here:
http://retroramblings.net/?page_id=935
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3991
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby joska » Thu Oct 09, 2014 7:56 am

Alright! MSX is my all-time favourite 8-bit system, and I spent years on it before I bought my first ST.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1555
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Gryzor » Thu Oct 09, 2014 7:58 am

Holy cow!!!! This is just plain amazing...
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image

FedePede04
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1016
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby FedePede04 » Thu Oct 09, 2014 8:01 am

joska wrote:Alright! MSX is my all-time favourite 8-bit system, and I spent years on it before I bought my first ST.


same here, i had a spectravideo sv728 msx, and before the msx i had a spectravideo sv318 that was nearly the same as the Msx, so i also spend really much time on it.

so i also have to give it a go, and see how long i can get in HERO :)
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
eddys
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 9:33 pm

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby eddys » Thu Oct 09, 2014 10:01 am

Fantastic news!

any info on the specs of the core? MSX2?

I had the SVI-738 Xpress , later upgraded it to MSX2 (faster Z80/128k RAM)

TomPhobos
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 10:45 am

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby TomPhobos » Thu Oct 09, 2014 4:00 pm

Woooow, that's great news, Thank you very much! :D
I can't wait to check this core out :D

Personally i have a Panasonic FA-A1FX (MSX2+), a Philips 8280 (MSX2) and a National FS4000 (MSX1). You see i love MSX-machines and i'm looking forward to my new "MSX3" ;)


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests