2 minor errors in STeem 3.8.2

Bug reports and support area for Steem

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

Forum rules
All bug reports must include:
Steem version
Host operating system version
TOS ROM version
Copy of steem.ini
Reference to or copy of disk image being used
Brief description of steps performed
Description of desired outcome
Description of actual outcome
FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 951
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

2 minor errors in STeem 3.8.2

Postby FedePede04 » Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:27 pm

Hi.
STeem 3.8.2
Win 8.1
tos 162UK
running STE 14mb, 8mhz
Found 2 small errors

Every second time i reset STeem, i get this.
error.png


There is a error if i am in medium resolutions and grap a screen dump and it is exporting as a Neo file.
error1.png


the resolutions is a word and not a byte so the resolutions number should be in byte 03 and not in byte 02
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1952
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: 2 minor errors in STeem 3.8.2

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Nov 27, 2016 9:31 am

FedePede04 wrote:Hi.
STeem 3.8.2
Win 8.1
tos 162UK
running STE 14mb, 8mhz
Found 2 small errors

Every second time i reset STeem, i get this.
error.png


Hi, I can't reproduce this.
Could you post text of TRACE.txt or Steem.ini?
Planes look shifted, is it supposed to be low or medium?
Is 14MB OK with TOS 1.62?
Is option Machine/Wake-up state set?

EDIT:
Maybe try other TOS 1.62, as there's a corrupt 1.62UK floating around.
Do you have the same problem with less memory?
Did you have the problem with older versions?


There is a error if i am in medium resolutions and grap a screen dump and it is exporting as a Neo file.
error1.png

the resolutions is a word and not a byte so the resolutions number should be in byte 03 and not in byte 02


Yes it is written as a word, but endianness isn't correct. As an excuse, I never saw other than low res Neochrome pics.
Thx for the report.

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 951
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: 2 minor errors in STeem 3.8.2

Postby FedePede04 » Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:56 am

Hi..
i have tried different tos 102 and 104 also fail tos 106 work fine.
at least up to Beta 358 (maybe higher) does it work with all
and at least from Beta R442 (Maybe Earlier) and up does it fail.

i have never had any problem with the 14mb mode but it also fail in 1 mb.
it suppose to start up in medium res but you are right it look like low res with shifted plane.


you are right about NEO, i have also not found a program that can load / save neo medium or high
but the format was made to handle it.
my drawing program can both load / save Neo Medium / high res.
but i think in your case it is important that it can if one need to export screen shoot of medium / high.
you could also let it be exported degas PI1-3 many program support those resolutions.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1952
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: 2 minor errors in STeem 3.8.2

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Nov 27, 2016 6:35 pm

He he, I couldn't reproduce because I was testing with current build. :oops:
With v3.8.2 I could confirm the bug. But it seems, at the same time, it's been fixed already.

In short, the two issues will be fixed in v3.8.3.
Thx again.

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 951
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: 2 minor errors in STeem 3.8.2

Postby FedePede04 » Sun Nov 27, 2016 8:22 pm

and thank you for your great effort :)
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

mlynn1974
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:33 pm
Contact:

Re: 2 minor errors in STeem 3.8.2

Postby mlynn1974 » Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:48 pm

STeem 3.8.2
Windows Vista
tos 162UK
running STE 4mb, 8MHz
Found 1 error

Running Devpac 2 or 3 from a hard drive C:\_PROGS\DEVPAC3 causes a reset and TOS boots in low res with shifted bitplanes.
Sometimes the word HALT is displayed in the status bar at the top of STeem.

Running tos106UK actually loads Devpac but if the incorrect path is specified in HISOFTED.INF we get the error "unable to load MON.TTP"
When the correct path is specified Devpac 3 runs without error.
This doesn't happen with the STF\TOS1.04 configuration and it runs without error even with the incorrect path in HISOFTED.INF

I couldn't upload my steem.ini because .INI and .CFG extensions aren't allowed to be uploaded.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Still got, still working: Atari 4Mb STe, 520STFM, 2.5Mb STF.
Hardware: Cumana CSA 354, Ultimate Ripper, Blitz Turbo, Synchro Express II (US and UK Versions).

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 951
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: 2 minor errors in STeem 3.8.2

Postby FedePede04 » Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:15 pm

error already corrected in version 3.8.3
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

mlynn1974
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:33 pm
Contact:

Re: 2 minor errors in STeem 3.8.2

Postby mlynn1974 » Mon Nov 28, 2016 12:19 am

I downloaded the source code and I have VS2008 but not VS2015.
I think I'll wait for an official build of 3.8.3
Multiple project files for different compilers are fancy.
Still got, still working: Atari 4Mb STe, 520STFM, 2.5Mb STF.
Hardware: Cumana CSA 354, Ultimate Ripper, Blitz Turbo, Synchro Express II (US and UK Versions).

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 951
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: 2 minor errors in STeem 3.8.2

Postby FedePede04 » Mon Nov 28, 2016 11:50 am

i don't know if Steven still need Beta tester ? but you could ask him, when you will get the new version faster :)
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1952
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: 2 minor errors in STeem 3.8.2

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Dec 01, 2016 10:18 am

mlynn1974 wrote:I downloaded the source code and I have VS2008 but not VS2015.
I think I'll wait for an official build of 3.8.3
Multiple project files for different compilers are fancy.


I don't understand this remark.
We follow compiler evolution. Steem started on Borland C++, quite outdated. And we need various builds (release, draw-c, boiler, debug...)
Main build is VS2008, "Release_Opt".

But I understand if you wait, it's less than a month now and there will be fewer bugs.

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 951
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: 2 minor errors in STeem 3.8.2

Postby FedePede04 » Thu Dec 08, 2016 1:46 pm

Hi Steven..
i think i have found one more, if Steem run in full-Screen mode, and is in medium resolutions and change to low resolutions it some of the graphic is still visible, look like the view port is maybe still in 640...
before some said thet the first picture where it went wrong is not medium resolutions but a high resolutions picture, then you are right, the program convert High resolutions to medium resolutions pictures.

go to 0.14 sec

[/quote]

Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 951
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: 2 minor errors in STeem 3.8.2

Postby FedePede04 » Thu Dec 08, 2016 1:49 pm

Hi Steven
You Got a PM :)
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1952
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: 2 minor errors in STeem 3.8.2

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Dec 08, 2016 8:54 pm

Thx for the report. I think I found the bug. It's not the viewport, it's trash from the former bigger buffer.
Normally it only happens with 'Crisp rendering' option.

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 951
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: 2 minor errors in STeem 3.8.2

Postby FedePede04 » Thu Dec 08, 2016 9:04 pm

ok cool, I did not know if it was my program there did it :)
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)


Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest