Steem 3.9.3 problem

Bug reports and support area for Steem

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

Forum rules
All bug reports must include:
Steem version
Host operating system version
TOS ROM version
Copy of steem.ini
Reference to or copy of disk image being used
Brief description of steps performed
Description of desired outcome
Description of actual outcome
amilo3438
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:41 pm

Re: Steem 3.9.3 problem

Postby amilo3438 » Sun Nov 12, 2017 4:13 pm

Seems there might be some problem with .STW extension demos as for example:
UNION.STW --> wont boot! (fine in SSE v2.8.2) (ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/STPRGS/Union%20STW.zip)
(Used config: STF3 T102UK 1024K!)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1949
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem 3.9.3 problem

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Nov 12, 2017 4:35 pm

It's because in v3.8.2, all STW disks are played slowly, in current version it's an option and for this demo it's necessary.
I'll add this to the hint doc.

amilo3438
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:41 pm

Re: Steem 3.9.3 problem

Postby amilo3438 » Sun Nov 12, 2017 5:30 pm

Just for info:
European demos / OVR II --> interesting that Overlander logos gliches in all wake-up states but fine only in ignore!?
(config: STF3 T102UK 1024K!)

Ok, I think that would be all from me for today...
Cheers!

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1949
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem 3.9.3 problem

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Nov 12, 2017 5:51 pm

First, thx for testing this megademo, I never have the courage, too many ladders.
Yes, it's interesting too.
Steem detects a spurious Shifter destabilization but only if a wakestate is selected.

amilo3438
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:41 pm

Re: Steem 3.9.3 problem

Postby amilo3438 » Sun Nov 12, 2017 11:03 pm

Just to archive new findings from here --> viewtopic.php?f=94&p=331849#p331849 (Thanks go to lotek_style!)

Hard as Ice demo --> glitches on logo! (Note: needs to wait ca.3 min until it happen!)
(tested config. STE T162UK 1024K)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

amilo3438
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:41 pm

Re: Steem 3.9.3 problem

Postby amilo3438 » Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:16 pm

More findings but mostly for the info:

STE T162UK 4096K
----------------------
20 yrs STE / ELITE (in mainmenu the most right) --> 0-9 tunes seem to play too fast!
(fine in Hatari v2.0 in the 1st test, but in the 2nd test it plays too fast!)

BTW. in Steem SSE there is some bad sound present in parts before mainmenu if T162UK and mem = less than 4096K!
(it does not happen in Hatari, but not sure is that correct!)

EDIT: Tested again but with new config = T106UK 4096K and as it now sounds a little better!?
But if config = T106UK 1024K seems there is no problem with sound speed in ELITE and/or bad sound in parts before the mainmenu!
(so, the 20 yrs STE demo prefer to run on T106UK 1024K config in Steem SSE)

EDIT2: In fact it needs T206UK + 4096K to work w/o any problem!
(no sound speed problem in ELITE, no pdx bad sound as mentioned in Bugs.txt, and reset demo works fine)


STE T162UK 4096K
----------------------
VGA slideshow --> w/o bad pixel stripes if wake-up = WU2! (as same apply for the before mentioned HighResMode demo)
Last edited by amilo3438 on Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1949
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem 3.9.3 problem

Postby Steven Seagal » Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:39 pm

amilo3438 wrote:Hard as Ice demo --> glitches on logo! (Note: needs to wait ca.3 min until it happen!)
(tested config. STE T162UK 1024K)


Hi, thx for putting this in the right section ;)
Long-standing bug, I wasn't aware. The mush itself will not be hard to fix (hscroll using the other register), but there seem to be other issues.

amilo3438 wrote:STE T162UK 4096K
----------------------
20 yrs STE / ELITE (in mainmenu the most right) --> 0-9 tunes seem to play too fast!


When I checked there were some "problems" (not sure they're the same) on my STE as well, possibly it needs a Mega STE, which isn't emulated yet.

STE T162UK 4096K
----------------------
VGA slideshow --> w/o bad pixel stripes if wake-up = WU2! (as same apply for the before mentioned HighResMode demo)


Will check it, but it's probably the same reason, not a bug but a choice.

amilo3438
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:41 pm

Re: Steem 3.9.3 problem

Postby amilo3438 » Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:06 am

Steven Seagal wrote:
amilo3438 wrote:STE T162UK 4096K
----------------------
20 yrs STE / ELITE (in mainmenu the most right) --> 0-9 tunes seem to play too fast!


When I checked there were some "problems" (not sure they're the same) on my STE as well, possibly it needs a Mega STE, which isn't emulated yet.



In fact it needs T206UK + 4096K to work w/o any problem!
Note: With that config theres also no any bad sound in pdx! (in Bugs.txt is mentioned bad sound in pdx to be correct?)

Cheers!

amilo3438
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:41 pm

Re: Steem 3.9.3 problem

Postby amilo3438 » Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:31 pm

STE T162UK 4096K
----------------------
PHALEON / CHAOTIC 2 (or the 2nd demo in main menu) --> in the demo if press F9 key it crash after a while!
(Note: Checked in Hatari v2.0 with the same config and it does not crash!)

PHALEON / FULLBALL & TNC1 (on the disk 3) --> wont start, just return back into main menu!?
If config STF3 T102 1024K it asks for disk1 and after depacking also return back into menu!?
(Note: Checked in Hatari v2.0 and got the same!... Hmm, not sure if this 2 parts should work or not?)


STF2 T102 1024K
--------------------
OVERDRIVE / DRAGON --> In Hints.txt it says "STF WU2, #", but it does not help!
JAPTRO / CUBES EVERYWHERE (disk 1) --> glitches on fullscreen bottom! (on Hatari v2.0 too)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1949
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem 3.9.3 problem

Postby Steven Seagal » Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:48 pm

amilo3438 wrote:In fact it needs T206UK + 4096K to work w/o any problem!
Note: With that config theres also no any bad sound in pdx! (in Bugs.txt is mentioned bad sound in pdx to be correct?)

Cheers!


Great find! Don't think it was mentioned before.


amilo3438 wrote:STE T162UK 4096K
----------------------
PHALEON / CHAOTIC 2 (or the 2nd demo in main menu) --> in the demo if press F9 key it crash after a while!
(Note: Checked in Hatari v2.0 with the same config and it does not crash!)


The good news is that it's a regression since v3.9.0.

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1160
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Steem 3.9.3 problem

Postby npomarede » Tue Nov 14, 2017 9:07 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:
amilo3438 wrote:In fact it needs T206UK + 4096K to work w/o any problem!
Note: With that config theres also no any bad sound in pdx! (in Bugs.txt is mentioned bad sound in pdx to be correct?)

Cheers!


Great find! Don't think it was mentioned before.

Well, it was mentioned in Hatari's compatibilty.html doc since quite a while in fact :)
I'm not sure the UK TOS is really needed when you have 4MB

amilo3438
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:41 pm

Re: Steem 3.9.3 problem

Postby amilo3438 » Tue Nov 14, 2017 9:51 pm

npomarede wrote:
Steven Seagal wrote:
amilo3438 wrote:In fact it needs T206UK + 4096K to work w/o any problem!
Note: With that config theres also no any bad sound in pdx! (in Bugs.txt is mentioned bad sound in pdx to be correct?)

Cheers!


Great find! Don't think it was mentioned before.

Well, it was mentioned in Hatari's compatibilty.html doc since quite a while in fact :)
I'm not sure the UK TOS is really needed when you have 4MB


I have checked in Hatari's compatibilty.html doc, but there was only info about 4MB needed to reset demo work, nothing about needed T206!
So, I tested the demo with several configurations until (by chance) found this one that works fine: with T206 + 4MB RAM! :D
(Btw. The UK TOS is one that was tested, so not sure about others)

Cheers!

Ps. Why T206? Because, no problem with sound speed in ELITE screen and no problem with bad sound in pdx screen on Steem SSE emu.

EDIT: At least the bad sound in pdx screen is fixed with that config, regarding the problem with sound speed in ELITE screen not sure, it seems to be random!

amilo3438
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:41 pm

Re: Steem 3.9.3 problem

Postby amilo3438 » Wed Nov 15, 2017 11:47 am

Collection of (so far) findings in v3.9.3:

STF3 T102UK 1024K (demos)
---------------------------------
- SADENESS --> screen instability in all Wake-up cases!
- FROGGIES over the FENCE --> carshes after the intro!
- FROGGIES over the FENCE --> after the disk II pics it refuses to return into menu!
- POV162 / 1-Slaytanic Cult 5 --> reset after loading! (possibly random!?)
- OVERDRIVE / SYNC --> after left mouse button on the top left corner box: HD6301 crashed!
- UNION.STW --> wont boot! (needs some option in emu to be enabled!?)
- European demos / OVR II --> Overlander logos gliches in all wake-up states but looks fine in ignore!
- OVERDRIVE / DRAGON --> In Hints.txt it says "STF WU2, #" but it does not help!
- JAPTRO / CUBES EVERYWHERE (disk 1) --> glitches on fullscreen bottom!
- Closure --> was broken! (thx go to Steven)


STE T162UK 4069K (demos)
--------------------------------
- HighResMode --> w/o bad pixel stripes if wake-up = WU2!
- PHANTOM --> instability in credit scroller!
- Relapse, MENTAL HANGOVER --> the sound format 16-Bit Mono was not working!
- Delirious IV --> STF/STe detection routine used in this demo is wrong! (thx goto npomarede)
(Note: The demo loader work only in STe mode; it writes to an STe only address FF8907 thus STF crash
with bus error. To make it work on STF you need to write $0001 at address $8 while in the main menu.)
- Delirious IV / Del3, Vodka, Fulltrak, Push-it --> hangs! (possibly same on a real STe)
- Delirious IV / Tekila, LaMiga, Philips --> works fine only in STe mode!
- European demos / OVR II --> Overlander logos gliches in all wake-up states but looks fine in ignore!
- 20 yrs STE --> w/o bad pixel stripes if wake-up = WU2!
- 20 yrs STE / ELITE (in main menu the 1st from right) --> 0-9 tunes seem to play too fast! (possibly random!?)
- 20 yrs STE / Pdx (in main menu the 2nd from right) --> tune seems to play fine with T206!
- VGA slideshow --> w/o bad pixel stripes if wake-up = WU2!
- PHALEON / CHAOTIC 2 (the 2nd demo in main menu) --> in demo if press F9 key it crash after a while!
- PHALEON / FULLBALL & TNC1 (on the disk 3) --> wont start, just return back into main menu!?
- Hard as Ice --> glitches on logo in the 2nd demo part! (thx go to lotek_style)
- Sea of Colour --> w/o bad pixel stripes if wake-up = WU2! (thx go to Foebane)
- Circusbs --> w/o bad pixel stripes if wake-up = WU2!
- iag2_fin --> w/o bad pixel stripes if wake-up = WU2!
- CHANN38 / The Small Demo --> problem with Blade Runners logo scroll!

Note: Some of mentioned problems possibly already fixed in new v3.9.4 DevBuilds!
Last edited by amilo3438 on Sat Nov 18, 2017 4:58 pm, edited 3 times in total.

amilo3438
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:41 pm

Re: Steem 3.9.3 problem

Postby amilo3438 » Wed Nov 15, 2017 4:21 pm

And some more findings...

STE T162UK 4069K
----------------------
- Extra Volume 7 / F5 NEXT ... Ze Anti-Mit Intro --> fullscreen glitches! (fine on ST T102)
- Extra Volume 7 / F7 TCB ... One-Bit-Plane-Mania --> broken! (behaves better on ST T102)
- Extra Volume 7 / F8 TCB ... Swedish demo --> halt after SPACE key! (on ST it just stops)
- Stickmygg Och Motmedel --> some instability on last screen!

Note: Hmm, as a "recent" demos probably needs to be checked on an real STE!
(pouet: www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=68735 and www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=68504)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1949
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem 3.9.3 problem

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Nov 15, 2017 6:48 pm

Thx.
The STE behaviour on Extra 7 demos is normal.
There's a flicker on Stickmygg Och Motmedel, not with v3.9.3 but with the beta.
From memory, some Japtro screens are trashy, don't think there's a bug.
I fixed the PHALEON / CHAOTIC 2 bug, good find, there was a silly CPU timing mistake.
The hack for Overdrive/Dragon looks unreliable (random).

amilo3438
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:41 pm

Re: Steem 3.9.3 problem

Postby amilo3438 » Fri Nov 17, 2017 4:09 pm

And maybe this...

STE T162UK 4069K
----------------------
CHANN38 / The Small Demo --> problem with Blade Runners logo scroll! (fine in Hatari or in ST mode)

Ps.
I finishing with testing demos today! (and than take a little longer break) :)
:cheers: Cheers!

EDIT: Not sure do you have this problematic demo in your collection, so find it in attachment!
Btw. I was a little over saturated with testing demos, specially boring ones, thats why the break!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1949
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem 3.9.3 problem

Postby Steven Seagal » Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:50 pm

Maybe I've seen it before.
The demo hits at cycle 4 for the left border trick, 2 cycles too late for the STE.


Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest