CAF with SCSI to SD adaptor

Somewhere to chat about MIDI music creation, sequencers and related hardware

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

fidzen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 172
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:13 pm
Location: Sweden

CAF with SCSI to SD adaptor

Postby fidzen » Wed Aug 01, 2018 5:45 pm

Hi all.
Is there anyone using Cubase Audio Falcon successfully with a SCSI to SD adaptor?
If yes? What kind of adaptor and version of HDDriver?

Thanks in advance.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT60e, Supervidel, Svetlana, 512Mb RAM, 8Gb CF.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT63, 256Mb RAM,4Gb CF.
Firebee Series 2, 16Gb CF, 2Gb SD, MEGA ST Keyboard and Atari Mice.
Atari Stacy 2 with 4Mb RAM and 20Mb HD.
Atari Lynx II with new LCD and VGA output.
Atari 2600 4-switch Woody

User avatar
Atari74user
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 307
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: CAF with SCSI to SD adaptor

Postby Atari74user » Wed Aug 01, 2018 6:46 pm

Hi

HDDriver generally has to be version 7.93.

As per Uwe Seimet's HDDriver website, FAQ as follows:

Is there anything to consider when using Cubase Audio?
Cubase Audio does not handle the Falcon's SCSI bus compliant to the standard, which can lead to problems with HDDRIVER 8 and newer. If the CAFFIX software, which is included in the HDDRIVER distribution, cannot put things right and because there are no versions of Cubase where this problem has been fixed, the only work-around is using the last version 7.93 of the HDDRIVER 7 series. This version does not support as many peripherals as current versions of HDDRIVER but is known to work with Cubase. Most functions of the current HDDRUTIL can also be used with HDDRIVER 7.93, by the way.
Users of newer versions of HDDRIVER can request HDDRIVER 7.93 for free by e-mail.

Kind regards
Atari Falcon 14mb, 68882, Dual 8gb CF, Steinberg FDI & Analog 8
Atari Jaguar, Rotary controller, Skunkboard & Cat Box
Atari 520STFM 4mb, TOS 2.06 switcher, OverScan, GigaFile, PARCP-USB, Unicorn-USB, System Solutions MiniS HD, SyQuest drives, ICD Link II, PhatBoy MIDI Controller, Philip Rees 5M MIDI merge box, SoundPool MO4, Steinberg MIDEX, SMP II, Emagic Log 3, C-Lab Unitor 2, Combiner & Export expanders

fidzen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 172
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:13 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: CAF with SCSI to SD adaptor

Postby fidzen » Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:11 pm

I know of the specific version of HDDriver as I have used CAF for professional recordings for several years.
But I don't rely on old SCSI disks and are looking for a more modern solution.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT60e, Supervidel, Svetlana, 512Mb RAM, 8Gb CF.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT63, 256Mb RAM,4Gb CF.
Firebee Series 2, 16Gb CF, 2Gb SD, MEGA ST Keyboard and Atari Mice.
Atari Stacy 2 with 4Mb RAM and 20Mb HD.
Atari Lynx II with new LCD and VGA output.
Atari 2600 4-switch Woody

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 741
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: CAF with SCSI to SD adaptor

Postby Faucon2001 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 3:10 pm

I have read in this forum that SCSI2SD adaptor was too slow for CAF.
I have CAF working well with a SCSI to CF card Aztec Monster. That’s another option.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/

User avatar
Atarieterno
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 913
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:40 pm
Location: Spain

Re: CAF with SCSI to SD adaptor

Postby Atarieterno » Fri Aug 03, 2018 3:25 pm

Faucon2001 wrote:I have read in this forum that SCSI2SD adaptor was too slow for CAF.
I have CAF working well with a SCSI to CF card Aztec Monster. That’s another option.


Thanks for answering.
Is there a distributor for that SCSI-CF adapter or is it only on eBay?
ST/fm/e, STacy, Mega ST/e, TT, Falcon, C-Lab MKX... and more music tools.

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 741
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: CAF with SCSI to SD adaptor

Postby Faucon2001 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 5:38 pm

I bought it on eBay.
The company is Japanese and is called Artmix. The site is in Japanese only but the guy answer to English email.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/

fidzen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 172
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:13 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: CAF with SCSI to SD adaptor

Postby fidzen » Fri Aug 03, 2018 7:05 pm

Faucon2001 wrote:I bought it on eBay.
The company is Japanese and is called Artmix. The site is in Japanese only but the guy answer to English email.


It's hard to find it now it seems. I have searched both on google and eBay.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT60e, Supervidel, Svetlana, 512Mb RAM, 8Gb CF.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT63, 256Mb RAM,4Gb CF.
Firebee Series 2, 16Gb CF, 2Gb SD, MEGA ST Keyboard and Atari Mice.
Atari Stacy 2 with 4Mb RAM and 20Mb HD.
Atari Lynx II with new LCD and VGA output.
Atari 2600 4-switch Woody

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: CAF with SCSI to SD adaptor

Postby leech » Fri Aug 03, 2018 9:44 pm

I ordered two SCSI2SD adapters from Amiga on the Lake, haven't tested them yet, but they should have them in stock for much cheaper than eBay.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 593
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: CAF with SCSI to SD adaptor

Postby Rustynutt » Sat Aug 04, 2018 5:05 am

Faucon2001 wrote:I have read in this forum that SCSI2SD adaptor was too slow for CAF.
I have CAF working well with a SCSI to CF card Aztec Monster. That’s another option.


Purchased an AZTECMONSTER some time back off eBay. Think it came from Japan. Looked back at the receipt months ago and didn't see the eBay auction. Haven't looked lately. Used mine in a TT, never thought to check through put. Wasn't cheap, but a solid card.
I've seen here an there issues with the smaller foot print cards, for whatever reason.
Also purchased a SCM Microsystems five slot SCSI Media Interface Reader. PCD-50B. That also hurt the bank. Only a few read write test, seems to work well on the Falcon. At that time was using HDD V9x.
https://tinyurl.com/ycvezmoz

As far as Cubase goes, there's an ongoing struggle here :) Someday will have the time to fully outfit the MarkX. It's missing nothing but time!

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 741
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: CAF with SCSI to SD adaptor

Postby Faucon2001 » Sat Aug 04, 2018 8:41 am

It doesn’t seem to be available on eBay anymore, but I believe that from the date on his Web site he is still in activity.
Send him an email to confirm, but from what I can read you can still order directly and pay with PayPal.
He answers quickly to emails and the products are of excellent quality. I have refurbished and upgraded my 30 years old S950 with his stuff, and own an AztecMonster and RazinMonster for 5 years now, everything working great and he is giving a good assistance if you need. So you can buy eyes closed.

There is also a SCSI double CF card reader, that I use for my S5000, but be prepared to sell a kidney, it’s twice the price but you have 2 slots hot plug. I have not tested it with CAF though.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/AKAI-S6000-S50 ... 2359458484

Performance wise, the AztecMonster reaches between 1.2 to 1.4 MB/s with HDDriver 7.8 which is more than enough for CAF.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/

Foxxy74
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 206
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:08 pm

Re: CAF with SCSI to SD adaptor

Postby Foxxy74 » Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:44 pm

fidzen wrote:Hi all.
Is there anyone using Cubase Audio Falcon successfully with a SCSI to SD adaptor?
If yes? What kind of adaptor and version of HDDriver?

Thanks in advance.


Is there anyone that can confirm that CosmosEx, or any other sd-card solution works (enough writing speed) with Cubase Audio Falcon? (for recording etc)

Good question, i also dislike cf cards, so there must be more out here,who already tried it?
Atari 260 ST (rainbow TOS) Atari Falcon 030 14 MB 32GB HDD ,Plextor 716A CD/DVD ,Atari 1040 STE (4MB) C-Lab Mk-X CT 060 Atari Mega STe Soundpool Adat... too much :D

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: CAF with SCSI to SD adaptor

Postby leech » Fri Aug 17, 2018 5:02 pm

I actually need to do some things to my Falcon install, then I should be able to answer your question. Unfortunately I'm not sure on a timeline (got so many other non-Atari things interrupting my Atari time.)
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)


Return to “MIDI Software and Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests