Android MIDI input from Atari

Somewhere to chat about MIDI music creation, sequencers and related hardware

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

User avatar
catmando
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 961
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Android MIDI input from Atari

Postby catmando » Wed Apr 11, 2018 9:36 pm

Plugged my new phone into my laptop this evening to transfer some files and discovered in its USB mode options there is a MIDI input option, so onto YouTube and I see it is indeed possible to plug a keyboard into an Android phone as shown below



So in theory I should be able to plug my ST into the Android phone and benefit from its library of sounds?

Has anyone tried or know about this?

Obviously some form of MIDI din to micro-USB adaptor would be required I guess? like this https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2m-USB-to-MI ... SwDmBY5hrt

Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
Atari74user
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: Android MIDI input from Atari

Postby Atari74user » Wed Apr 11, 2018 9:46 pm

Hi, never tried with android, but yes it is possible to attach any MIDI product to your Atari. So it is possible to convert MIDI over USB to MIDI DIN for connection with an Atari ST etc... You can buy USB to MIDI adapters, there are a lot of cheaper options which may work depending. I do this for a MIDI over USB device and connect to my Atari.
Last edited by Atari74user on Wed Apr 11, 2018 9:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Atari Falcon 14mb, 68882, Dual 8gb CF, Steinberg FDI & Analog 8
Atari Jaguar, Rotary controller, Skunkboard & Cat Box
Atari 520STFM 4mb, TOS 2.06 switcher, OverScan, GigaFile, PARCP-USB, Unicorn-USB, System Solutions MiniS HD, SyQuest drives, ICD Link II, PhatBoy MIDI Controller, Philip Rees 5M MIDI merge box, SoundPool MO4, Steinberg MIDEX, SMP II, Emagic Log 3, C-Lab Unitor 2, Combiner & Export expanders

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2272
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Android MIDI input from Atari

Postby charles » Wed Apr 11, 2018 9:48 pm

I don't see the benefits other than portability from this ,,,
a supierior music making midi computer (Atari)
and then down size to a small android device....

what can android do Atari doesn't offer in the line of midi ?
atari is my lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! !,
Im printing unreadable characters ...!

User avatar
Atari74user
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: Android MIDI input from Atari

Postby Atari74user » Wed Apr 11, 2018 9:51 pm

The point would simply be an extra sound source, like anything that uses MIDI over USB, or to at least to be able to connect some devices that simply don't have MIDI DIN.
Atari Falcon 14mb, 68882, Dual 8gb CF, Steinberg FDI & Analog 8
Atari Jaguar, Rotary controller, Skunkboard & Cat Box
Atari 520STFM 4mb, TOS 2.06 switcher, OverScan, GigaFile, PARCP-USB, Unicorn-USB, System Solutions MiniS HD, SyQuest drives, ICD Link II, PhatBoy MIDI Controller, Philip Rees 5M MIDI merge box, SoundPool MO4, Steinberg MIDEX, SMP II, Emagic Log 3, C-Lab Unitor 2, Combiner & Export expanders

User avatar
catmando
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 961
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Android MIDI input from Atari

Postby catmando » Wed Apr 11, 2018 9:57 pm

Atari74user wrote:The point would simply be an extra sound source, like anything that uses MIDI over USB.


That's what I was thinking, I've never been any good at composing music but I did plug a keyboard into my ST back in the day to benefit from its bank of sounds when playing MIDI files (or games with MIDI music) as it sounds substantially better. Was hoping this might provide the same capability without the bulk of a keyboard hanging around.
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2272
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Android MIDI input from Atari

Postby charles » Wed Apr 11, 2018 10:34 pm

sorry I have a higher degree for midi applications
developer issue... its only fun till you get serious with it.
atari is my lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! !,
Im printing unreadable characters ...!

User avatar
Atari74user
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: Android MIDI input from Atari

Postby Atari74user » Wed Apr 11, 2018 10:36 pm

Hahah, yeah appreciated Charles!

Certainly should be possible, so long as the connection can be made which it can. I imagine games that utilise MIDI used the MT-32 from Roland for their sounds, or maybe standard General MIDI (GM), GS or XG sounds, which were just a standard set of sounds found within instruments. GS was Roland's extension to the standard GM set of sounds, and XG was Yamaha's extension, but all you would need to do is choose a sound that sounds OK for the game's music, so none of these would perhaps be necessary, but easier as games would have used a standard set of sounds, and saves searching for sounds that errr sound good for the MIDI song in question. I just googled for android GM sounds and their is at least an app as an example: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... midi&hl=en
Atari Falcon 14mb, 68882, Dual 8gb CF, Steinberg FDI & Analog 8
Atari Jaguar, Rotary controller, Skunkboard & Cat Box
Atari 520STFM 4mb, TOS 2.06 switcher, OverScan, GigaFile, PARCP-USB, Unicorn-USB, System Solutions MiniS HD, SyQuest drives, ICD Link II, PhatBoy MIDI Controller, Philip Rees 5M MIDI merge box, SoundPool MO4, Steinberg MIDEX, SMP II, Emagic Log 3, C-Lab Unitor 2, Combiner & Export expanders

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2272
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Android MIDI input from Atari

Postby charles » Wed Apr 11, 2018 10:40 pm

oh yeah theres tons of programs for system exclusive dumps using your phone and I think a slew of music production apps.. just have to decipher the specs and read if they are midi or not
atari is my lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! !,
Im printing unreadable characters ...!

Miguel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:59 pm

Re: Android MIDI input from Atari

Postby Miguel » Thu Apr 12, 2018 1:22 am

Charles is quite right about the portability aspect....I used to compose on a portable Yamaha QY-20 and then import the sequences into the computer, unfortunately the SQYRREL II software for the Atari is missing in action.


Return to “MIDI Software and Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest