Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Somewhere to chat about MIDI music creation, sequencers and related hardware

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

dbsys
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby dbsys » Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:20 am

Does anyone here also own the Steinberg SMP II MIDI-SMPTE Processor?

Which driver do I need to make it work with Cubase Audio or Cubase?

Anyone here who has a documentation or the manual for the Steinberg SMP II?

Any help will be appreciated. Thank you.

SMP2_1.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 668
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby 1st1 » Fri Nov 25, 2016 11:33 am

I have the SMP24 device and driver, the device looks very similar, maybe it uses the same driver?
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

cyberish
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:18 pm

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby cyberish » Fri Nov 25, 2016 1:05 pm

You must have "SMP24.DRV" in your MROS folder. - Sometimes "SMP24.DR" must be renamed to "SMP24.DRV", but I'm not sure about that "II"-version of this particular Steinberg unit.
The PC driver version also contains a ".drv" . Could this work in the MROS folder too?

blaylok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:13 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby blaylok » Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:23 pm

Hi dbsys,
I have it, i use an SMP II with cubase audio.

Just put the driver in your mros folder. Make sure it is the only one with the .DRV extension.

Power on the SMP ii before starting cubase.

Once Cubase is booted the numerical readout on the smp ii will run in time with cubase's transport.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

dbsys
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby dbsys » Fri Nov 25, 2016 10:59 pm

blaylok wrote:Hi dbsys,
I have it, i use an SMP II with cubase audio.

Just put the driver in your mros folder. Make sure it is the only one with the .DRV extension.

Power on the SMP ii before starting cubase.

Once Cubase is booted the numerical readout on the smp ii will run in time with cubase's transport.


Hi blaylok,

thanks for the useful details and the driver, I appreciate it.

Which MROS version are you using?

And, have you got the SMP II manual, by any chance?

Thanks.

blaylok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:13 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby blaylok » Fri Nov 25, 2016 11:26 pm

Hi dbsys,

Sorry, i dont have the manual for the SMP ii, there is not really much to it to be honest.
Just switch it on before booting cubase (i am running cubase audio 2.06, the driver will work on all the different versions of cubase i think), and you will be up running. It works great. You will need to select which output of the SMP you want to use when u set up a midi channel on the main page of Cubase. If the smp outputs are greyed out then quit cubase and make sure that the driver i gave you is set to . DRV in the mros folder and all the rest are just set to . DR

You will still be able to select and use your in/out midi port on the side of your machine too if you like.

Hope that helps

blaylok

Robber
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:41 pm
Location: Amsterdam Netherlands

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby Robber » Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:49 am

As blaylok said,there is no need for a manual for the SMP 2 afaik. The SMP 24 can operate as a stand alone unit but the SMP 2 can't.
Also, Cubase 2.0 and 3.10 (cracked or with dongle) have a max of 64 midichannels, only 2.06 has 128 midi channels available. If you need a lot of midichannels and you don't have a 2.06 with a dongle there are also a cracked versions that will work with Falcon and ST/STE/MegaST/MegaSTE (only midi of course, no audio).

http://atarimusic.exxoshost.co.uk/index ... Itemid=205

dbsys
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby dbsys » Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:59 pm

Hi blaylok and Robber, thank you both very much for your useful hints.

I was able to get my SMP II working with my CAF 2.06 software (with dongle of course). It works just like you said.

Obviously the SMP4.DRV I had in my MROS folder was either corrupt or not the right version. With the one provided by blaylok I had a solution instantly.

Interesting what you said about the differences between the SMP 24 and the SMP II, Robber. I will keep that in mind.

Also interesting, my SMP II shows the following message when powering on: "SMP 24 2.0 1.92". So, SMP II identifies itself as SMP 24, version 2. Possibly the firmware version on this particular SMP II is 1.92.

Indeed my SMP 24 (which I also have) has a lot more to offer, although I find it difficult to really understand what the additional functions will be good for. I will now test it with my CAF 2.06 configuration and find out if it will work too.

Thanks!

User avatar
kni
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 4:59 am

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby kni » Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:27 am

I have manual for SMP24... but in geman only... I can scan if someone wants?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
some Falcons, some STe's, some ST's, some STacy's, some Jaguars, some Lynx's and one TT :mrgreen:

User avatar
kni
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 4:59 am

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby kni » Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:36 am

and my question... this not normal booting,, right ?

I buy this unit a few months ago, this is first run in my home...

Its not connected any wires to the falcon, I only plug AC cable and switch on

thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
some Falcons, some STe's, some ST's, some STacy's, some Jaguars, some Lynx's and one TT :mrgreen:

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 668
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby 1st1 » Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:54 am

This is normal. It waits for something. Get a standard printer cable and connect it to your falcon, activate the mros driver and start cubase. see what happens.

Und ich wäre am Scan des deutschen Handbuchs Interessiert.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
kni
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 4:59 am

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby kni » Sun Nov 27, 2016 12:24 pm

I think its no working :(

I put file to MROS folder and rename to SMP24.DRV

next I connect normal LPT cable (I check 2 others) an stch on SMP24
and run Cubase 2.06 (original with dongle) -

nothing happens.

after turning on SMP24 sometimes I have empty dispaly, sometimes like on screen, sometimes like a first picture. I hear the sound when switching

1st1: I scan a all manual in my work place this week and put on this post

IMG_6621.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
some Falcons, some STe's, some ST's, some STacy's, some Jaguars, some Lynx's and one TT :mrgreen:

dbsys
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby dbsys » Sun Nov 27, 2016 12:35 pm

dbsys wrote:Indeed my SMP 24 (which I also have) has a lot more to offer, although I find it difficult to really understand what the additional functions will be good for. I will now test it with my CAF 2.06 configuration and find out if it will work too.

Thanks!


The SMP4.DRV driver works very well with the SMP 24 too on CAF 2.06 with MROS 3.45.

According to a SOS review (http://www.muzines.co.uk/articles/steinberg-smp-24/1219) Steinberg had plans to write software for setting up the SMP 24 on an Atari without having to use Pro 24:

-------------------------
Excerpt:
"Steinberg are currently hard at work, writing software that will run on the Commodore C64/128 and the Atari ST, in an effort to make the SMP-24 easier to use without the benefits of the Pro-24 operating environment. This should vastly improve the 'user-interface'for those of us with such hardware."
--------------------------

Does anyone over here have any details? Or the software? Or knows where to get it?

User avatar
kni
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 4:59 am

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby kni » Sun Nov 27, 2016 1:07 pm

I check the motherboard- looks good,

version is 1.61 - I read somewhere thats version works with Atari

http://kni.com.pl/SMP24_a.JPG
http://kni.com.pl/SMP24_b.JPG

hmmm
some Falcons, some STe's, some ST's, some STacy's, some Jaguars, some Lynx's and one TT :mrgreen:

Robber
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:41 pm
Location: Amsterdam Netherlands

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby Robber » Mon Nov 28, 2016 4:28 am

Hi kni,

did you check the battery? Battery voltage should be at least 3.0v. use a voltage/multimeter. From the beautiful pics you made, which will be in my archive btw :D I can see that your SMP 24 is upgraded, new PSU so no heatsink and a battery holder so if needed changing battery is simple. After you have done that you need to perform a reset: hold tap/shift an start/stop buttons on the left while turning power switch on, display shows "Test". If you keep the buttons pressed it will show only this message, so release the buttons and everything will be back to normal. N.B. If you had any programs stored in the SMP 24 they will be lost.

The Centronics Parallel cable wiring:

DB25 (male) - Centronics:
pin 1 - pin 1
~
pin 14 - pin 14
pin 15 - pin 32
pin 16 - pin 31
pin 17 - pin 36
pin 18 - pin 33
pin 19 - pin 19
pin 20 - pin 21
pin 21 - pin 23
pin 22 - pin 25
pin 23 - pin 27
pin 24 - pin 29
pin 25 - pin 30

not connected Centronic pins:
pin 15
~
pin 18
pin 20
pin 22
pin 24
pin 26
pin 28
pin 34
pin 35

This is what I got from a working cable using a multimeter. I never throw away old cables like this even if the printer or whatever they came with deceased or became obsolete. Luckily I had a few that worked for the SMP 24 but also a few that didn't.

Sometimes it's a bit different like pin 19 from DB25 is connected to both Centronic pins 19 and 20:
https://www.lammertbies.nl/comm/cable/nl_parallel.html (scroll down a bit).
Don't know if these will work.

Anyway, this type of Centronics cable won't work:
http://users.utu.fi/ptmusta/kuvat/centr ... 09m4tp.gif
pin 18 > 25 from the DB25 male are not connected.

If none of this will work check the solder joints (again with a multimeter and perhaps a magnifying glass), if you find any cold or disturbed ones resolder them. Resoldering will quite often solve problems with electronic equipment.

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 668
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby 1st1 » Mon Nov 28, 2016 9:28 am

For me a standard Centronics printer cable (from an HP printer) works just fine. Interesting to know that there is a battery in SMP24, I have to check mine. It looks like it's a CR2032.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

dbsys
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby dbsys » Mon Nov 28, 2016 11:15 am

1st1 wrote:For me a standard Centronics printer cable (from an HP printer) works just fine. Interesting to know that there is a battery in SMP24, I have to check mine. It looks like it's a CR2032.


Yes, there is a battery in the SMP 24. The the SMP 24 can do much, much more than just MIDI I/O and SMPTE sync. It can store settings to act like e.g. a master keyboard controller, or "humanize" the timing while sending or receiving MIDI or SMPTE data.

But to progam this is very difficult using the awkward front panel of the SMP 24. And the SMP 24 manual is just terrible.

This is the reason I was asking for the announced SMP 24 editing software.

Anyone here, who knows more about the editing software for the SMP 24?

Robber
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:41 pm
Location: Amsterdam Netherlands

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby Robber » Sat Dec 03, 2016 7:58 pm

The SMP 24 manual is about firmware 1.4, the "useless" one which will only wordk with Pro 24.
The SW for the 1.6 firmware is integrated in Cubase 2.0 and onwards. So not all possibilities that are available from the 1.6 front panel are mentioned in the 1.4 manual. Also some features from SMP 24 1.6 can't be controlled from Cubase but only from front panel..
SMP II has no memory and no buttons, hence no battery and no manual.
Last edited by Robber on Sun Dec 04, 2016 4:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dbsys
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby dbsys » Sun Dec 04, 2016 3:49 pm

Robber wrote:SMP II has no memory and no buttons, hence no battery and no manual.


Very well said. You possibly are fully right.

But have you got any hint on the planned "stand alone" software?

Robber
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:41 pm
Location: Amsterdam Netherlands

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby Robber » Mon Dec 05, 2016 4:58 am

Good you asked this question. I just found out that my printed 1.4 manual that came with the hw doesn't say anything about the 1.6 firmware. But the download version here:

http://atarimusic.exxoshost.co.uk/index ... Itemid=361

has 3 extra pages concerning 1.6 fw. Thanx!

I think this is all there is. I gave away my Steinberg Cubase manual years ago to somebody who needed it more than I did but alas. Also on AMN is the very extended manual for the Falcon version of Cubase audio 2.0 (I have a non audio version with dongle but the CAF cracks are also on AMN). 600+ pages but not really anything about the SMP 24 an SMP 2.
Last edited by Robber on Thu Dec 15, 2016 3:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

dbsys
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby dbsys » Mon Dec 05, 2016 9:18 am

Robber wrote:Good you asked this question. I just found out that my printed 1.4 manual that came with the hw doesn't say anything about the 1.6 firmware. But the download version here:

http://atarimusic.exxoshost.co.uk/index ... Itemid=361

has 3 extra pages concerning 1.6 fw. Thanx!

I think this is all there is. I gave away my Steinberg Cubase manual years ago to somebody who needed it more than I did but allas. Also on AMN is the very extended manual for the Falcon version of Cubase audio 2.0 (I have a non audio version with dongle but the CAF cracks are also on AMN). 600+ pages but not really anything about the SMP 24 an SMP 2.


Wow, great find. These 3 extra pages will "fit" nicely into my firmware 1.4 SMP-24 manual. Thanks!

Yeah, I searched all my Cubase documents and manuals and did not find anything about the use of SMP-24 or SMP II. Not even the German Cubase book (Das große Cubase Handbuch, Udo Weyers, GC Carstensen Verlag, 4. Auflage 1999) mentions the SMP units.
Last edited by dbsys on Mon Dec 05, 2016 10:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

dbsys
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby dbsys » Mon Dec 05, 2016 9:33 am

The SMP-24 editor is mentioned in the firmware 1.6 addendum.

See here:
SMP-24_Firmware 1.6_Seite1.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Robber
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:41 pm
Location: Amsterdam Netherlands

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby Robber » Mon Dec 05, 2016 7:54 pm

Allright, Uwe Wyers. That's the one I've got, translated into dutch. Second edition. Don't know how i got it. Perhaps when I bought an Atari ST on the Dutch Ebay "Marktplaats". On the back cover it says: fl89, - . That's pretty expensive for a book way back in 1995.
Last edited by Robber on Tue Dec 06, 2016 6:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 668
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby 1st1 » Mon Dec 05, 2016 8:14 pm

I also have Cubase 2.0 and 3.1 manual and the big cubase book, where in these (page no?) is something about the SMP 24?
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

dbsys
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: Steinberg SMP II driver needed

Postby dbsys » Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:18 am

Robber wrote:Allright, Uwe Wyers. That's the one I've got, translated into dutch. Second edition. Don't know how i got it. Perhaps when I bought an Atari ST on the Dutch Ebay "Marktplaats". On the back cover it says: fl89, - . That's pretty expensive for a book way back in 1995.


Yeah, the price of that book was quite high back in the days. But it was worth it.


Return to “MIDI Software and Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest