Some newer "shopping" - Yamaha QY70

Somewhere to chat about MIDI music creation, sequencers and related hardware

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

User avatar
yerzmyey
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 583
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:23 pm
Contact:

Some newer "shopping" - Yamaha QY70

Postby yerzmyey » Mon Feb 15, 2016 9:36 am

Hmmm, lately I ordered the Yamaha QY70 (an interesting piece of hardware in size of Atari Lynx II, it would seem)
and I intend to connect it to my Atari 520ST.
We will see (hear ;) ) what will come out of it... Hmmmmmm.

Image

http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/1997_ar ... aqy70.html
http://ym-digital.i-demo.pl/ ATARI 520ST music-band
http://ay-riders.speccy.cz/ ZX Spectrum music-band
http://yerzmyey.i-demo.pl/ ZX/A500/A1200/ST/XL music
https://soundcloud.com/yerzmyey ZX/A500/A1200/ST/STE/F030 music
http://z80.i-demo.pl/ MP3 archive of Z80 chip music
No good deed will escape unpunished.

yogi2015
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 8:19 pm

Re: Some newer "shopping" - Yamaha QY70

Postby yogi2015 » Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:07 am

Been a big fan of Yamaha's XG midi extention for a while, and the QY70 is on my wish list. Very cool form-factor and portable. Would like to hear how you like it, have seen some demos on YT that sound very cool.
If the "QY Data Filer" software doesn't come with your buy, you need to hunt a copy down. It allows you to easily move sequences/patch/song data between the QY and your PC.
Yogi

User avatar
yerzmyey
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 583
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Some newer "shopping" - Yamaha QY70

Postby yerzmyey » Thu Mar 10, 2016 3:49 pm

Well, it's cool although rather totally impossible to use for me without MIDI/external sequencer, hehe.
At the moment I was testing it only with Amiga. When I finish it - I will surely test it also with the ST!
http://ym-digital.i-demo.pl/ ATARI 520ST music-band
http://ay-riders.speccy.cz/ ZX Spectrum music-band
http://yerzmyey.i-demo.pl/ ZX/A500/A1200/ST/XL music
https://soundcloud.com/yerzmyey ZX/A500/A1200/ST/STE/F030 music
http://z80.i-demo.pl/ MP3 archive of Z80 chip music
No good deed will escape unpunished.

Miguel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:59 pm

Re: Some newer "shopping" - Yamaha QY70

Postby Miguel » Sat Mar 19, 2016 3:12 pm

I have a QY20 myself and it's a great little sequencer.

User avatar
yerzmyey
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 583
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Some newer "shopping" - Yamaha QY70

Postby yerzmyey » Sat Mar 19, 2016 8:33 pm

Ah. Looks cool too, indeed.

Image

Anyway, I already put out the satandisk, and in some time I will be connecting the QY to Atari. :)
http://ym-digital.i-demo.pl/ ATARI 520ST music-band
http://ay-riders.speccy.cz/ ZX Spectrum music-band
http://yerzmyey.i-demo.pl/ ZX/A500/A1200/ST/XL music
https://soundcloud.com/yerzmyey ZX/A500/A1200/ST/STE/F030 music
http://z80.i-demo.pl/ MP3 archive of Z80 chip music
No good deed will escape unpunished.

animaniaworkshops
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 10:25 pm

Re: Some newer "shopping" - Yamaha QY70

Postby animaniaworkshops » Thu Sep 06, 2018 2:28 pm

Hi Guys

I'm new here and I and I am having an issue.

I too have recently bought a QY70. This was to replace the one that recently got damaged during a house move.

I am trying to connect it to my laptop to load files through the QY filer.

On a old laptop I had a serial port but now I only have usb ports.

I've got a host to serial cable with a usb converter. All the drivers are upto date. I'm on Windows 7.

I've downloaded and installed the Yamaha CBX driver and assigned the COM port to COM 1 where the usb/serial converter port is setup.
I've restarted the computer.

I try to connect to the QY70 with the host selector on PC2 and I get a message that I cannot connect :shrug:

I also have a usb to Midi lead and downloaded the Yahama driver for that but it does not show up in the QY filer setup but the usb to midi inteface does and I still get the message that it cannot connect. Even though I try the host switch on Midi, PC1,

I am at my wits end trying to figure out a solution. :evil:

Can anyone please help?

All assistance would be gratefully received.

Thanks

Nick
:cheers:


Return to “MIDI Software and Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: itaboy and 15 guests