Midex Falcon

Somewhere to chat about MIDI music creation, sequencers and related hardware

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

JoeAtari
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:20 pm
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Midex Falcon

Postby JoeAtari » Fri Feb 22, 2019 1:22 am

I was able to purchase a Midex+ that has been modified for the Falcon. I'm interested in any experience others have had using the Midex+ with the Falcon. In my case it works in 030 mode with midexfal.drv in the mros folder, but there is a terrible midi lag (I haven't done a lot of testing yet). In 060 mode I can select the Midex in Cubase, but it does not respond to midi (there is no output from the Midex+).

Thanks!
JoeAtari
FalconProductions - Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
http://www.falconproductions.us
http://www.facebook.com/AtariSTBook

User avatar
Atarieterno
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1042
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:40 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Midex Falcon

Postby Atarieterno » Fri Feb 22, 2019 3:20 am

Hello;
I have Falcon and Midex, but I have not modified it because I prefer to use it with TT and other computers.
The Midex works perfectly, obviously without latency (it is the characteristic of Atari and its complements), but only once I experienced some latency and even synchronization failures among a considerable number of connected MIDI devices. Everything was solved changing the version of the MROS file to a previous one.
Although it is generally recommended "Use the latest version of MROS in the Cubase program", I found this example in Cubase v3.xx regarding Score v2.0r7, in which everything worked perfectly when using the MROS that came in each version, without " upgrade".
It is just an anecdote that you do not lose anything when you try, although you have other factors that are the modified Midex and also the modified Falcon.
Greetings.
ST/fm/e, STacy, Mega ST/e, TT, Falcon, C-Lab MKX... and more music tools.

JoeAtari
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:20 pm
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: Midex Falcon

Postby JoeAtari » Fri Feb 22, 2019 5:47 am

Thanks for the information. I'll take a look at MROS. I believe I may be using a newer version than was original to CAF. My guess is that the Midex+ and driver are somehow incompatible for 060, but it should work fine for 030. The latency surprises me.
JoeAtari
FalconProductions - Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
http://www.falconproductions.us
http://www.facebook.com/AtariSTBook

iluvator
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Midex Falcon

Postby iluvator » Tue May 14, 2019 1:27 pm

as far as I can remember the modified mixex+ units (mine at least) could only work with cubase 3 and not with the audio version. Have you succeed in using it with CAF?

JoeAtari
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:20 pm
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: Midex Falcon

Postby JoeAtari » Wed May 15, 2019 8:26 pm

No. It won't work with CAF. I came to that same conclusion that it was probably made for the non-audio version of Cubase.
JoeAtari
FalconProductions - Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
http://www.falconproductions.us
http://www.facebook.com/AtariSTBook


Return to “MIDI Software and Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest