Complete Noob with 1040ST[F]

A forum about Atari protected floppy disks analysis, preservation, emulation, tools

Moderators: DrCoolZic, Brume

raoulduke
Retro freak
Retro freak

Complete Noob with 1040ST[F]

Postby raoulduke » Mon Jan 11, 2016 12:26 am

Caveat on the noob... I collect Macs, and I'm not totally ignorant, but I'm finding it hard to find information - or at least I'm finding the way information is unstructured on the net annoying complicated in my quest here.

I got a 1040ST F today and it seems to power on fine; it checks for floppy so it sounds like the boot sequence is progressing. I'm just about to solder together a VGA cable, and then I was going to use http://atari.8bitchip.info/floimgd.php to try to make disks on my USB floppy drive. I note it says not for externals but I'll burn that bridge later (I have an internal floppy I can put in my old machine).

My issue here is with the double density aspect - which I'm assuming my 1040 has. There won't be an issue with whichever drive trying to write to DD disks? On Macs the GCR the early DD/SD disks used would basically require a bridge Mac. I'm assuming that this isn't the case with the STs? Sorry... the general forum I use suggested some of my earlier questions were too specialized.

exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru

Re: Complete Noob with 1040ST[F]

Postby exxos » Mon Jan 11, 2016 10:12 am

If you have TOS104 (other TOS might support) then you can just format the floppy on the PC and it will work on the ST.

The floimgd program is used as PC's can't read ST formatted disks. So that allows you to read access them. I never got the program working with a external USB drive, most likely a problem with the driver.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS