Page 1 of 1

Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:09 pm
by Kirkman
So my CosmosEx allows me to use a USB game controller in place of a joystick via the IKDB injector.

Would it be possible to do the same thing, but emulate a Jaguar joypad (Jagpad)?

For example, there's a new game "r0x zero" for the STe which requires a Jagpad. Unfortunately for me, I have a MegaSTe, so I don't have the ports to plug in a JagPad.

But if I could just emulate one via the CosmosEx, that'd be awesome.

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:32 pm
by christos
If you read the ejp faq there is actually a way but it is probably not supported by either cosmosex or r0x zero.

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:49 pm
by Cyprian
Kirkman wrote:So my CosmosEx allows me to use a USB game controller in place of a joystick via the IKDB injector.

Would it be possible to do the same thing, but emulate a Jaguar joypad (Jagpad)?

For example, there's a new game "r0x zero" for the STe which requires a Jagpad. Unfortunately for me, I have a MegaSTe, so I don't have the ports to plug in a JagPad.

But if I could just emulate one via the CosmosEx, that'd be awesome.


technically not possible.
Mouse/Joy are connected to the CPU bus through keyboard CPU and ACIA (and CosmosEx interface)

whereas in case of STE JoyPad are connected directly to the CPU bus, and in case of MegaSTE JoyPad hardware addresses are assigned to DIP switches

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 10:21 pm
by FedePede04
Cyprian wrote:
Kirkman wrote:So my CosmosEx allows me to use a USB game controller in place of a joystick via the IKDB injector.

Would it be possible to do the same thing, but emulate a Jaguar joypad (Jagpad)?

For example, there's a new game "r0x zero" for the STe which requires a Jagpad. Unfortunately for me, I have a MegaSTe, so I don't have the ports to plug in a JagPad.

But if I could just emulate one via the CosmosEx, that'd be awesome.


technically not possible.
Mouse/Joy are connected to the CPU bus through keyboard CPU and ACIA (and CosmosEx interface)

whereas in case of STE JoyPad are connected directly to the CPU bus, and in case of MegaSTE JoyPad hardware addresses are assigned to DIP switches


Btw do you have the IKDB package list you could share?

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 10:32 pm
by Cyprian
FedePede04 wrote:Btw do you have the IKDB package list you could share?

no, I don't have. I guess, EmuTos source code would be good place to check that

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:33 am
by FedePede04
Cyprian wrote:
FedePede04 wrote:Btw do you have the IKDB package list you could share?

no, I don't have. I guess, EmuTos source code would be good place to check that


ok thanks and thank for the suggestion.
i did have it at one point, i think i lost it due to hard disk failure.

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:54 am
by Cyprian
it happens to me also.
In the meantime I realized it's easier/faster to find some information on the Web than on my hdd :)

EmuTOS files you can find there:
https://github.com/emutos/emutos/blob/m ... ios/ikbd.c
https://github.com/emutos/emutos/blob/m ... ios/ikbd.h

and some old docs:
https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentatio ... arikbd.txt
http://www.bighole.nl/pub/mirror/homepa ... lities.htm

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:03 am
by FedePede04
Cyprian wrote:it happens to me also.
In the meantime I realized it's easier/faster to find some information on the Web than on my hdd :)

EmuTOS files you can find there:
https://github.com/emutos/emutos/blob/m ... ios/ikbd.c
https://github.com/emutos/emutos/blob/m ... ios/ikbd.h

and some old docs:
https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentatio ... arikbd.txt
http://www.bighole.nl/pub/mirror/homepa ... lities.htm


super Many thanks :)
look like its what i am looking for :D
after i wrote the last post, i think i also found an old thread here of AF that had the information, at least some of it.
http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... bd#p159209
look like i will try and add Joystick support to Mainc Miner over the weekend :)
Thanks again :cheers:

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 1:06 pm
by Tomchi
christos wrote:If you read the ejp faq there is actually a way but it is probably not supported by either cosmosex or r0x zero.


I'm curious, is there a way to support that , really ?

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 1:44 pm
by Greenious
Tomchi wrote:
christos wrote:If you read the ejp faq there is actually a way but it is probably not supported by either cosmosex or r0x zero.


I'm curious, is there a way to support that , really ?


Afaik nobody has done it (yet), but in theory there's nothing stopping it. The STE got the same dip switches as the Mega STE.

You need to figure out the circuit and then retrofit it, should not be that hard.

The faq mentioned should be this one I guess: https://gamesx.com/controldata/ejp_faq.htm

and it says the same thing. It's just that noone bothered, probably because there haven't been a "killer app" for the EJP...

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 1:46 pm
by ggn
Cyprian wrote:https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation/input/atarikbd.txt


http://beyondbrown.mooo.com/post/ikbd/

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 2:46 pm
by Tomchi
Thx for the links.
I already read them , it helped me wire a usb pad on the STe port A.
But I suck at programming as much as beta testers sucked at playing RZ ( Hello friends !! :D )
So that's far above my skills ...

Best way (easiest) would be to wire a usb pad to both joystick+mouse ports , but then, who on earth will make his own controller ? I can do mine but not many of them .

I would ask for someone providing some routine but then, is it really worth ? ( I started the game in 2009-2010 :P )

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:30 am
by FedePede04
Tomchi wrote:Thx for the links.
I already read them , it helped me wire a usb pad on the STe port A.
But I suck at programming as much as beta testers sucked at playing RZ ( Hello friends !! :D )
So that's far above my skills ...

Best way (easiest) would be to wire a usb pad to both joystick+mouse ports , but then, who on earth will make his own controller ? I can do mine but not many of them .

I would ask for someone providing some routine but then, is it really worth ? ( I started the game in 2009-2010 :P )


also thanks for the link :)

Tomchi funny that you mentions this, i had this idea of convert some arcade games, and do my own joystick where i use both joystick port, so i could have multi buttons. i think that, if you do some great games then some would do the controller that fits :)

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:32 pm
by Tomchi
FedePede04 wrote:i think that, if you do some great games then some would do the controller that fits :)


Hehe, i'm not doing great games, anyway, I'll do my own 2 ports controller and include routine in my tiny game.

I was thinking about keyboard and/or things I cannot do like emulate jagpad :)

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:42 pm
by FedePede04
Tomchi wrote:Hehe, i'm not doing great games, anyway,


not sure that all would agree with you on that one :lol:

Btw congratulations with the first place at SV2k18 :cheers:

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 1:11 pm
by Tomchi
Thx, was great being there, pushing hospes so that he fixes his dragon kids STOS game, feeling that bit of competition stress too :)

But there's nothing as rewarding as pple playing your games.
When we arrived at party place there was someone playing r0x (the one i did in 2009) and having fun with the 2 players mode, made me so happy !
Also, the few posts on FB of pple playing it , well ... That's awesome !

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 1:28 pm
by FedePede04
Tomchi wrote:Thx, was great being there, pushing hospes so that he fixes his dragon kids STOS game, feeling that bit of competition stress too :)

But there's nothing as rewarding as pple playing your games.
When we arrived at party place there was someone playing r0x (the one i did in 2009) and having fun with the 2 players mode, made me so happy !
Also, the few posts on FB of pple playing it , well ... That's awesome !


I know that feeling all to well :D, it is always nice when people enjoy you work :)

i am sorry but i did not had the time to try it out yet :oops:, I still coding on Manic Miner to get it finish before X-Mas (and right now it's killing me slowly) :lol:
But i have seen some videos of it and it look very impressive :thumbs:,
and i do plan to try it out and some of the other games from SV2k18, when i got some time :)

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 1:33 pm
by Tomchi
FedePede04 wrote: still coding on Manic Miner to get it finish before X-Mas (and right now it's killing me slowly)



Good luck, last bits are painful :P
Would be great to have the full game for X-mas, keep up the (so far) good work !

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 1:41 pm
by FedePede04
Many thanks for the fine words. :cheers:

it is just so much easier today, with the build in debugger, so much power and memory available.
but it can be really hard on the old girl, many times is either speed or ram consumption, but you probably know that all to well :lol: