Page 1 of 1

A year later

Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 6:42 am
by Peteone
Last year I have refurbished 1040 STE installed 4MB and CosmosEX. Everything is working but I kind of abandoned it as I couldn't figure how to make some stuff work. I did talk to Miro on Facebook but we kind of lost contact. Today I wanted to get back to it and see if I can have some fun with it. Unfortunately, just like last year, I'm stuck again. :( I would really love to play some old games from my childhood. if someone could spare some time and guide me through few things id really appreciate it. This might be a lengthy thread, but I would like to start with few questions.

1. I'm Polish and I remember a company called LK Avalon back in the day that produced a lot of games. I found a lot of them on this website. http://atarionline.pl/v01/index.php?ct= ... =Fred#Fred - here is one for example called Fred. I was wondering if any of these files like .xex .cas .atr can be converted to ".ST" or ".MSA" so I can use the cosmosEX Floppy Emulator?

2. Is there some decent easy to follow guide how to format your SD card properly so I can use it as an HD?

3. Is there a guide how to set up your PC shared folder so I can access it on Atari? Example P:\ drive - I can easily o it on MAC but having hard time with PC. I created c:\Atari folder and shared it on my network I can access it with another PC but no go on cosmoex - Network is set up as DHCP and I'm using IP address of my PC. No username and no password in cosmosex settings. Can take screenshots.

I think this would be a good start.Thank you for any help.

PS: If needed I can set up Teamviewer Session and screenshare and would be glad to paypal few bucks for help - if its easier for someone to walk me through, I just need someone to show me whats up once.

Re: A year later

Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 7:11 am
by ggn
Peteone wrote:1. I'm Polish and I remember a company called LK Avalon back in the day that produced a lot of games. I found a lot of them on this website. http://atarionline.pl/v01/index.php?ct= ... =Fred#Fred - here is one for example called Fred. I was wondering if any of these files like .xex .cas .atr can be converted to ".ST" or ".MSA" so I can use the cosmosEX Floppy Emulator?


Short of using emulation (ST Xformer) on the ST, nope. Your best bet is to get a Atari XL or XE series. There is so much difference between 8 and 16 bit Atari series that it's not easy to simply convert the disk images to ST format.

Peteone wrote:2. Is there some decent easy to follow guide how to format your SD card properly so I can use it as an HD?


Try http://joo.kie.sk/cosmosex/download/Cos ... _Guide.pdf or http://joo.kie.sk/?page_id=192 in HDDRIVER or ICDPRO links.

Peteone wrote:3. Is there a guide how to set up your PC shared folder so I can access it on Atari? Example P:\ drive - I can easily o it on MAC but having hard time with PC. I created c:\Atari folder and shared it on my network I can access it with another PC but no go on cosmoex - Network is set up as DHCP and I'm using IP address of my PC. No username and no password in cosmosex settings. Can take screenshots.


I don't have hands-on experience with networking macs - would it be possible to try using a linux or windows machine? At least I have samba settings for setting up a share on linux.

Re: A year later

Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 11:03 pm
by Peteone
1. Thanks, I didn't realize these were 8 bit... I guess I'm looking in the wrong place.

2. Thanks

3. Not sure if I understand your answer. I can do it on a Mac no problem. PC is the Issue.

Re: A year later

Posted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 7:35 am
by ggn
Peteone wrote:3. Not sure if I understand your answer. I can do it on a Mac no problem. PC is the Issue.


Sorry, I misread that part. For clarity, what version of Windows are you using?

Re: A year later

Posted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 11:34 pm
by Peteone
windows 10

Re: A year later

Posted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 7:44 am
by ggn
Okay, I just managed to share my steem folder on windows 10 to the network and by extension the CosmosEx. Here's more or less what I did:

  • Right click on folder to share, click properties, go to sharing tab
  • Press share button
  • Not sure if needed but I added "guest" user on the list
  • Click share
  • Open the old control panel, not the new metro style one (\windows\system32\control.exe)
  • Go to network and internet->network and sharing center->advanced sharing settings
  • Click on "use user accounts and passwords to connect to other computers" from all fields
  • Click save changes
  • Receive bacon

I'm sure that everyone's mileage may vary here. I had to do all that fiddling with control panel because none of my machines are password protected, so when I first tried to connect to them using CosmosEx I'd get a "password expired" error. Not any more! So if your machines are password protected then this might not be needed at all.

Anyway, give this a shot and let us know how it goes for you.

Re: A year later

Posted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 9:44 am
by Peteone
ggn wrote:
  • Click on "use user accounts and passwords to connect to other computers" from all fields


I =missed that part. However, I started from scratch and followed your instructions.

going to post some screenshots

1. Shared Folder Setup


2. XPS is the name of this laptop; It is connected to WIFI on the same network as cosmosex is sitting on, although cosmosex connects through LAN cable.

3. Here are my standard network settings - I don't have an IP address assigned to this laptop just using DHCP. I get my IP address from online whatsmyip.com or something similar to enter it in cosmosex settings.

4. cosmosex settings


5. and here is the error.

Re: A year later

Posted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 10:47 am
by ggn
I can't see any pics sadly. However, this caught my attention

Peteone wrote:3. Here are my standard network settings - I don't have an IP address assigned to this laptop just using DHCP. I get my IP address from online whatsmyip.com or something similar to enter it in cosmosex settings.


You really don't want your internet IP. Instead open a console (cmd.exe or equivalent) and type "ipconfig /all". Then look for your ethernet or wifi adaptor and note the ipv4 address.

Re: A year later

Posted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 8:08 pm
by Peteone
Sorry about the pics not sure why they are not showing..

anyway you're right I'm looking for the IP assigned by gateway DHCP for this laptop which n this case is 192.168.0.17 my cosmos is sitting on .16

However, i am getting "mount() failed: Host is Down"

when I go to my network drive on Atari and click on that mount.err file

Laptop Name is XPS folder is just sitting on C:\Atari

Image

here are my cosmos settings..

Image

Re: A year later

Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 7:46 am
by ggn
It all looks correct apart from the "shared folder path" - in my experience just the folder name is needed. So instead of "//XPS/Atari" try "Atari".

Re: A year later

Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2018 12:30 am
by Peteone
Hi sorry I've been missing few days, I tried Atari itself it didn't work I toyed with this for a while - and switched to MAC which I can set up no problem. However I really would love to make this work at some point, Maybe if you ever have time we can remote connect. Please let me know at your convenience.

Re: A year later

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 4:57 pm
by ggn
Oops, sorry there I totally forgot about this thread :(.

If you can tell us what's the current status we can pick it up from there and see.