Cosmos not ready after boot (SCSI version attached to Falcon)

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

User avatar
rian_ata
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Cosmos not ready after boot (SCSI version attached to Falcon)

Postby rian_ata » Thu Mar 23, 2017 11:56 pm

Today I wanted to update my CosmosEx SCSI version to the latest software, but now regret it and only now remember the words "if it ain't broken, don't fix it" :?

But OK, it happened and now I hope I can get some help. Status?

- CosmosEx was attached to Falcon 030 using SCSI and updated the software over the Web using the ce_conf.tos program from Jookies site
- After update seemed to be successful the program tried to reconnect to the CosmosEx but was unable to. I waited over 2 hours, but to no avail. In the end I switched it of...
- CosmosEx is now booting still, but ends with the three orange leds constantly lid at the front and no small blue lights blinking inside, see screenshot
- CosmosEx is not reachable over the network anymore
- CosmosEx seeems to boot all the way through in Linux, see screenshot
- SD has been reimaged with the latest RPi Linux image from Jookies site

Question?
What should I do to resurrect the CosmosEx? I don't want to make it worse so I stopped right after the steps as described above.

Image
http://imgur.com/nZcP9d8

Image
http://imgur.com/NgLsMXZ

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Cosmos not ready after boot (SCSI version attached to Falcon)

Postby mikro » Fri Mar 24, 2017 2:00 am

If you can access the console, try to run /ce/ce_conf.sh -- this should give you the same UI as in TOS. Alternatively, you can call /ce/ce_update.sh directly.

But this shouldn't happen at all, esp. during/after update, hopefully Jookie will be able to offer some explanation.

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1245
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Cosmos not ready after boot (SCSI version attached to Falcon)

Postby Jookie » Mon Mar 27, 2017 12:31 pm

If you're able to log in (by using USB keyboard), then you should definitely try running that update command:
/ce/ce_update.sh
That should download the update from internet, flash the chips, unpack the newest app, and hopefully get it back to life.

If you are unsure on how it will end, or if there are some weird messages during the update, please make some photos of that during the update, or even a video, so we can see what's happening...

Regards,
Jookie

User avatar
rian_ata
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cosmos not ready after boot (SCSI version attached to Falcon)

Postby rian_ata » Mon Mar 27, 2017 3:32 pm

Hope this video is good enough for you to see the update script running but not doing anything really...

video


mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Cosmos not ready after boot (SCSI version attached to Falcon)

Postby mikro » Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:41 pm

Wow, what a mess. It looks like the update has downloaded but the file is corrupt or even renamed? Is the filename near 1.53 MB/s still "ce_update.zip" ? It looks like #ce_update.zip or something like that. After that, /tmp/ce_update.zip is not found and that's why it's all failing.

Please make a hires photo after you run:

Code: Select all

/ce/ce_update.sh > 1>&2 | less


Alternatively you can check with:

Code: Select all

ls -l /tmp/ce_update.zip


or even:

Code: Select all

unzip /tmp/ce_update.zip

User avatar
rian_ata
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cosmos not ready after boot (SCSI version attached to Falcon)

Postby rian_ata » Tue Mar 28, 2017 7:55 am

mikro,

thanks for your reply. Unfortunately your commands do not seem to work :? See first image:

Image
http://imgur.com/aAQK0mo

I was thinking maybe the files are in different directory (tree) so I poked around and found this and wondering if this is what you would like to see:

Image
http://imgur.com/RNQltyz

While poking around I also found this! Could I use this to restore CE to initial state and what command should I use?

Image
http://imgur.com/E6LqNHs

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Cosmos not ready after boot (SCSI version attached to Falcon)

Postby mikro » Tue Mar 28, 2017 11:00 pm

My apologies, I messed up the syntax. Please try again:

Code: Select all

/ce/ce_update.sh 2>&1 | less
ls -l /tmp/ce_update.zip

User avatar
rian_ata
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cosmos not ready after boot (SCSI version attached to Falcon)

Postby rian_ata » Wed Mar 29, 2017 7:58 am

Unfortunately these commands do not do much as well. If I look at the output it seems there could also be an issue regarding access rights to files (system)?

Image
http://i67.tinypic.com/awpd2h.jpg

Image
http://i68.tinypic.com/hs0zo7.jpg

Image
http://i63.tinypic.com/k21y7m.jpg

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Cosmos not ready after boot (SCSI version attached to Falcon)

Postby mikro » Wed Mar 29, 2017 8:41 am

No no, this looks much worse. Just tried the same url, unzips fine on my Linux. This looks more like the SD card is f**ked up so you download it into /tmp but it's corrupted and then the update script just deletes it.

Try this, since you have the command line. :D

cd /tmp
wget http://joo.kie.sk/cosmosex/update/ce_update.zip
unzip ce_update.zip

If this works (or doesn't), we'll go from here.

User avatar
rian_ata
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cosmos not ready after boot (SCSI version attached to Falcon)

Postby rian_ata » Wed Mar 29, 2017 9:46 pm

OK, fixed it. For some reason the CE wasn't able to update/repair itself anymore. Therefore I decided to remove the microSD and reimage it with the latest full image from Jookie's site. That worked, but when I tried to update from there, it screwed up again and I had to reimage the CE again (getting really good at it 8) ).

My question is: since it seems to be a RasPi model B v1.2, should I run the "Raspberry Pi SD card image – Raspbian" (it is stated to be for Pi2 and Pi3 versions) or refer back to the older Yocto version, which seems to have less functionality :shrug:

Image

Image

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Cosmos not ready after boot (SCSI version attached to Falcon)

Postby mikro » Wed Mar 29, 2017 10:23 pm

You should have tried that command I suggested in my last most. Now you don't know whether your card was the culprit or something else.

About the distro, not sure but if it works... ;) Raspbian is the future, that's for sure.

User avatar
rian_ata
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cosmos not ready after boot (SCSI version attached to Falcon)

Postby rian_ata » Wed Mar 29, 2017 11:25 pm

mikro wrote:You should have tried that command I suggested in my last most. Now you don't know whether your card was the culprit or something else.

About the distro, not sure but if it works... ;) Raspbian is the future, that's for sure.


I ofcourse did try it, but got the same error messages, I was able to download the update file with WGET, but it could not even unzip it... so then I gave up and thought why not try to start all over again...

Nevertheless thanks for trying to help me out! Really appreciated :cheers:


Social Media

     

Return to “CosmosEx”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest