CosmosEx not starting anymore [SOLVED]

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

pixelk
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2016 4:34 am

CosmosEx not starting anymore [SOLVED]

Postby pixelk » Mon Nov 28, 2016 1:16 pm

Yesterday evening I was happy as a clam, I fixed my problems ( viewtopic.php?f=103&t=30779 ) by replacing the Pi, everything worked fine. I then closed the 520STe case and called it a day.
This morning I power it on, and no joy anymore :cry:
First the Atari starts, but the keyboard doesn't respond (the leds light on the keyboard, but the keypresses don't do anything. After a full memory tests, the Atari hangs with 4 bombs (I read that it means the floppy drive isn't present/detected).

I re-opened the case, verified every connection ( ASCI, Floppy, Floppy Power, IKBD, CE to Pi ) Pulled them, reseated them all. No change.
I tried without the Pi, no change.
I tried without the Pi and the IKBD, at least the keyboard aknowledged my presses, but I still got 4 bombs.
I tried without the ComsosEx and with the original Floppy Drive, the ST boots fine.
I know rewired everything but can't get the CosmosEx to work anymore.

When power is applied to the ST, some leds light up on the CosmosEx (Power all the time, blue flash, yellow 1, yellow 2 then Yellow 1,2 and 3) and finally stay lit. The Keyboard lits up but the keys presses don't do anything.
As if the CosmosEx is dead :cry:

He ded ?



Any Idea ? I don't even know What I did wrong :(

Last edited by pixelk on Mon Nov 28, 2016 3:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
520STe C398789-001 DMA + 4Mo + TOS 1.62/2.06 Switcher + CosmoEx with Pi2
520STe C025913- 38 DMA + 4Mo + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan + HxC USB floppy
Scart to HDMI adapter modded for low and med res

pixelk
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2016 4:34 am

Re: CosmosEx not starting anymore ;(

Postby pixelk » Mon Nov 28, 2016 1:26 pm

I just tried with a (know good - 5V 2.5A) external usb power supply and the results are the same.
520STe C398789-001 DMA + 4Mo + TOS 1.62/2.06 Switcher + CosmoEx with Pi2
520STe C025913- 38 DMA + 4Mo + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan + HxC USB floppy
Scart to HDMI adapter modded for low and med res

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 551
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: CosmosEx not starting anymore ;(

Postby 1st1 » Mon Nov 28, 2016 1:57 pm

Can you replace the RaPi? Reflashin the SD-Card? What happens if you connect a monitor to the RaPi? Do you see anything?
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

pixelk
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2016 4:34 am

Re: CosmosEx not starting anymore ;(

Postby pixelk » Mon Nov 28, 2016 2:52 pm

The CosmosEx should work as a empty floppy and virtual hard drive without a Pi, but it doesn't ( anymore ). Th IKBD should also at least transfer the key presses to the ST motherboard but it doesn't. That leads me to think that the Pi isn't my (main) problem for the moment. But I will try the tests you asked for as soon as possible.
520STe C398789-001 DMA + 4Mo + TOS 1.62/2.06 Switcher + CosmoEx with Pi2
520STe C025913- 38 DMA + 4Mo + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan + HxC USB floppy
Scart to HDMI adapter modded for low and med res

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1237
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx not starting anymore ;(

Postby Jookie » Mon Nov 28, 2016 3:13 pm

If the 3 orange LEDs (floppy 1, 2, 3) don't go off and then to 1 second blinking interval (they blink very little, almost can't see it), then the linux and / or the linux app in Raspberry didn't boot. As mentioned by 1st1 - connect through HDMI to TV, see if linux boots, if not, reflash SD card, possibly use external power supply - linux not booting can be caused by the weak power supply. Once the linux will boot again, the floppy and ACSI activity LEDs will blink again, and it should work just fine.

pixelk
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2016 4:34 am

Re: CosmosEx not starting anymore ;(

Postby pixelk » Mon Nov 28, 2016 3:31 pm

I took out the raspberry, connected an HDMI display and linux booted, and, what do you know, the CosmosEx works again !
The only thing that I did this time is de-connect and reconnect the GPIO ribbon (so that I could plug a -too- short HDMI cable). Could it be possible that I inserted the GPIO ribbon 1 pin off ? I feel so stupid right now :(
Thank you again for the help, I will now reassemble everything and re-close the Atari, hopping that this time, I don't f#§k it again :oops:

By the way Jookie, I didn't find a "Postcode summary" in the documentation so that I would have been able to interpret the leds myself. Is there any ?

Summary : I'm an idiot, but a persistant one :wink: and this forum is GREAT :D
520STe C398789-001 DMA + 4Mo + TOS 1.62/2.06 Switcher + CosmoEx with Pi2
520STe C025913- 38 DMA + 4Mo + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan + HxC USB floppy
Scart to HDMI adapter modded for low and med res

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1237
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx not starting anymore ;(

Postby Jookie » Wed Nov 30, 2016 12:22 pm

pixelk wrote:Could it be possible that I inserted the GPIO ribbon 1 pin off ? I feel so stupid right now :(


It can be anything... Like the SD card being slightly loose, and thus not booting, and pushing it a little (or moving the whole device a little) puts it in a better place and it starts to boot... Anything can happen.

Jookie

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4092
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx not starting anymore [SOLVED]

Postby DarkLord » Thu Dec 01, 2016 1:07 am

Hmm, this doesn't reassure me about installing it internally in my STacy... :(
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1237
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx not starting anymore [SOLVED]

Postby Jookie » Thu Dec 01, 2016 8:28 am

DarkLord wrote:Hmm, this doesn't reassure me about installing it internally in my STacy... :(


Well, once you got it working (good supply, everything connected and working), it usually works for a long time :)

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4092
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx not starting anymore [SOLVED]

Postby DarkLord » Thu Dec 01, 2016 1:50 pm

Okay, I know the other devices I've bought from you have been rock solid. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520


Social Media

     

Return to “CosmosEx”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest