Page 1 of 1

Amiga SCP copies question

Posted: Sun May 31, 2015 6:40 pm
by Stefan jL
Yes a thread were i discuss Amiga SCP copies :wink:
I was wondering about the "Leander" SCP at retrobackup FTP since i cant get them to run on my Amiga 500 (1mb), there is no known problem with those images? The "Ork" images does not work either for me.

Re: Amiga SCP copies question

Posted: Sun May 31, 2015 11:09 pm
by JimDrew
Both work on a stock A2000. The images also work WinUAE and FS-UAE.

Re: Amiga SCP copies question

Posted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 2:59 am
by Stefan jL
The Leander preview works for me but i guess it does not have any copy protection, i will do some more tests when i get home from work today.

Re: Amiga SCP copies question

Posted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 7:18 pm
by Stefan jL
After a few more tries so is it still not working for me? :shrug:
I also tried Winuae 3.1.0 public beta 18 and both Leander and Ork is not working for me there, i did a try with Amnios also and it only shows the Psygnosis logo and then stops loading... the same thing happen on my Amiga 500 when i write back Amnios to disk.

Re: Amiga SCP copies question

Posted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 11:54 pm
by JimDrew
Make sure that you set the Amiga to NTSC, 68000 mode, and use OS1.3 ROMs.

Re: Amiga SCP copies question

Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 3:06 am
by Stefan jL
ah.. switching to NTSC in Winuae made it work, my Amiga 500 is a PAL model though and i had no idea games on Amiga was making a difference to NTSC and PAL models... thanks for the info :)
Are all Amiga SCP's on retro backup for NTSC only?

Re: Amiga SCP copies question

Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 5:15 am
by JimDrew
I am not sure how many images on that Retro Backup site are NTSC vs. PAL, but it really doesn't matter because all Amigas can switch between PAL and NTSC modes via software. Under OS2.04 and later ROMs, you can switch via the boot menu.

Re: Amiga SCP copies question

Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:22 am
by AtariZoll
So, Amiga SW is even more picky with PAL/NTSC settings ? My advice: stick to good old Atari :mrgreen:

Re: Amiga SCP copies question

Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 2:25 pm
by JimDrew
Not picky, but you can deliberately make something NTSC or PAL only. Later in the life of the Amiga gaming, the manufacturers just made their games auto-switching.

Re: Amiga SCP copies question

Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 5:15 pm
by Stefan jL
Yes there are some Atari ST games that only work on USA TOS.

BTW.. could anyone post SCP images of "Utopia" (Amiga PAL) here? :)

Re: Amiga SCP copies question

Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 10:02 pm
by dlfrsilver
Psygnosis games are Zoned. You must have either PAL or NTSC version. Only way to use the NTSC version on a PAL amiga is to install it with whdload.

Re: Amiga SCP copies question

Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 10:12 pm
by JimDrew
Besides having the OS2.04/3.0 boot menu to select NTSC or PAL before the boot, there are several programs that will reboot your Amiga and lock it in either NTSC or PAL mode for computers with OS1.2/OS1.3.