Page 4 of 4

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Posted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 6:40 pm
by DrCoolZic
could it be given by the end value?
For 5 revolutions it is 3c3db = 246747 ?

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Posted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:13 pm
by JimDrew
Where do I find the number of flux???


Look at: "Number of bitcells: 247,470"

With 5 revolutions, that is 49,490 bitcells per revolution.

That is the total number of bitcells, each 2 bytes wide (16 bits). So 247,470 x 2 = 494,940 bytes of data, which fits inside of 512K of RAM.

So, this should have no issues.

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Posted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:17 pm
by JimDrew
EDIT: Amazing I wanted to test your analyzer stuff ...
Went back to copy mode with 5 revolutions and now it miraculously works ????


Hmmm... did you have this RAM error after experiencing the problem with not having the disk in the drive and then not being able to proceed? I could see maybe the buffer pointer is not being reset or something.

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Posted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:35 pm
by DrCoolZic
JimDrew wrote:
Where do I find the number of flux???


Look at: "Number of bitcells: 247,470"

With 5 revolutions, that is 49,490 bitcells per revolution.

That is the total number of bitcells, each 2 bytes wide (16 bits). So 247,470 x 2 = 494,940 bytes of data, which fits inside of 512K of RAM.

So, this should have no issues.

I have tried again when in analyzer I can read trck 1 always correctly (did it about 20 times)
the number of bit cells vary up to 251300 without problem
As soon I move to copier only the first track is imaged and the erro message happen

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Posted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:36 pm
by DrCoolZic
JimDrew wrote:
EDIT: Amazing I wanted to test your analyzer stuff ...
Went back to copy mode with 5 revolutions and now it miraculously works ????


Hmmm... did you have this RAM error after experiencing the problem with not having the disk in the drive and then not being able to proceed? I could see maybe the buffer pointer is not being reset or something.

Thought this problem had been fixed long ago?
But now when I get it I restart the program to be on the safe side

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Posted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 10:29 pm
by JimDrew
The problem before was that I was reserving memory in the RAM for another buffer so the buffer space was greatly reduced. That was fixed. What you are seeing is something completely new, and it is odd that closing the program and restarting it fixes it.

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Posted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 11:18 pm
by DrCoolZic
JimDrew wrote:The problem before was that I was reserving memory in the RAM for another buffer so the buffer space was greatly reduced. That was fixed. What you are seeing is something completely new, and it is odd that closing the program and restarting it fixes it.

I did not say that! I said that to avoid this kind of question I was restarting the program ...
in analyzer mode it works, in copy it fails for same number of revolutions

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Posted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 9:22 pm
by JimDrew
Hmm... that would mean it's not a firmware issue - except that error message comes from the firmware itself. Maybe I am reading one more revolution than I think or something. I will look into it.

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Posted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 1:48 am
by JimDrew
Released v1.51 of the SCP software today. This fixes a problem viewing a track as MFM when the entire track is a no flux area.

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Posted: Thu May 14, 2015 11:17 am
by Brume
Jim, the software is very easy to use. I use it almost every day, have imaged plenty of disks since the last we have spoken.

May I make a suggestion: would it be possible to write a .SCP file on the first side only?

I can't find this option in the GUI, but it would be very useful for me 8)

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Posted: Thu May 14, 2015 7:08 pm
by JimDrew
Yes, that is coming. In fact, I have changed quite a bit of how the imaging works. It will appear seemless to you for the most part.

I am adding the ability to select the "heads" for copying. Either both, side 1 (bottom), or side 2 (top). In the .scp image format I have always left the heads field NULL (0) and never used it. You really don't need to look at it because the entry tables will tell you if data is present. So, with the new change, 0=both sides, 1=side 1, 2=side 2. There has always been data present because both sides have always been imaged. So now, when you select a disk format it will auto-fill the basic info: head(s), tracks, density. You can change these parameters after selecting a disk type. When you change a parameter the disk type will show as "custom". This change to the SCP software will let you copy/image just a single side of a disk. I am also extending the batch conversion feature so you can convert from flux image to flux image. So, you will be able to convert an image with two sides to a single sided flux image. This will eliminate the extra data. You can also use this feature to convert a preservation quality image to a non-preservation image just to use with emulators (like Steem), because that modifies the flux so that it compresses substantially better than raw unaltered flux. Non-preservation images will generally not write back correctly, so they should only be used with emulators.

You won't have to re-image your disks that have existing double-sided images. You will be able to do the batch conversion and strip the top side's data and make a new image.

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Posted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 11:26 am
by kodak80
Hi Jim,
My computer has just downloaded and installed version 1.80 of the SCP software. Just wondering what is in this new version?

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Posted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 4:01 pm
by JimDrew
My forums have a history of changes. I broke the Amiga ADF support in v1.70, so v1.80 fixes that.

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Posted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 10:57 pm
by kodak80
Sorry, should have thought to check the Supercard Pro section of your forum. Many thanks.

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Posted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 9:08 pm
by JimDrew
New version released today. This fixes an issue when using two drives - the ability to select FLUX IMAGE as a target was sometimes missing. You can use the auto-update feature to update your software.

I also changed the main installer to be Windows 10 compliant.

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 2:24 am
by edingacic
any new developments I am looking to copy some copy protected disk for Cubase modules.. is it possible with Supercard Pro? and is it still available for purchase?

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 12:14 am
by JimDrew
Not much in the way of new developments, SCP is available and can duplicate everything that can be physically written to disk.