SuperCard Pro PC software

Moderators: DrCoolZic, Moderator Team

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Postby DrCoolZic » Wed Nov 05, 2014 6:40 pm

could it be given by the end value?
For 5 revolutions it is 3c3db = 246747 ?

JimDrew
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 545
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Postby JimDrew » Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:13 pm

Where do I find the number of flux???


Look at: "Number of bitcells: 247,470"

With 5 revolutions, that is 49,490 bitcells per revolution.

That is the total number of bitcells, each 2 bytes wide (16 bits). So 247,470 x 2 = 494,940 bytes of data, which fits inside of 512K of RAM.

So, this should have no issues.
I am the flux ninja

JimDrew
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 545
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Postby JimDrew » Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:17 pm

EDIT: Amazing I wanted to test your analyzer stuff ...
Went back to copy mode with 5 revolutions and now it miraculously works ????


Hmmm... did you have this RAM error after experiencing the problem with not having the disk in the drive and then not being able to proceed? I could see maybe the buffer pointer is not being reset or something.
I am the flux ninja

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Postby DrCoolZic » Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:35 pm

JimDrew wrote:
Where do I find the number of flux???


Look at: "Number of bitcells: 247,470"

With 5 revolutions, that is 49,490 bitcells per revolution.

That is the total number of bitcells, each 2 bytes wide (16 bits). So 247,470 x 2 = 494,940 bytes of data, which fits inside of 512K of RAM.

So, this should have no issues.

I have tried again when in analyzer I can read trck 1 always correctly (did it about 20 times)
the number of bit cells vary up to 251300 without problem
As soon I move to copier only the first track is imaged and the erro message happen

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Postby DrCoolZic » Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:36 pm

JimDrew wrote:
EDIT: Amazing I wanted to test your analyzer stuff ...
Went back to copy mode with 5 revolutions and now it miraculously works ????


Hmmm... did you have this RAM error after experiencing the problem with not having the disk in the drive and then not being able to proceed? I could see maybe the buffer pointer is not being reset or something.

Thought this problem had been fixed long ago?
But now when I get it I restart the program to be on the safe side

JimDrew
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 545
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Postby JimDrew » Wed Nov 05, 2014 10:29 pm

The problem before was that I was reserving memory in the RAM for another buffer so the buffer space was greatly reduced. That was fixed. What you are seeing is something completely new, and it is odd that closing the program and restarting it fixes it.
I am the flux ninja

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Postby DrCoolZic » Wed Nov 05, 2014 11:18 pm

JimDrew wrote:The problem before was that I was reserving memory in the RAM for another buffer so the buffer space was greatly reduced. That was fixed. What you are seeing is something completely new, and it is odd that closing the program and restarting it fixes it.

I did not say that! I said that to avoid this kind of question I was restarting the program ...
in analyzer mode it works, in copy it fails for same number of revolutions

JimDrew
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 545
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Postby JimDrew » Thu Nov 06, 2014 9:22 pm

Hmm... that would mean it's not a firmware issue - except that error message comes from the firmware itself. Maybe I am reading one more revolution than I think or something. I will look into it.
I am the flux ninja

JimDrew
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 545
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Postby JimDrew » Fri Nov 21, 2014 1:48 am

Released v1.51 of the SCP software today. This fixes a problem viewing a track as MFM when the entire track is a no flux area.
I am the flux ninja

User avatar
Brume
Red eyes
Red eyes
Posts: 4010
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 10:16 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Postby Brume » Thu May 14, 2015 11:17 am

Jim, the software is very easy to use. I use it almost every day, have imaged plenty of disks since the last we have spoken.

May I make a suggestion: would it be possible to write a .SCP file on the first side only?

I can't find this option in the GUI, but it would be very useful for me 8)

JimDrew
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 545
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Postby JimDrew » Thu May 14, 2015 7:08 pm

Yes, that is coming. In fact, I have changed quite a bit of how the imaging works. It will appear seemless to you for the most part.

I am adding the ability to select the "heads" for copying. Either both, side 1 (bottom), or side 2 (top). In the .scp image format I have always left the heads field NULL (0) and never used it. You really don't need to look at it because the entry tables will tell you if data is present. So, with the new change, 0=both sides, 1=side 1, 2=side 2. There has always been data present because both sides have always been imaged. So now, when you select a disk format it will auto-fill the basic info: head(s), tracks, density. You can change these parameters after selecting a disk type. When you change a parameter the disk type will show as "custom". This change to the SCP software will let you copy/image just a single side of a disk. I am also extending the batch conversion feature so you can convert from flux image to flux image. So, you will be able to convert an image with two sides to a single sided flux image. This will eliminate the extra data. You can also use this feature to convert a preservation quality image to a non-preservation image just to use with emulators (like Steem), because that modifies the flux so that it compresses substantially better than raw unaltered flux. Non-preservation images will generally not write back correctly, so they should only be used with emulators.

You won't have to re-image your disks that have existing double-sided images. You will be able to do the batch conversion and strip the top side's data and make a new image.
I am the flux ninja

User avatar
kodak80
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:05 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Postby kodak80 » Fri Oct 16, 2015 11:26 am

Hi Jim,
My computer has just downloaded and installed version 1.80 of the SCP software. Just wondering what is in this new version?
Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Admin of Atari ST Review Magazine Archive: http://www.chillichai.com/atari-st-review
http://darwin.ljhooker.com.au/house-in-bees-creek-nt-0822-au-1qybf2x
http://www.realestate.com.au/property-h ... -124562610

JimDrew
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 545
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Postby JimDrew » Fri Oct 16, 2015 4:01 pm

My forums have a history of changes. I broke the Amiga ADF support in v1.70, so v1.80 fixes that.
I am the flux ninja

User avatar
kodak80
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:05 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Postby kodak80 » Fri Oct 16, 2015 10:57 pm

Sorry, should have thought to check the Supercard Pro section of your forum. Many thanks.
Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Admin of Atari ST Review Magazine Archive: http://www.chillichai.com/atari-st-review
http://darwin.ljhooker.com.au/house-in-bees-creek-nt-0822-au-1qybf2x
http://www.realestate.com.au/property-h ... -124562610

JimDrew
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 545
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: SuperCard Pro PC software

Postby JimDrew » Tue Nov 10, 2015 9:08 pm

New version released today. This fixes an issue when using two drives - the ability to select FLUX IMAGE as a target was sometimes missing. You can use the auto-update feature to update your software.

I also changed the main installer to be Windows 10 compliant.
I am the flux ninja


Social Media

     

Return to “SuperCard Pro Disk Copier”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest