MIST and AV signal

Area for discussing ST(E) clones

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

RobeInie
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:11 pm

MIST and AV signal

Postby RobeInie » Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:42 pm

Hello !!

I would like to know if there is any way to connect MiST to AV monitors ,
I have two AV monitors (one Commodore and one sanyo 'green') with no SCART conector, only AV.

Thanks !

User avatar
DrOG
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: MIST and AV signal

Postby DrOG » Fri Mar 17, 2017 4:11 am

You can build a VGA-to-YPbPr cable, the details are in this topic: viewtopic.php?f=101&t=31006

This will result a 'luminance' (brightness) signal on the Y plug, which is identical to monochrome composite video. You can feed this signal to your monitors, they will accept it, but there will be no colour (ideal for green Sanyo). Unfortunately only a few cores support this video mode. For your Commodore monitor it would be even better an 'S-Video' output, the Y signal is given, and a C (chroma/colour) instead of Pb or Pr, but it's not implemented (yet).

User avatar
Higgy
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: MIST and AV signal

Postby Higgy » Fri Mar 17, 2017 7:07 am

Is your Commodore monitor for an AMIGA? Because if it has a 9 pin dtype input you can connect the MiST and all other SCART devices.

RobeInie
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:11 pm

Re: MIST and AV signal

Postby RobeInie » Fri Mar 17, 2017 2:54 pm

HeLLo, thank you for your answers !

My monitor is Commodore 1702, no 9pin. With front AV and rear Chroma , Luma and Audio (mono)

Sanyo green phosphore is only AV, no sound.

bernouilli
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:02 pm
Location: Paris/France

Re: MIST and AV signal

Postby bernouilli » Fri Mar 17, 2017 3:24 pm

You must use some video converter to convert RGBHV to composite.
There are devices that do this and are quite cheap :
http://www.ebay.com/itm/272579761437

But I don't know how would the quality be since there is, in such device, modification of the resolution.

I think it's best if you use some direct converter, either some homeade cable based on the yPbPr cable or something like this :
https://www.electronicsinfoline.com/pin/13466

Or here you can order a converter ( v3.1 will do) :
http://jrok.com/hardware/RGB.html


Social Media

     

Return to “ST(E) Clones (Suska / MiST)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DrOG and 1 guest