NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Area for discussing ST(E) clones

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

Sorgelig
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: NEW CORE: GALAGA ARCADE

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Feb 03, 2017 1:01 am

Darfpga wrote:Hello guys. There is no encryption on this. Read carefully README file, this core make use of external ram ( used to store rom program and graphics). You must implement this ram and load it in some manner. The screen you show means that the graphic character machine is running ok but the microprocessor is stopped or not correctly running.

Thanks for your cores, by the way!
I didn't look in Phoenix yet. Was busy by HQ2x porting. I think there won't be a problem to port it to MiST.

Gehstock
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm

Re: NEW CORE: GALAGA ARCADE

Postby Gehstock » Fri Feb 03, 2017 4:40 am

Have this Screen in Donkey Kong,Ladybug,Dordon ....... Thank you for your fantastic Work.

Phoenix already ported and running on Mist

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 422
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW CORE: GALAGA ARCADE

Postby vebxenon » Fri Feb 03, 2017 12:34 pm

That's great! :D , hope we'll see more and more arcades running in our MiST :D . Thanks Dafrpga for your work and Sorgelig and Gehstock for porting it to MiST. Will you re-port o recreate some of old releases like Pac-Man or Space Invaders?

Regards,

Salva

Gehstock
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm

Re: NEW CORE: GALAGA ARCADE

Postby Gehstock » Fri Feb 03, 2017 2:12 pm

why?

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am

Re: NEW CORE: GALAGA ARCADE

Postby NML32 » Fri Feb 03, 2017 2:22 pm

vebxenon wrote:That's great! :D , hope we'll see more and more arcades running in our MiST :D . Thanks Dafrpga for your work and Sorgelig and Gehstock for porting it to MiST. Will you re-port o recreate some of old releases like Pac-Man or Space Invaders?

Regards,

Salva


Space Invaders and Pac-Man have already been ported to the MiST. MiST Arcade titles

Some arcade titles that have been ported to the MiST are missing from the above link one that comes to mind is Frogger.

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 422
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW CORE: GALAGA ARCADE

Postby vebxenon » Fri Feb 03, 2017 3:45 pm

NML32 wrote:
vebxenon wrote:That's great! :D , hope we'll see more and more arcades running in our MiST :D . Thanks Dafrpga for your work and Sorgelig and Gehstock for porting it to MiST. Will you re-port o recreate some of old releases like Pac-Man or Space Invaders?

Regards,

Salva


Space Invaders and Pac-Man have already been ported to the MiST. MiST Arcade titles

Some arcade titles that have been ported to the MiST are missing from the above link one that comes to mind is Frogger.


I know, but for example, it's not possible to play Pac Man using the keyboard, it has not OSD, it's always rotated and it has a very ugly green border :wink:

Regards,

Salva

Sorgelig
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: NEW CORE: GALAGA ARCADE

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Feb 03, 2017 4:02 pm

These arcade games are very common and have implementations in almost any retro system. So, why don't play it in ZX Spectrum or C64 or even in Amiga?

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 422
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW CORE: GALAGA ARCADE

Postby vebxenon » Fri Feb 03, 2017 4:28 pm

Sorgelig wrote:These arcade games are very common and have implementations in almost any retro system. So, why don't play it in ZX Spectrum or C64 or even in Amiga?


Just for the same reason, and because arcade versions are in most cases the original games I knew at the time.

Gehstock
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm

Re: NEW CORE: GALAGA ARCADE

Postby Gehstock » Fri Feb 03, 2017 4:33 pm

vebxenon wrote:I know, but for example, it's not possible to play Pac Man using the keyboard, it has not OSD, it's always rotated and it has a very ugly green border :wink:

Regards,

Salva


Quick&Dirty Ported Cores from PaceDEV Part1.


Usage
Reset: Left Button(Mist)
Coin: Middle Button(Mist)
Start: Right Button(Mist)

Movement: Joystick



Pacman:
Black Border

Galaxian:
Black Border still no Sound

Crazy Kong:
No Sound

Donkey Kong:
No Sound, Graphic Glitches

Space Invaders2 / Lunar Rescue / Galaxy Wars:
Needs Screen Adjustment
Last edited by Gehstock on Fri Feb 24, 2017 7:29 pm, edited 17 times in total.

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am

Re: NEW CORE: GALAGA ARCADE

Postby NML32 » Fri Feb 03, 2017 5:19 pm

Thanks for the Pacman update looks fantastic!! I would like keyboard support.

schombi
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 6:02 am

Re: NEW CORE: GALAGA ARCADE

Postby schombi » Fri Feb 03, 2017 6:32 pm

Seconded! Thanks for your efforts.

Darfpga
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: NEW CORE: GALAGA ARCADE

Postby Darfpga » Fri Feb 03, 2017 8:23 pm

Gehstock wrote:Have this Screen in Donkey Kong,Ladybug,Dordon ....... Thank you for your fantastic Work.

Phoenix already ported and running on Mist


Ah. What is exactly the Mame rom name you are using for those cores? Should be easy to look if they are encrypted or not. The rom that I use for my cores up to now (bagman, crazy kong, phoenix, galaga, xevious) were not encrypted.

Gehstock
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm

Re: NEW CORE: GALAGA ARCADE

Postby Gehstock » Sat Feb 04, 2017 3:18 pm

Quick&Dirty Ported Cores from PaceDEV Part2. Part1: http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=101&t=31112&p=310729#p310729

Space Invaders:
Needs Screen Adjustment

Cosmic Avenger:
Player 2 Screen flipped

Dorodon:
Player 2 Screen flipped

Ladybug:
Player 2 Screen flipped

Frogger:
now with Sound

Scramble:
now with Sound
Last edited by Gehstock on Fri Feb 24, 2017 7:29 pm, edited 15 times in total.

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 422
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW CORE: GALAGA ARCADE

Postby vebxenon » Sat Feb 04, 2017 4:36 pm

:cheers: Wow, thanks very much

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am

Re: NEW CORE: GALAGA ARCADE

Postby NML32 » Sat Feb 04, 2017 5:14 pm

:D Very exciting lineup. :D

Gehstock
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm

Re: NEW CORE: GALAGA ARCADE

Postby Gehstock » Sat Feb 04, 2017 7:52 pm

14 New or Updated Cores on one Day. Pace, your Framework is awesome.

@vebxenon please Correct Title

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am

Re: NEW CORE: GALAGA ARCADE

Postby NML32 » Sat Feb 04, 2017 8:08 pm

Gehstock, looks like you've been very busy today. :)
Thanks and keep up the good work it's very appreciated.

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 422
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW CORE: GALAGA ARCADE

Postby vebxenon » Sat Feb 04, 2017 9:32 pm

Gehstock wrote:14 New or Updated Cores on one Day. Pace, your Framework is awesome.

@vebxenon please Correct Title


Title corrected. Thanks very much!!! :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

Gehstock
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Gehstock » Sun Feb 05, 2017 10:35 am

Asteroids Controls corrected

Reset: left Button(Mist)
Coin: middle Button(Mist)
Start: right Button(Mist)

Thrust: Joy up
Rotate: Joy left/right
Fire: Joy Fire




Pengo:
no Sound
Player 2 Flipped Screen
Last edited by Gehstock on Fri Feb 24, 2017 7:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby NML32 » Sun Feb 05, 2017 1:36 pm

@Gehstock, thanks for the updates. :) The controls for Asteroids are working great now but the Start button (Right Button on MiST) doesn't seem working on Pengo.

User avatar
RobertK
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:47 pm
Location: Austria

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby RobertK » Sun Feb 05, 2017 1:56 pm

DarFPGA, Gehstock and all the others involved: thank you so much for your fantastic work, this looks so great already!

There is of course still a lot of work ahead to make these cores perfect (OSD menu, USB joystick support, ...)

@Gehstock, in case you haven't noticed it yet: the Frogger and Scramble cores have a very dark picture, maybe this can be fixed easily (your PET core port had the same problem in an earlier version).

@NML32: in the Pengo core, you have to press the coin button a second time, this triggers the start button.

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby NML32 » Sun Feb 05, 2017 2:25 pm

RobertK wrote:@NML32: in the Pengo core, you have to press the coin button a second time, this triggers the start button.

@RobertK, true pressing the coin button twice does start the game but in two player mode I was trying to start a single player game.

Gehstock
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Gehstock » Sun Feb 05, 2017 3:13 pm

OSD for what?

schombi
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 6:02 am

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby schombi » Sun Feb 05, 2017 3:24 pm

For swapping joystick ports; e.g. Pacman uses #1, but many other cores have a joystick in #2

bernouilli
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:02 pm
Location: Paris/France

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby bernouilli » Sun Feb 05, 2017 3:39 pm

Yes, it's great to have so many new cores.
But there are some improvements such as support of 15khz that would be great.


Social Media

     

Return to “ST(E) Clones (Suska / MiST)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests