MiST inside Amiga 1200 case with keyboard.

Area for discussing ST(E) clones

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

Sorgelig
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 452
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiST inside Amiga 1200 case with keyboard.

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Feb 12, 2017 8:40 am

Yes. I've made scan codes fully compatible with Keyrah (main map). So i can use all tweaks i've made for Keyrah.
A500 controller on eBay ~6EUR. Chinese clone of Sparkfun Pro Micro ~5EUR.
So, basically it's cheaper than Keyrah if you don't afraid soldering :)
But my main intention wasn't price (Keyrah isn't expensive actually) but bugs in Keyrah firmware. I've mentioned above it doesn't allow to press some keys together. And it includes often used combos like cursor UP+LEFT+LSHIFT(or LALT - need to check again). Or similar combos. So, this bug annoyed me a lot.
With A500 controller i have no such problems.

Sorgelig
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 452
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiST inside Amiga 1200 case with keyboard.

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Feb 16, 2017 12:21 pm

IMG_20170215_0341_0202.jpg

Version 2.0 :)
- New scaler with support for TV, Scandoubler and VGA resolutions through single connection.
- Keyrah replaced with A500 controller + Arduino Micro. Better support for multiple keys down. Arduino Micro produces the same scan codes as Keyrah, so all my tweaks are working with new setup.
- Now it uses 24V power supply instead of 5V. 5V is problematic when supplied by long cable. Now scaler is used as 5V source for MIST and USB devices.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 843
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: MiST inside Amiga 1200 case with keyboard.

Postby Newsdee » Thu Feb 16, 2017 12:57 pm

what upscaler is that? its huge!

Sorgelig
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 452
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiST inside Amiga 1200 case with keyboard.

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Feb 16, 2017 1:33 pm

Crestron HD-SCALER. It's huge but fits perfectly in A1200 case :)

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 291
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: MiST inside Amiga 1200 case with keyboard.

Postby ericgus » Thu Feb 16, 2017 5:23 pm

Sorgelig wrote:New Amiga USB keyboard:
P_20170212_041359.jpg
A500 controller + Arduino Micro.



I've been wondering while looking at this how is the arduino actually interfaced with the controller? .. is it physically wired to the chip its sitting on, (or is it just there because its a good place to sit without any direct connection to the chip under it).. Do you have any additional schematics or any more details you'd like to share on how this is done..

Thanks..

Sorgelig
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 452
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiST inside Amiga 1200 case with keyboard.

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Feb 16, 2017 5:46 pm

It sits there because convenience of connection from A500 MCU to Arduino. It's on top of VCC, KB_CLOCK, KB_DATA pins. Some unused Arduino pins are also soldered to MCU just for better retention.

I will share code schematic later. I'm just lazy to document and explain everything.


Social Media

     

Return to “ST(E) Clones (Suska / MiST)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest