MiST and RGB Output

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

barbaro00
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:34 am

Re: MiST and RGB Output

Postby barbaro00 » Tue Feb 07, 2017 12:13 pm

Is there an atari2600 core working on RGB? another compilation?

Thank you.

DrChaos
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 11:21 pm

Re: MiST and RGB Output

Postby DrChaos » Mon Feb 13, 2017 10:48 pm

RobertK wrote:We are not talking about monitors, but about old TV sets with a SCART connector, and to my knowledge no CRT TV allowed the user any adjustments to the picture size or position. Only if you were a TV technician you could open it and make some adjustments inside, but - as a TV technician told me a few years ago - to a more limited extent than the adjustments possible on a CRT computer monitor.



As far as I know, it dpneds on the TV model. At least newer High_End TVs like Metz, Grundig, Loewe have (often hidden) Service Menues, which allow a lot of adjustments via remote.

rittwage
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 6:26 pm

Re: MiST and RGB Output

Postby rittwage » Wed Feb 22, 2017 1:33 am

Yes, I did manage to make that cable work and it looks great!

DrChaos
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 11:21 pm

Re: MiST and RGB Output

Postby DrChaos » Tue Mar 14, 2017 9:05 pm

Newsdee wrote:it's all configurable at core level... maybe we need an INI setting to say if we want CSYNC or HSYNC/VSYNC when the scandoubler is disabled


Am I correct that this is not implemented so far? I am currently testing a cheap LCD that has native 15kHz, 24kHz and 31kHz, but has VGA-in only. It tunrs black instantly when switching on 15kHz, and I assume that is due to the Sync. Would be nice to have a 15kHz Option without a sync-stripper for a all-in-one monitor...

DrChaos
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 11:21 pm

Re: MiST and RGB Output

Postby DrChaos » Tue Mar 14, 2017 9:10 pm

Forgot to add - the monitor works with PCE on 31khz and TV-480i, 60Hz mode - at least the Menue is shown, but haven't tested a rom yet...

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 208
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: MiST and RGB Output

Postby DrOG » Wed Mar 15, 2017 3:52 am

Yes, previous PCE core releases had separated H and V-syncs in 15kHz mode (but that was a bug if you wanted to use it with VGA2SCART cable), it was fixed in the latest release.

DrChaos
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 11:21 pm

Re: MiST and RGB Output

Postby DrChaos » Thu Mar 16, 2017 9:09 am

Thanks, that is an important information, because now I can be pretty sure that it is the Sync ;)

User avatar
RobertK
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:47 pm
Location: Austria

Re: MiST and RGB Output

Postby RobertK » Tue Jun 06, 2017 2:22 pm

RobertK wrote:Discussion from the NES core on MiST thread continued here.

mahen wrote:Hi everyone ! I have a little issue ! For the first time I'm trying the NES core with a 15 KHz screen. An old TV from my wife's teenager bedroom :)
I'm quite happy with the result !

However, NES games (both in PAL and NTSC mode) appear quite off-centered, and especially quite a few columns are missing on the left as you can see here : https://postimg.org/image/urw5d5h1b/ (yes pics are awful, I have an old phone :)


I have exactly the same problem on my 36cm TV (bought in the early 2000s):
2017-02-02_MIST_TV_via_SCART_NES_01_800px.jpg

And it seems that on this TV the picture of most cores via SCART is a little off-centered to the left. On those systems that have a thick screen border (like the C64 or the Spectrum) this is no problem, but for others it is: for example, on the new PET core you see "EADY." instead of "READY.".

For some reason, the picture of the newly-SCART-capable CPC core is perfectly centered :thumbs: on my old TV:

2017-05-21_MIST_TV_via_SCART_CPC_800px.jpg

(ignore the shadow from the raster scan at the bottom half of the picture, I couldn't make a better photo)

Now it would be interesting to know what makes the difference and if it could be possible to adapt other cores to produce such a centered picture...

@mahen: please try the CPC core with your old TV, I assume it will be correctly centered on your TV as well.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Rustynutt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 357
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: MiST and RGB Output

Postby Rustynutt » Tue Jun 06, 2017 5:42 pm

rittwage wrote:The Sony monitor has 4 BNC inputs for RGB- R, G, B, and Sync. There are cables on eBay with 3, and some with 5. I guess I will grab one with 5 and maybe I'll get lucky- unless the pinout on the MiST is special/non-standard.

Does the "standard" VGA pinut have a pin for CSYNC, or just separate HSYNC and VSYNC?


Pretty sure on the PVM, depending on the cards you have in it will require a analog to digital SC converter for VGA. Mine does. But, think the RGB 15hz range is a direct connection. Been a while since reading the manual.

Gehstock
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST and RGB Output

Postby Gehstock » Sun Jul 30, 2017 5:12 pm

Need RGB Test for this Core(need still a lot of Work)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Not only my Cores for Mist : https://github.com/Gehstock/Mist_Cores
My Cores for Mister : https://github.com/Gehstock/Mister

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: MiST and RGB Output

Postby NML32 » Sun Jul 30, 2017 6:32 pm

Gehstock wrote:Need RGB Test for this Core(need still a lot of Work)


This is what I get on my Sony PVM


Test.png
Test-b.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 208
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: MiST and RGB Output

Postby DrOG » Tue Aug 01, 2017 4:02 am

Hi! First of all thanks for your work to implement / port a Sharp MZ-80K!

I tried the core with 3 different displays:

1.) On my BenQ BL912 the picture is perfect over VGA (Attachment #1), black screen in 15kHz mode.
2.) On the Samsung LE40B650 LCD TV the picture and the menu is corrupted as well, but the video is VGA compatible at least (Attachment #2). 'No signal' over SCART in scandoubler_disabled=1 mode.
3.) On Philips CM8833 CRT the picture is rolling continuously (Attachment #3), if set it to interlaced (no VGA input and progressive mode on this vintage monitor).

Hope it helps,

Gábor
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Gehstock
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST and RGB Output

Postby Gehstock » Tue Aug 01, 2017 10:52 am

Thanks for Replay, and YPbPr?
Not only my Cores for Mist : https://github.com/Gehstock/Mist_Cores
My Cores for Mister : https://github.com/Gehstock/Mister

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 208
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: MiST and RGB Output

Postby DrOG » Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:04 am

Didn't try so far, but I will make for...

Didn't know it's implemented, actually I was not sure if the 15kHz RGB mode should work or not.

Gehstock
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST and RGB Output

Postby Gehstock » Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:58 am

Core using Sorgeligs new VideoMixer
Not only my Cores for Mist : https://github.com/Gehstock/Mist_Cores
My Cores for Mister : https://github.com/Gehstock/Mister

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 208
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: MiST and RGB Output

Postby DrOG » Tue Aug 01, 2017 3:42 pm

The picture is flawless over component, tested with Samsung LE40B650!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest