SMS core

Area for discussing ST(E) clones

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
leech
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 403
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SMS core

Postby leech » Mon Mar 06, 2017 3:32 pm

DrChaos wrote:
leech wrote:I was trying out different cores, and I can't seem to get this one to display on my VGA monitor (I know it does support 15khz, as I've used my ST on it.)


Sure you used the 15kHz ST core? I haven't used the ST core for a while, but as far as I remember the frequency is set by the STimage? VGA is 31kHz and only few Multisyncs are able to work with 15kHz input...


Sorry for the confusion. My real Mega STe and 1040 STe work on this monitor. It is one of the Dells that support 15kHz that I bought specifically for that reason.

Is there anything special that I am missing? I tried it with the menu.rbf, then also tried it with naming it as core.rbf. I am guessing I am missimg some config somewhere for 31kHz? Though like I said even on this other monitor, it gave me a blank screen.

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 422
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: SMS core

Postby vebxenon » Mon Mar 06, 2017 4:33 pm

jotego wrote:
vebxenon wrote:
Now SMS core has 15kHz support and games have now black border, so it's nicer to play. Hope new updates like better VDP, compatibility, better resolution or even FM music will follow.


I thought it already had it... I will look into it when I'm done with the Megadrive. I'll ask phoboz...


Hey. Thanks! :) The FM chip on Master System is just the same that MSX computers have, and MSX core has FM, so I think the same code can be used...

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2501
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: SMS core

Postby alexh » Mon Mar 06, 2017 5:48 pm

vebxenon wrote:The FM chip on Master System is just the same that MSX computers have, and MSX core has FM, so I think the same code can be used...

I thought the MSX had General Instruments AY-3-8910 (As used in Amstrad CPC & Sinclair Spectrum 128) but the SMS had the Yamaha YM2413?

Are they very similar?

phoboz
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 10:52 pm

Re: SMS core

Postby phoboz » Mon Mar 06, 2017 6:25 pm

leech wrote:
DrChaos wrote:
leech wrote:I was trying out different cores, and I can't seem to get this one to display on my VGA monitor (I know it does support 15khz, as I've used my ST on it.)


Sure you used the 15kHz ST core? I haven't used the ST core for a while, but as far as I remember the frequency is set by the STimage? VGA is 31kHz and only few Multisyncs are able to work with 15kHz input...


Sorry for the confusion. My real Mega STe and 1040 STe work on this monitor. It is one of the Dells that support 15kHz that I bought specifically for that reason.

Is there anything special that I am missing? I tried it with the menu.rbf, then also tried it with naming it as core.rbf. I am guessing I am missimg some config somewhere for 31kHz? Though like I said even on this other monitor, it gave me a blank screen.


You need to set the scandoubler_disable=1 in mist.ini file, see:
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki/ScartCable

User avatar
leech
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 403
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SMS core

Postby leech » Mon Mar 06, 2017 6:35 pm

Hmm, but that would force it to 15kHz, correct? Problem was that I couldn't get it to work at 15kHz or 31kHz. Though my monitor at home should work with either.

User avatar
DrOG
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: SMS core

Postby DrOG » Mon Mar 06, 2017 6:52 pm

The scandoubler_disable=1 option not only switches to 15kHz mode, but 'converts' the VGA socket's pin 13 (hsync) to composite sync, and pin 14 (vsync) to a 2V DC signal (fast blanking). I'm not sure your Dell monitor expects this...

You can swich between 15 and 31 kHz modes pressing long the middle (menu) button on MIST using the latest firmware.

User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: SMS core

Postby farvardin » Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:25 pm

alexh wrote:I thought the MSX had General Instruments AY-3-8910 (As used in Amstrad CPC & Sinclair Spectrum 128) but the SMS had the Yamaha YM2413?

Are they very similar?


no they're not (AY is only square waves, the same as ym2149 on our atari, it's also called "PSG" on MSX or Amstrad), but the MSX could get cartridge extensions with FM sounds, using the YM2413 chip. It was the standard on MSX2+. There is a cool tracker for MSX (working on MiST): Trilotracker : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uNCz66UpXzE

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 422
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: SMS core

Postby vebxenon » Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:47 pm

alexh wrote:
vebxenon wrote:The FM chip on Master System is just the same that MSX computers have, and MSX core has FM, so I think the same code can be used...

I thought the MSX had General Instruments AY-3-8910 (As used in Amstrad CPC & Sinclair Spectrum 128) but the SMS had the Yamaha YM2413?

Are they very similar?


Yes, all MSX had a PSG, and it was its primary sound chip... but also it had the YM2413 extension, called MSX-MUSIC, and known also as FM-PAC, and also used on Master System at Japan (in was an option on MARK III and included in every Master System) and thanks to Eviltim, in every country several years later :)

https://www.msx.org/wiki/MSX-MUSIC

It was a external extension although it was included also in most MSX 2+ computers and in the Turbo R. Most of >1987 japanese MSX 2 games have FM support.

For example, ALESTE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjN8fKL8dwo

here ALESTE for MASTER SYSTEM (Power Strike at Western Countries) using FM music

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hbcj0-yQCqM

And here you have a rare example, a MSX 1 game: R-TYPE (The only MSX 1 game which supported FM at the time)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=15O71FNw1vw

MSX standard also supported the Y8950

https://www.msx.org/wiki/MSX-AUDIO

this chip was used mostly for musicians and professional purposes. Some community games supported it, it's outstanding.

Here an example: EGGBERT, which has been known in modern systems as TOKI TORI

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w4jcjo0Nnec

And finally, the MSX community at 90's made a new extension... the OPL4, YMF-278B-F

Here an example of game :) Bombaman for MSX 2 (2003)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9VKHNlCIkI

and don't forget that Konami used its own sound chip, the SCC :D

The final example: SPACE MANBOW for MSX 2

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gcZJ64PgtgA

Regards,

Salva

User avatar
leech
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 403
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SMS core

Postby leech » Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:59 pm

DrOG wrote:The scandoubler_disable=1 option not only switches to 15kHz mode, but 'converts' the VGA socket's pin 13 (hsync) to composite sync, and pin 14 (vsync) to a 2V DC signal (fast blanking). I'm not sure your Dell monitor expects this...

You can swich between 15 and 31 kHz modes pressing long the middle (menu) button on MIST using the latest firmware.


Hmm, I had tried that. But of course now thinking back on it, I may have not hit F12 afterward to bring up the menu, since I know the NES one requires that as well.

DrChaos
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 11:21 pm

Re: SMS core

Postby DrChaos » Tue Mar 07, 2017 9:45 am

Yes, best to check with a core known supporting 15kHz and 31kHz switching, because some cores do not. I assumed the ST core is one of them, but as said, I have not used that for a while because I am more an AMIGA guy and it may also haven been switching between Pal/NTSC.


Social Media

     

Return to “ST(E) Clones (Suska / MiST)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest