NES core on MiST

Area for discussing ST(E) clones

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

barbaro00
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:34 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby barbaro00 » Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:38 am

Anyone has tried gradius 2?, it doesn't work on mine...

User avatar
Atmosfear
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 4:20 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby Atmosfear » Tue Feb 07, 2017 11:27 am

Gradius II uses Mapper 25 aka Konami VRC4. Looks like this mapper is not supported by the MiST.

barbaro00
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:34 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby barbaro00 » Tue Feb 07, 2017 3:04 pm

Thank you Atmosfear, i suspect...

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby vebxenon » Wed Feb 08, 2017 7:30 am

New release by Sorgelig, nes_20170206.rbf:

https://github.com/sorgelig/NES_MIST/tr ... r/releases

No changelog :shrug:

Gehstock
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Contact:

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby Gehstock » Wed Feb 08, 2017 7:38 am

Add HQ2x back with new video mixer.

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby vebxenon » Wed Feb 08, 2017 8:36 am

Gehstock wrote:
Add HQ2x back with new video mixer.


Thanks! :wink:

RobeInie
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:11 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby RobeInie » Sun Mar 26, 2017 11:46 pm

Hi !!
Is possible in this core to implement GameGenie codes, as the Everdrive does ?

User avatar
jotego
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 10:02 am
Location: Valencia (Spain)

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby jotego » Tue Apr 04, 2017 1:44 pm

About the mappers... is it possible to just run a program on the PC to get the mappers of all available NES cartridges?

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby vebxenon » Wed Apr 05, 2017 7:10 am

jotego wrote:About the mappers... is it possible to just run a program on the PC to get the mappers of all available NES cartridges?


Here is a list of all available mappers:

https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/List_of_mappers

https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Mapper

User avatar
jotego
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 10:02 am
Location: Valencia (Spain)

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby jotego » Wed Apr 05, 2017 11:55 am



Let me see if I understand this issue:

-There were different ways of connecting chips inside each game cartridge.
-The cartridges received all signals from the NES and then had their own decoding logic, which is called a "mapper"
-The problem is that we only have support for some of these mappers
-We can identify the mapper to use by looking at some ROM header, because that gives us a clue about the game title (and thus the cartridge contents)
-What we need is someone to finish adding the missing mappers. There is no research work to be done. Mappers are well known. It is just a matter of writing the code.

Is that the situation?

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby vebxenon » Wed Apr 05, 2017 12:03 pm

Here is the mapper compatibility list:

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-boar ... patibility

although sebdel in his last updated added new supported mappers, like some Bandai games or updated-fixed them, like MMC1 mapper https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/MMC1 :D

Near 90% of games are supported. And yes, work must be done to finish the mapper support :cheers: .

Please, read also previous posts :cheers:

Regards,

Salva

sebdel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

M

Postby sebdel » Wed Apr 05, 2017 12:43 pm

jotego wrote:


Let me see if I understand this issue:

-There were different ways of connecting chips inside each game cartridge.
-The cartridges received all signals from the NES and then had their own decoding logic, which is called a "mapper"
-The problem is that we only have support for some of these mappers
-We can identify the mapper to use by looking at some ROM header, because that gives us a clue about the game title (and thus the cartridge contents)
-What we need is someone to finish adding the missing mappers. There is no research work to be done. Mappers are well known. It is just a matter of writing the code.

Is that the situation?


The header actually contains detailed information about the ROM, like the mapper ID and its capabilities (backuped RAM, ROM, additional VRAM, etc). The problem is that a lot of ROMs out there are pirated versions that were running on custom cartridges/mappers. Sometime it's a huge effort to implement a mapper that is only used by a couple of games. So it's a trade-off.
In my opinion, it would be way more valuable to work on supporting backuped RAM. It was the way NES games could store data on the cartridges. Without that, you cannot save at all in RPGs for example. Even better, someone could implement save states :wink:

DanyPPC
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby DanyPPC » Wed Apr 05, 2017 1:29 pm

vebxenon wrote:New release by Sorgelig, nes_20170206.rbf:
https://github.com/sorgelig/NES_MIST/tr ... r/releases


Doesn't work for me in TV Scart Mode.

User avatar
jotego
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 10:02 am
Location: Valencia (Spain)

Re: M

Postby jotego » Thu Apr 06, 2017 11:23 am

sebdel wrote:
The header actually contains detailed information about the ROM, like the mapper ID and its capabilities (backuped RAM, ROM, additional VRAM, etc). The problem is that a lot of ROMs out there are pirated versions that were running on custom cartridges/mappers. Sometime it's a huge effort to implement a mapper that is only used by a couple of games. So it's a trade-off.
In my opinion, it would be way more valuable to work on supporting backuped RAM. It was the way NES games could store data on the cartridges. Without that, you cannot save at all in RPGs for example. Even better, someone could implement save states :wink:


I suppose then that emulators do implement all these hearders then, right?

Implementing too many headers on an FPGA may not be possible because of timing constraints. Each new header makes the memory selection lines more complex and we will eventually hit a hard limit. Whether the limit is far enough to support all possible headers or not, I cannot know right now.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 890
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: M

Postby Newsdee » Thu Apr 06, 2017 11:36 am

jotego wrote:I suppose then that emulators do implement all these hearders then, right?
Implementing too many headers on an FPGA may not be possible because of timing constraints. Each new header makes the memory selection lines more complex and we will eventually hit a hard limit. Whether the limit is far enough to support all possible headers or not, I cannot know right now.


They seem to have been implemented fine in commercial FPGA solutions (Analogue NT mini); but there is also some overlap in mappers and they can be combined into one. I remember there is one example in current MiST code (at least).

That said, the killer feature right now would be to enhance existing mappers to write backup RAM to the SD card (and reload on startup) so as to enable game saves, so games like Zelda and other long RPGs can be played over many sessions.

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby vebxenon » Mon Apr 17, 2017 6:51 am

Mistery World Dizzy has been released on NES and it works perfectly on NES Core :D

http://mashable.com/2017/04/10/mystery- ... 0zYu_N2aqU

Dowload it here :) http://yolkfolk.com/mwd/

Regards,

Salva

sebdel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby sebdel » Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:46 am

Atmosfear wrote:Gradius II uses Mapper 25 aka Konami VRC4. Looks like this mapper is not supported by the MiST.


That's what the official Gradius II cartridge does, but I suspect this is not the probem here. The only ROM dump I can find for Gradius II uses mapper 4 (which we support) but has a trainer (which we don't support).
I'll see if I can bypass the trainer but in the meantime, could you dump the content of the header of your ROM?
On linux -> hexdump -C -n16 GRADIUS2.NES

Thanks!

lips2k15
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby lips2k15 » Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:53 pm

Has anybody got any idea why wonder land dizzy dosnt work? Or how to fix it?

sebdel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby sebdel » Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:15 am

lips2k15 wrote:Has anybody got any idea why wonder land dizzy dosnt work? Or how to fix it?


I'll have a look. If you have the rom and linux, could you please dump the header with the command "hexdump -C -n16 YOUR_ROM.NES" ? If not, just tell me where to get it. I believe a direct link is not allowed but just tell me where to find it (freeroms, emuparadise, etc).

lips2k15
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby lips2k15 » Sun Apr 23, 2017 11:43 am

I just googled it

sebdel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby sebdel » Mon Apr 24, 2017 8:08 am

It turns out that this game was made available for free by the copyright holder. So no need for precautions here :)
Here's the ROM I am using and it's working fine for me with the latest NES core: http://yolkfolk.com/flash/wldfinal.nes

Let me know what problems you have.

lips2k15
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby lips2k15 » Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:28 am

thanks I have had a tinker and my rom is the same as the one you have provided - and i have discovered the issue too... it dosnt like being loaded after another rom!! if its the first rom you load after starting the nes core it runs perfectly however if you try and run it after playing something else you get some right crazy results!!! So i conclude that the nes core isnt fully resetting when a new rom is loaded?

sebdel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby sebdel » Tue Apr 25, 2017 6:56 pm

lips2k15 wrote:thanks I have had a tinker and my rom is the same as the one you have provided - and i have discovered the issue too... it dosnt like being loaded after another rom!! if its the first rom you load after starting the nes core it runs perfectly however if you try and run it after playing something else you get some right crazy results!!! So i conclude that the nes core isnt fully resetting when a new rom is loaded?

Ah I see. You can add it to the list of games that have this problem then...
I tried so hard to fix this. I propagated reset signals all other the place, I don't know what to do anymore. :shrug:

DanyPPC
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby DanyPPC » Tue May 09, 2017 4:36 pm

Has anyone tested this core in PAL Scart mode ?

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 172
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby DrOG » Tue May 09, 2017 5:02 pm

It's an 'NTSC only' core as I know. It works over SCART, but has an off-centered picture. See details in this topic: viewtopic.php?f=101&t=28506


Social Media

     

Return to “ST(E) Clones (Suska / MiST)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests