BBC Micro

Area for discussing ST(E) clones

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
galax
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 208
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 5:47 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: BBC Micro

Postby galax » Fri Oct 09, 2015 11:38 pm

MasterOfGizmo wrote:IMHO there is no driver for the mmbeeb allowing you to use single tape or disk images directly from SD card. Instead they need to be inside this file.


I don't think that's correct. mmbeeb has commands to mount and unmount disk images, you do have to have a special 'patched' version of the DFS (Disk Filing System) ROM though. Commands are listed here: http://swhs.home.xs4all.nl/bbc/mmbeeb/i ... DUTILS.pdf

The games menu works even without the patched DFS ROM though, more info here: http://swhs.home.xs4all.nl/bbc/mmbeeb/

User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BBC Micro

Postby farvardin » Sat Oct 10, 2015 9:42 am

it works very well, and the auto boot option is a real pleasure to use :) Thanks a lot for this port.

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: BBC Micro

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Tue Oct 13, 2015 2:26 pm

galax wrote:I don't think that's correct. mmbeeb has commands to mount and unmount disk images, you do have to have a special 'patched' version of the DFS (Disk Filing System) ROM though. Commands are listed here: http://swhs.home.xs4all.nl/bbc/mmbeeb/i ... DUTILS.pdf


Imho it always operates on stuff inside the beeb.mmb file. I meant that it cannot access files outside such a "wrapper file" like single disk images stored directly on the sd card using a windows pc or the like.

This sure is technically possible but it requires a special rom driver on beeb side being able to read arbitrary files from a fat file system.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
galax
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 208
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 5:47 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: BBC Micro

Postby galax » Thu Oct 15, 2015 5:17 am

MasterOfGizmo wrote:
galax wrote:Imho it always operates on stuff inside the beeb.mmb file. I meant that it cannot access files outside such a "wrapper file" like single disk images stored directly on the sd card using a windows pc or the like.

This sure is technically possible but it requires a special rom driver on beeb side being able to read arbitrary files from a fat file system.

Aah I missed that detail about how it works, I thought that was just for the STH collection. That's pretty awful, the Retroclinic Datacentre is much more user friendly...

hoglet
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 2:28 pm

Re: BBC Micro

Postby hoglet » Thu Oct 29, 2015 6:50 pm

I'm currently trying to get BBC Micro FPGA design working (on the Papilio Duo).

I'm struggling to get Acornsoft Planetoid to run.

I've be very grateful if someone could give this a on the Mist BBC Micro core.

If you're interested, you can read more over on the stardot forums:
http://stardot.org.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=10295

Many thanks,

Dave

hoglet
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 2:28 pm

Re: BBC Micro

Postby hoglet » Fri Oct 30, 2015 11:50 am

The Planetoid issue turned out to be a 6522 bug:
http://www.stardot.org.uk/forums/viewto ... 95#p123838

Dave

User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BBC Micro

Postby farvardin » Sat Oct 31, 2015 8:59 pm

planetoid hangs on my mist too (after pressing space bar). I hope your fix will arrive on the Mist as well :)

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: BBC Micro

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Tue Nov 03, 2015 10:06 am

farvardin wrote:planetoid hangs on my mist too (after pressing space bar). I hope your fix will arrive on the Mist as well :)


Hmm ... applied that fix but planteoid still doesn'r work. Hangs after drawing the landscape.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: BBC Micro

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Tue Nov 03, 2015 10:22 am

hoglet wrote:I'm currently trying to get BBC Micro FPGA design working (on the Papilio Duo).


Great! The more people working on those cores the better!

I've pointed Stephen to your postings. He's the one who did the major work porting the core to the MIST.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
guidol
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:14 pm
Location: Mudanya - Tuerkiye

Re: BBC Micro

Postby guidol » Sun Sep 11, 2016 7:04 pm

Today I viewed the BBC-Movie "MicroMen" via Youtube : https://youtu.be/XXBxV6-zamM
Its a Movie between the computer compannies Sinclair and Acorn - and Acorn did get the Job for the (Acorn) BBC Micro :)

After the movie I installed the great BBC Micro Core :) Would love to have a original BBC Micro or
a Acorn Merlin Terminal (expanded Acorn Electron): http://chrisacorns.computinghistory.org ... M2105.html

duhproject
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 6:57 pm

Re: BBC Micro

Postby duhproject » Mon Sep 12, 2016 3:36 am

guidol wrote:
After the movie I installed the great BBC Micro Core :) Would love to have a original BBC Micro or
a Acorn Merlin Terminal (expanded Acorn Electron): http://chrisacorns.computinghistory.org ... M2105.html


The BBC Micro core is a fun one to explore. Pretty neat system. Didn't have them here in the US. The MSX is a fun one, too.

User avatar
guidol
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:14 pm
Location: Mudanya - Tuerkiye

Re: BBC Micro

Postby guidol » Mon Sep 12, 2016 6:15 am

duhproject wrote:The MSX is a fun one, too.

but without the Infos from the Quickstart-Guide nobody knows how much potential this core has:
Quick start
A quick start is provided at http://retroramblings.net/?page_id=921

User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 203
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: BBC Micro

Postby Paradroyd » Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:56 am

duhproject wrote:
guidol wrote:
After the movie I installed the great BBC Micro Core :) Would love to have a original BBC Micro or
a Acorn Merlin Terminal (expanded Acorn Electron): http://chrisacorns.computinghistory.org ... M2105.html


The BBC Micro core is a fun one to explore. Pretty neat system. Didn't have them here in the US. The MSX is a fun one, too.


Does the BBC Micro core support saving yet? Last I checked, it didn't.

For fooling with BBC BASIC in a modern setup, check out this video on installing and using RISC OS on the Raspberry Pi (including the BBC BASIC environment). Pretty interesting. (BBC BASIC starts about 7 minutes in)
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on twitter

squid4
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm
Location: UK

Re: BBC Micro

Postby squid4 » Tue Nov 08, 2016 7:53 pm

OK, so I figured out how to get the "beeb.mmb" to start its menu by typing the following at the prompt:
*DBOOT 0

How do you get the "auto boot" option to work?

Could the information be added to the core's readme.md?

squid4
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm
Location: UK

Re: BBC Micro

Postby squid4 » Sat Nov 12, 2016 12:59 pm

The popup menu F12 doesn't work on SCART RGB 15khz, works fine on VGA. Where's the best place to log bug reports for this?

To start the beeb.mmb menu you type *MENU at the command prompt.

User avatar
guidol
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:14 pm
Location: Mudanya - Tuerkiye

Re: BBC Micro

Postby guidol » Fri Nov 18, 2016 3:11 pm

Paradroyd wrote:For fooling with BBC BASIC in a modern setup, check out this video on installing and using RISC OS on the Raspberry Pi (including the BBC BASIC environment). Pretty interesting. (BBC BASIC starts about 7 minutes in)

and you have also the Option to emulate a BBC B/Master with BeebIt unser RISC-OS.
I did like the following Video very much for installing BeebIt under RiscOS-Pi:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vETfAB2N5Sc

Now I have read some PDF-Books about the BBCs and the Hardware....BeebEm ist also good Multi-Platform Emulator....
Now Iam going to get a real BBC Master 128.....what a great machine which I didnt realized the last 30 years :(

Now Iam will have a look at the BBC video series
6 Parts "the mighty micro" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WiiQrLMqsm8&list=PL13dwmxpaKl5JJyC4L09uf_PFXkn6FlGA
and
10 Parts "Computer Programme" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jtMWEiCdsfc&list=PLUbyy-NEBjIKP9wPIwj13rRBcXhcQWBZs

The Mighty Micro did start all about the BBC Micro in GB :)

I hope that the BBC Core will see some improvements....additionally ROM-Support, additional (new/old) Devices, RS423/RS232? (Terminal-ROM from the Master), Master Support?, EcoNet? *justdreaming*

squid4
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm
Location: UK

Re: BBC Micro

Postby squid4 » Sun Feb 19, 2017 11:07 pm

I've fixed the non-appearance of the OSD in RGB 15khz mode. I've also fixed the washed out colours in RGB 15khz mode. Please test and let me know.
Any idea how I get these source code changes uploaded to the MiST github repos? :cheers:

bbc.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Higgy
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: BBC Micro

Postby Higgy » Mon Feb 20, 2017 10:20 am

@squid4 thanks for the work. But before we get a new version uploaded can you make the changes I listing on Github.

The original Core had some registers indirectly set, the information for this was found on Stardot and they plus the ZX-UNO guys have incorporated the changes.

Thanks

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-binaries/issues/40

squid4
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm
Location: UK

Re: BBC Micro

Postby squid4 » Mon Feb 20, 2017 11:33 am

Higgy, I did have a go at applying that 6522 patch but either my code was wrong or the patch made no difference.

User avatar
Higgy
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: BBC Micro

Postby Higgy » Mon Feb 20, 2017 12:14 pm

When you say no difference do you mean testing the game 'Castle Quest'?

The patch is regarding this:

Version 0.71 (Mike Wyatt)
------------
Changed VIA timer latches initial value to 0xffff (Castle Quest now works).


The initial values in the BBC Micro FPGA implementation were wrong. Is it the same patch you have applied?

To complicate matters the version of Castle Quest included on the .MMB going around the Internet is from a compilation Disk and it is incompatible with the whole .MMB system. I have added the single disk version (*DIN300) and now linked it in the menu. Download from here:

http://www.filedropper.com/beeb

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 422
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: BBC Micro

Postby vebxenon » Mon Feb 20, 2017 5:33 pm

squid4 wrote:Any idea how I get these source code changes uploaded to the MiST github repos? :cheers:


Ask Sorgelig or Newsdee for example :cheers:

I'm going to test your update. Thanks! :D

squid4
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm
Location: UK

Re: BBC Micro

Postby squid4 » Mon Feb 20, 2017 9:34 pm

Higgy, try this version.

bbc.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 422
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: BBC Micro

Postby vebxenon » Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:11 am

Your previous update work very well, some games like Empire Strikes Back hang on the compilation disk. I'm going to test your new update at the evening. Thanks!

Regards,

Salva

User avatar
Higgy
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: BBC Micro

Postby Higgy » Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:34 am

@squid4 - I have been having a play with the Core. The 'Bad Apple' demo port works :)

There seems to be a slight issue with some games (maybe the resolution they are using?). There looks to be some screen 'wrap around'. You see a few columns of pixels on the left hand side of the screen, which are from the right hand side of the screen?!
For example on 'Page 51' of the 'Internet MMB' 'M' Space Caverns & 'R' Space Invaders show this (also Castle Quest).

Also, is there a 'Shift-Break' command? on MiST F12 is OSD.
Print Screen = Reset/Break, but what is Shift-Break for autoloading? Not a big deal as you can do *MENU or *EXEC !BOOT etc, just wondering.

Thanks

squid4
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm
Location: UK

Re: BBC Micro

Postby squid4 » Sat Feb 25, 2017 6:48 pm

So I've managed to find the bug that stopped Planetoid :D from running, and other 6522 related games like Snapper. The problem is that the SHIFT and CONTROL keys pause the games and Planetoid uses SHIFT. I haven't got a clue what is causing these keys to pause Acornsoft games. Any ideas?

Latest version WIP with working Planetoid:
bbc.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by squid4 on Sun Feb 26, 2017 3:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Social Media

     

Return to “ST(E) Clones (Suska / MiST)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests