amstrad cpc 6128

Area for discussing ST(E) clones

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby vebxenon » Mon Jan 30, 2017 10:47 am


User avatar
jaildesigner
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 1:12 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby jaildesigner » Mon Jan 30, 2017 1:23 pm

Hi everybody! My first post.

This core is a must!! Please, add 15khz support! :cheers: (yay!, I know this is not the place)

Nice to meet all of you!

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby vebxenon » Tue Feb 14, 2017 11:50 am

New updates!

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 5.8.14.rbf

-IO_ACK trigger in edge, not in state (better in some scrolling...)
-WAIT_n generator ignoring M1 while IO_ACK

In OSD :
-CRTC0 or CRTC1, detected as it by WakeUp! demo. CRTC1 by default.
-MEM_wr : quick and slow. quick by default.

quick : Arkanoid II, Prehistoric II. Ecole demo. Pinball Dreams
slow : Saboteur 2. Still Rising demo.


Renaud is working very hard! :cheers:

Regards,

Salva

User avatar
Xtro
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:47 am
Location: Spain

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby Xtro » Tue Feb 14, 2017 10:33 pm

tipsy1973 wrote:
Xtro wrote:As far as I remember this core was compatible with 15khz scart, or at least an old version of the core was. In this mode it ran at 50hz as the original Amstrad, if you run it on a VGA monitor it's running too fast at 73hz making some games jerky and unplayable, I think this is the main problem of this core that needs addressing.



Can you remember what version of the core it was so I can have a test?

Thanks

Kev


Don't remember the version, maybe it was a combination of cpc core and mist firmware. Now trying latest cpc core with latest firm and 15khz is screewed. On past cpc core version in 31,5khz mode it ran at 60hz and now does it at 73hz, maybe that change was what made 15khz unusable. I think we should focus more on that than fixing other issues, as the current state of the core makes it unusable at 15khz and too fast/jerky at 31,5khz.

User avatar
Total Eclipse
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 2:20 pm
Location: Sheepy Magna, UK

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby Total Eclipse » Wed Feb 15, 2017 10:00 am

I've never got this core running on my TV via SCART, it always defaults to saying No Signal. Most other cores run without issue. The closest I got was when I learnt that the OSD button can toggle the scan doubler. If I push the core to 31KHz mode and then back to 15KHz, I DO see the blue BASIC screen, but it rolls vertically all the time.
Atari equipment all in storage - Now playing with MiST :)

User avatar
DrOG
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby DrOG » Thu Feb 16, 2017 5:06 am

I share Xtro's opinion: this computer/core deserves to run on standard PAL (or NTSC) resolution/refresh rate without scandoubler!

bernouilli
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:02 pm
Location: Paris/France

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby bernouilli » Thu Feb 16, 2017 7:32 am

It does run without scandoubler. It's just that the Hsync and Vsync aren't mixed and thus it doesn't work with the SCART cable. But it works in 15khz mode on a vga monitor that accepts 15khz. So I suppose the fix is quite easy.
Last edited by bernouilli on Thu Feb 16, 2017 5:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DrOG
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby DrOG » Thu Feb 16, 2017 5:01 pm

Yeah, you're right, just tried it on my Philips hotel TV (functions as a multisync monitor). Unfortunately neither the resolution, nor the refresh rate is PAL (or NTSC) standard, so I doubt that it would work after mixing H-sync and V-sync.

User avatar
DrOG
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby DrOG » Thu Feb 16, 2017 8:05 pm

I apologize, just now tested the core's "scandoubler disabled" signal, and my other monitor (an LG DM2352) says it's 576i@50Hz... It's an interesting core, the only one which's scandoubler enabled/disabled video mode has not the same resolution/refresh rate...

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby vebxenon » Thu Mar 09, 2017 7:48 am

Renaud is with some experimental releases called "CoreAmstrad experimental xorTV":

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... perimental

User avatar
DrOG
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby DrOG » Fri Mar 10, 2017 4:55 am

Nice progress!

The picture is not scrolling vertically anymore, altough not corretly centered.

Some pictures:

amstrad_170308_r005.8.14e_xor2TV:

Image

amstrad_170308_r005.8.14e_xor2TV_2:

Image

amstrad_170308_r005.8.14e_xorTV:

Image

amstrad_170308_r005.8.14e_xorTV_2:

Image

Unfortunatley no F12-menu, can't try games on it.

Keep on the useful and important work, have a nice weekend!

Gábor

User avatar
jaildesigner
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 1:12 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby jaildesigner » Fri Mar 10, 2017 6:55 am

Oh! It's working now on RGB?

User avatar
DrOG
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby DrOG » Fri Mar 10, 2017 2:18 pm

Yes, over minimig VGA2SCART cable!

User avatar
Higgy
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby Higgy » Sun Mar 12, 2017 3:09 pm

I just tested and using the normal RGB cable, and with every TV core the Amstrad picture rolls on my Panasonic 14" CRT :(

bernouilli
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:02 pm
Location: Paris/France

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby bernouilli » Sun Mar 12, 2017 5:13 pm

Nope, it still doesn't work with the scart cable. If your vga monitor support 15khz, it will work on your vga. The trouble is the sync signals that are still separated.

rittwage
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 6:26 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby rittwage » Mon Mar 13, 2017 1:55 am

It would be nice if this worked with FAT16-formatted SD cards. I know it would be better if the ones that only worked with FAT16 should fix to work with FAT32, but there are more of those. AMSTRAD seems to be the only one requiring FAT32. :)

User avatar
DrOG
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby DrOG » Mon Mar 13, 2017 5:08 am

bernouilli wrote:Nope, it still doesn't work with the scart cable. If your vga monitor support 15khz, it will work on your vga. The trouble is the sync signals that are still separated.

Did you try the 'xorTV' experimental cores? This works on my tv, the best centered is the 'amstrad_170308_r005.8.14e_xorTV' version.

bernouilli
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:02 pm
Location: Paris/France

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby bernouilli » Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:21 am

My mistake.
I tested the 5 cores 5.8.14 (the official and the 4 experimentals) but none worked. In fact I tested them on a 2 GB SD card formated in FAT and no core worked, the trouble is that the core itself doesn't work: I only get a gray screen and when I press F12, this is what I get :
Image

So I tested them again on a SDHC FAT32 formated card and this time the regular core worked on my vga screen and the two other experimental cores (xorTV and xorTV_2) did show on my CRT monitor. The picuture of xorTV_2 is better centered than the one of xorTV :
amstrad_170308_r005.8.14e_xorTV
Image
amstrad_170308_r005.8.14e_xorTV_2
Image

User avatar
DrOG
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby DrOG » Mon Mar 13, 2017 1:49 pm

Hi!

I'm glad that it's working on your CRT monitor also. It's a pity that the menu does not work properly and we cannot run games yet. Perhaps the next release...

RobeInie
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:11 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby RobeInie » Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:44 pm

I have tried the experimental core and got an image like the pics that Bernouilli posted.

¿Could this core implement tape loading in real time like the Spectrum core?

lips2k15
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby lips2k15 » Wed Mar 22, 2017 5:26 pm

Hi there is this working in 15khz now with a working osd?

skywalky
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 4:44 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby skywalky » Thu Mar 23, 2017 5:58 pm


User avatar
DrOG
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby DrOG » Fri Mar 24, 2017 4:57 am

It works, and gives a still not perfect, but acceptable picture via SCART.

Image

lips2k15
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby lips2k15 » Sat Mar 25, 2017 6:53 am

I have just tried this and no - it still dosnt work in 15khz... it just rolls constantly.

User avatar
Higgy
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby Higgy » Sat Mar 25, 2017 4:20 pm

lips2k15 wrote:I have just tried this and no - it still dosnt work in 15khz... it just rolls constantly.


Picture also rolls constantly on my 1990's Panasonic CRT TV. :(

@lips2k15 - is your TV a CRT?


Social Media

     

Return to “ST(E) Clones (Suska / MiST)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests