amstrad cpc 6128

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

pstriolo
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:19 pm

amstrad cpc 6128

Postby pstriolo » Sat Feb 21, 2015 4:07 am

Hello

With the incoming archimedes core, one major core is still missing for my pleasure : amstrad cpc 6128.

Do we have any chance to see it one day on the mist ? Is someone working to port it on the mist ?

For the x68000, my favourite machine, i think it's too difficult...

Best regards.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 932
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby Newsdee » Sat Feb 21, 2015 5:10 am

Yes, Renaud Helias is working on FPGAAmstrad:

http://cpcwiki.eu/index.php/FPGAmstrad
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XsUNmBIFprs

According to his blog he recently acquired a MiST and is looking at a port!
Pretty excited as I've never really got into the CPC...

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Thu Mar 05, 2015 9:09 pm

I can confirm he's working on the amstrad. I have today been in contact with him as we've had a look at some problem he had with accessing the SD card from his core.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

DrChaos
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 11:21 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby DrChaos » Thu Mar 05, 2015 9:30 pm

That's great. That was my first computer which I got from my parents - although I wanted a C16, I got a Schneider CPC...

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2553
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby alexh » Thu Mar 05, 2015 9:32 pm

There has been an FPGA Amstrad core for years by Tobiflex, Tobias Guebner, the guy who did the 68k core for MiniMig DE1.

http://www.symbos.de/trex.htm

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Fri Mar 06, 2015 6:27 am

alexh wrote:There has been an FPGA Amstrad core for years by Tobiflex, Tobias Guebner, the guy who did the 68k core for MiniMig DE1.

http://www.symbos.de/trex.htm


Yes, I know. Several people tried to port that. The main hurdle is that this core expects a compact flash card but all of todays boards use sd cards.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2553
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby alexh » Fri Mar 06, 2015 2:38 pm

I cannot imagine that being a problem? MiST Amiga core IDE gets re-directed to SD card doesn't it?

At some point there is an interface between the I/O of the original machine (floppy drive, hard drive, video out, keyboard) and the I/O of the board.

I can auto-convert the T-Rex's Altera AHDL code into VHDL/Verilog if that helps?

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Sat Mar 07, 2015 7:03 am

Yes the Amiga has some ide implementation. But that's buried deep inside the Amiga specialities. Re-using that really isn't the way to go.

It's sure possible to do this via such a hack. But those who tried wanted a clean cf/ide to SD card conversion. And that's not trivial.

If you think it's an easy port then you are of course wellcome to give it a try ...

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 932
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby Newsdee » Mon Mar 09, 2015 5:01 pm

Almost there! A few minor tweaks are being done, but it's already working great: http://youtu.be/mTHb0kCSCdc

User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1545
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby Gryzor » Sun Mar 15, 2015 11:42 am

YESSSSSS! AMSTRAD!!!!!!!
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image

javidoom
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:16 pm

amstrad cpc 6128

Postby javidoom » Sun Mar 15, 2015 10:35 pm

Great news indeed!!!

zzd10h
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 6:53 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby zzd10h » Sun Mar 15, 2015 10:58 pm

Bravo !

Nevertheless I just tested the Amstrad core with the latest firmware available at the Google project page and it shows me a grey screen.

I placed the differents ROM at the root of the SD-Card and used F12 to load different DSK.
I tested BruceLee.dsk, AST-Equinox.dsk and Gryzor.dsk without success, still the same grey screen.

All others cores works for me, do you know what I am doing bad ?

Thank you !

obiwanken
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:15 pm

amstrad cpc 6128

Postby obiwanken » Sun Mar 15, 2015 11:11 pm

I had same problem. My problem was in SD card.

obiwanken
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:15 pm

amstrad cpc 6128

Postby obiwanken » Sun Mar 15, 2015 11:12 pm

Try format or different one.
Last edited by obiwanken on Sun Mar 15, 2015 11:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby Paradroyd » Sun Mar 15, 2015 11:15 pm

I don't really know what I'm doing with the CPC yet, but I did get it to boot and load the demo, for what that's worth. I had some issue loading disk images at first, but there was a firmware update released today (3/15/2015) that fixed that. Never had a problem with a blank screen though.
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on twitter

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 932
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby Newsdee » Mon Mar 16, 2015 2:06 am

When I tried it, I had to repartition a 16GB SD card into 4GB for it to be recognized.

I used a low-level Windows utility that seems rather dangerous (Diskpart I think) as it doesn't even ask for confirmation when deleting partitions. Handle with care!

User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby Paradroyd » Mon Mar 16, 2015 4:00 am

Newsdee wrote:When I tried it, I had to repartition a 16GB SD card into 4GB for it to be recognized.


Stange..I'm using it on a straight-up Sandisk 8GB SDHC card with no unusual partitioning and it's working fine that way for me.
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on twitter

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 932
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby Newsdee » Mon Mar 16, 2015 4:27 am

Maybe it's been fixed, need to try the latest In SVN.

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Mon Mar 16, 2015 6:56 am

According to the Amstrads wiki page there are some fixed regarding sd card handling.

Newsdee, would you still like to create one of your nice intruducory wiki pages for it. I really like them.

Ah and I always wanted to simplify the projects main launch page but never found the time ... just in case you get bored :-)

User avatar
xc8
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:23 pm
Location: B'ham, UK

Re:

Postby xc8 » Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:11 am

MasterOfGizmo wrote:...

Ah and I always wanted to simplify the projects main launch page but never found the time ... just in case you get bored :-)


in fact you need to move the whole project to github, as google is going to shutdown the google-code.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 932
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby Newsdee » Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:45 am

(removing duplicate post)
Last edited by Newsdee on Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 932
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby Newsdee » Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:46 am

No problem, I'll put something up after trying the latest changes (and look at the summary).
I'll worry about moving to another wiki when the time comes :mrgreen:
Last edited by Newsdee on Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

zzd10h
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 6:53 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby zzd10h » Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:48 am

obiwanken wrote:Try format or different one.

Thank you for the advice.
Unfortunately, i quick formatted and low-level formatted my 8gb SDcard but still no luck...

jerome777
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 2:17 pm

Re: Re:

Postby jerome777 » Mon Mar 16, 2015 12:30 pm

I delete this post, as its place would rather be in this thread "Google code" : viewtopic.php?f=101&t=27770
Last edited by jerome777 on Thu Mar 19, 2015 12:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 932
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Postby Newsdee » Mon Mar 16, 2015 2:08 pm

It does look like GitHub allows offline editing: https://help.github.com/articles/adding ... s-locally/


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest