New MIST core: PC Engine!

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
Total Eclipse
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 2:20 pm
Location: Sheepy Magna, UK

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby Total Eclipse » Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:57 am

I never got this core to give a picture on 15KHz mode on my LG TV, so I think you're on the right track here.
Atari equipment all in storage - Now playing with MiST :)

bernouilli
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:02 pm
Location: Paris/France

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby bernouilli » Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:24 pm

Me too, once I activate the 15khz in the menu, I get a picture but it gets scrolling vertically, as if there is no VSync.
The sources are available so it shouldn't be that difficult to fix this.

mahen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 3:11 pm
Location: France

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby mahen » Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:05 am

Oh, I confess it's a bit beyond my understanding ;-) So actually everyone use it in VGA ?

Well, I'll wait & see if someone one day decides to give some love to this core, which is amazing and in my top 3 but has a few issues. (incompatibility with some SD cards and / or some ram timings and non-standard OSD and this 15 KHz issue)

/me back to lurking mode :)
Amiga user since 1993 ;-)

squid4
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm
Location: UK

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby squid4 » Fri Jan 27, 2017 3:41 pm

Yes, same problem here with the sync problem. I don't have a VGA monitor anymore and I prefer to use 15Khz with these retro cores which work great on my Sony TV via SCART. I've had a look into the video timing issues but I can't see the problem.

bernouilli
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:02 pm
Location: Paris/France

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby bernouilli » Fri Jan 27, 2017 8:03 pm

I think that the problem in 15khz is that the vsync and the hsync are separate as in vga mode. In 15khz the two sync signals must be merged and output on pin 13. Pin 14 must be kept high.
See the schematic of the scart cable:
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-boar ... ScartCable

squid4
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm
Location: UK

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby squid4 » Mon Feb 20, 2017 7:04 pm

I've fixed the RGB 15khz problem and posted the updated binary below. I've let the original author know so he can add it to his source. There's still a problem with the image too far to the left though, but that also appears on VGA too.

pcengine.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby NML32 » Mon Feb 20, 2017 7:13 pm

@Squid4 thank you for the update.

Update: In RGB 15khz mode the screen fades to black and if I turn off my monitor (Sony PVM) and turn it back on the screen is green and slowly fades black.

mahen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 3:11 pm
Location: France

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby mahen » Tue Feb 21, 2017 1:41 am

@squid4 : thanks so much for the update !! I can now play on my 20 year old PAL TV, works perfectly.
BTW...... If you have time to add 15 KHz support to the Genesis core ;-)

Edit : indeed, the picture is not centered and there is a chunk of the picture missing on the left -- similarly to what I get in the NES core in 15 KHz mode with this TV. (no such issue with the Amiga & Atari ST cores)
Amiga user since 1993 ;-)

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 460
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby vebxenon » Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:21 am

It would be great to have the standard MiST OSD on this core :-) . Thanks for the update squid! , will you upload it to github?

retrorepair
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:27 pm

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby retrorepair » Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:15 am

Excellent! Glad to see 15khz output getting some attention 8)

User avatar
jaildesigner
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 1:12 pm

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby jaildesigner » Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:45 am

Yay! 15 KHz support, thanks!

It will be a dream to add super cd rom2 compatibility :)

squid4
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm
Location: UK

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby squid4 » Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:52 am

Yes, MiST OSD would be nice, current one is buggy. I'll add it to my TODO list!

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby NML32 » Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:55 am

NML32 wrote:@Squid4 thank you for the update.

Update: In RGB 15khz mode the screen fades to black and if I turn off my monitor (Sony PVM) and turn it back on the screen is green and slowly fades black.


Anyone have any ideas why this might be happening on my Sony PVM in 15khz mode?

squid4
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm
Location: UK

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby squid4 » Tue Feb 21, 2017 12:02 pm

NML32 wrote:
NML32 wrote:Anyone have any ideas why this might be happening on my Sony PVM in 15khz mode?


Did you put Config_TV/FPGAPCE.CFG in the root of the SD card?

bernouilli
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:02 pm
Location: Paris/France

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby bernouilli » Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:30 pm

That's just perfect. Thanks! Can now play RType on my crt.
By the way, squid4 is right, you just have to put the right FPGAPCE.CFG.

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby NML32 » Tue Feb 21, 2017 10:45 pm

squid4 wrote:
NML32 wrote:
NML32 wrote:Anyone have any ideas why this might be happening on my Sony PVM in 15khz mode?


Did you put Config_TV/FPGAPCE.CFG in the root of the SD card?


I replaced the FPGAPCE.cfg just to be sure and I'm still having the same above mentioned issue. I made a quick YT video to show what's happening and also loaded a few other cores in 15 KHz mode just to show the monitor works.
Sorry for the poor video quality.

https://youtu.be/B2P6Pozmzcw

Thanks,
Mark

bernouilli
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:02 pm
Location: Paris/France

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby bernouilli » Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:26 pm

Seems like there is something that your pvm doesn't like.
Is it connected with a scart cable or with vga2bnc?
Is the pin vga14 (Vsync) connected to the pvm?

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby NML32 » Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:58 pm

bernouilli wrote:Seems like there is something that your pvm doesn't like.
Is it connected with a scart cable or with vga2bnc?
Is the pin vga14 (Vsync) connected to the pvm?


Connected to SONY PVM20M2MDU using VGA2BNC using Hsync

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby NML32 » Fri Feb 24, 2017 2:15 pm

I guess I'm the only one so far that's having an issue in 15khz mode? It's weird because this is the only core I'm having issues running in 15khz mode.

bernouilli
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:02 pm
Location: Paris/France

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby bernouilli » Fri Feb 24, 2017 2:52 pm

There must be a problem in the signal that your pvm can't cope with it. Something like a signal too strong. And since the trouble is only with this core, it's likely there is something unusual with it. This is something that you may see using a oscillosope to compare between the diffrent cores.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 930
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby Newsdee » Fri Feb 24, 2017 3:01 pm

That's so weird... but I did notice the core has some strange color problems even with an HDMI upscaler. For example in R-Type, at some points the background becomes darker (when it doesn't do it on the original). Maybe for some obscure reason it happens all the time on your board... but can't really tell what it could be.

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 209
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby DrOG » Wed Mar 01, 2017 5:26 am

Tried the modded core, and the picture is more or less distorted in TV mode on my Samsung LE40B650. All other cores work better if scandoubler disabled, I'll try to add an extra 330Ohm resistor to the Csync line, and see if it helps. I don't have an oscilloscope, it would be helpful if someone could measure and compare the core's sync signal to other cores'.

Image

Image

DanyPPC
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby DanyPPC » Wed Mar 01, 2017 7:25 am

I tested the latest release 20170221 and presents graphics problems in many games, while the version available on retroramblings 20141130 is better and more compatible with some games like New Adventure Island, Shinobi, Legendary Axe, Wonderboy in Monsterland e many others.

User avatar
Higgy
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby Higgy » Wed Mar 01, 2017 8:36 am

NML32 wrote:I guess I'm the only one so far that's having an issue in 15khz mode? It's weird because this is the only core I'm having issues running in 15khz mode.


I must say I have not had a lot of time to look into the config file, but I did have a folder with the TV / SCART file in it, and on my CRT TV I cannot see the screen (rolling diagonal pciture ). It is like the Sync is not working - similar to the Amstrad Core. My TV is good with other 15Hz cores.

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 209
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: New MIST core: PC Engine!

Postby DrOG » Wed Mar 01, 2017 8:56 am

Tried different resistors between the VGA 13. pin and the SCART 20. pin (CSYNC): 270 Ohm, 1K Ohm and 3.3 KOhm. I made some screenshots about the c64 core also, just for reference.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

The two smaller resistors didn't make any difference, the biggest one caused some "noise" on the c64 core's output (border instability), and the TV found the signal slightly slower. The PCE core's output was still overdriven, and contained some artifacts, but was not geometrically distotred. As the impedance rised, the picture became brighter.


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests