MiST - FPGA ST

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Mon Feb 01, 2016 11:24 am

piku wrote:Will this help MagiC boot in 68020 mode? Currently this doesn't work for me.


It doesn't boot at all or it only doesn't when running 68020 mode?
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
piku
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby piku » Mon Feb 01, 2016 1:12 pm

It runs great in 68000 mode.
piku http://www.atari-source.org
Ever growing: Falcon CT60 in a Netfinity case, Coldfire M5484LITE, 2 TT's, MegaSTe.. And a bunch of macs, amigas, and linux boxes ;)

User avatar
Estrayk
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 2:52 pm
Location: Spain

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Estrayk » Mon Feb 01, 2016 2:49 pm

Hello, I´ve made a video testing some games with the last core. :angel:

Enjoy!

https://youtu.be/9LDqCe2SZuQ
・Falcon 030+FPU 14mb CosmosEX・Atari MegaSTE 4Mb CosmosEX・Atari STe 4Mb GotekHxC+Satan・Amiga A600 Vampire V2・Amiga A1200 030/50・MIST・

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Mon Feb 01, 2016 8:27 pm

piku wrote:It runs great in 68000 mode.


Indeed, it crashes. But it also does with previous cores. It seemed it never worked in 68020 mode.

Does Magic 6.02 work on a real 68020 equipped machine?
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Mon Feb 01, 2016 8:36 pm



Cool, thanks a lot!!
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

arf
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 9:56 pm

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby arf » Mon Feb 01, 2016 9:00 pm

MasterOfGizmo wrote:Does Magic 6.02 work on a real 68020 equipped machine?


Yes, e.g. on the Maxon 68020 CPU board, and the PAK68/2.

Creep69
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2016 3:38 pm

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Creep69 » Fri Feb 26, 2016 4:14 pm

Maybe this tool is already widely know, but creating and modifying ATARI ST disk images, I followed the instructions in the MiST Wiki using HATARI. I think, this method is a bit clumsy, because you have to use an emulator and mount virtual disk images. I have several ATARI tools as ZIP files which contain the file structure instead of a disk image. So I was looking for a more convenient tool and found this:

http://msaconverter.free.fr/index-uk.html

You first have to change the options to set it to English language. After a restart you can understand the menu. It allows to create or modify .MSA and .ST disk images. For me this seems to be an easier option, at least when using Windows.

User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Paradroyd » Fri Feb 26, 2016 6:58 pm

Creep69 wrote:Maybe this tool is already widely know, but creating and modifying ATARI ST disk images, I followed the instructions in the MiST Wiki using HATARI. I think, this method is a bit clumsy, because you have to use an emulator and mount virtual disk images. I have several ATARI tools as ZIP files which contain the file structure instead of a disk image. So I was looking for a more convenient tool and found this:

http://msaconverter.free.fr/index-uk.html


Thanks for posting this. It's quite a nice little utility.
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on twitter

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1536
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Eero Tamminen » Fri Feb 26, 2016 11:14 pm

Creep69 wrote:Maybe this tool is already widely know, but creating and modifying ATARI ST disk images, I followed the instructions in the MiST Wiki using HATARI. I think, this method is a bit clumsy, because you have to use an emulator and mount virtual disk images. I have several ATARI tools as ZIP files which contain the file structure instead of a disk image.


Hatari contains a (shell) script named "zip2st" with which one can convert ZIP files to .ST image files, there's no need to run the emulator itself:
http://hg.tuxfamily.org/mercurialroot/h ... /zip2st.sh

I just added support to that script to convert also directories, not just ZIP contents.

There's another script which can convert long file names to 8+3 ones in a way understood by Atari:
http://hg.tuxfamily.org/mercurialroot/h ... ert-dir.py

(Windows/DOS convert long filenames to 8+3 format in a way that isn't compatible with Atari TOS.)

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1536
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Eero Tamminen » Fri Feb 26, 2016 11:16 pm

MasterOfGizmo, what happened to the ne2000 emulation inside Hatari that you mentioned earlier in this thread (in 2014)?

MasterOfGizmo wrote:
Eero Tamminen wrote:Would you care to post it somewhere? Maybe somebody would want to finish it for inclusion into Hatari. :-)


Will do that. But will have to clean up beforehand. Currently that file also contains the equations of the Cubase2 dongle :-)

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 482
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby vebxenon » Tue Mar 15, 2016 8:57 am

Hello:

http://steem.atari.st/automation.htm

Yesterday I tried to play A_311 disk, but I always get bombs when selecting Power Drift, even using three different TOS and configurations.

Regards :cheers:

Salva
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

User avatar
AttilaSVK
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 11:39 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby AttilaSVK » Wed Mar 23, 2016 11:50 pm

Hi guys,

I just recently got a MIST, and I'm beginning to try the cores which interest me. Today it was the ST, but somehow I could not format the hard drive I created. I was following the guide step by step (created the AHDI floppy image with Hatari and the hard disk image with dd under OS X), but I got stuck at the part when I need to format the drive with HDX. First I was unable to get HDX loaded, it would compain about a file being corrupted, then with basic settings (ST chipset, 4 MB RAM, everything turned off) I got it working until the point where it would actually begin to format the drive.
Then it displays an error message saying "Cannot format unit 0. Try checking all the connections and reformatting it."
Here's a video of the problem, showing some more infos as well, like MIST firmware version, settings, etc: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EoR7yXiwAMY
I used the core_160129.rbf core.

I would really appreciate any ideas. Thanks in advance!

Regards,

Attila

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1536
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Eero Tamminen » Thu Mar 24, 2016 11:03 pm

You can do the whole hard disk image creation under Hatari:
https://hg.tuxfamily.org/mercurialroot/ ... sk_support

There's also a ready to run hard disk image linked to the MiST wiki page.

Another option could be to skip the whole Atari formatting & partitioning phase and use EmuTOS as that can access FAT partition directly, with and without partition table. Hatari includes a script to create compatible hard disk images from given directory contents. This assumes that MiST now supports relatively new EmuTOS versions though...

(Hm. Why MiST AtariMassStorage wiki page uses "hatari" instead of "Hatari" everywhere? Former is the emulator command, latter is the actual emulator name.)

EDIT: add link + more info on EmuTOS.

User avatar
Mister DID
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 8:15 pm
Location: PARIS
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Mister DID » Sun Apr 03, 2016 5:38 pm

Hello,

Two questions , I fight with my logitech keyboard k400r (AZERTY)who do not want to be detected by the MIST . There is a trick ? A file has not put on the SD ? the other problem no opportunity to play with my speedking in DB9 , only my USB pad works . Thanks your for your help.

Didier

goran
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 4:17 pm

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby goran » Sun Apr 03, 2016 10:50 pm

I had to pair the keyboard with the receiver first, then it worked on MIST.

User avatar
Mister DID
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 8:15 pm
Location: PARIS
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Mister DID » Mon Apr 04, 2016 9:04 am

There is no material on this keyboard pairing or I do not know how. MS Windows I use the Logitech Unifying Software.

goran
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 4:17 pm

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby goran » Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:37 pm


User avatar
Mister DID
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 8:15 pm
Location: PARIS
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby Mister DID » Mon Apr 04, 2016 5:31 pm

I did pairing MS Windows and it works now on the MIST and sensitive paddle too. Thank you very much for your help.

goran
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 4:17 pm

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby goran » Wed Apr 06, 2016 10:40 am

I'm glad it worked. :)

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby qq1975b » Fri Apr 22, 2016 6:29 pm

Can anyone try this demo, please? it shows me lots of bombs....The sound isn't good too on the init. It works ok on my STe and Hatari

ATH150825 STE, 4MB 1.62 SP TOS
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Trying to learn...

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 482
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby vebxenon » Thu Apr 28, 2016 3:41 pm

Is there any news about updates of main ST core?
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

atai
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 8:55 pm

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby atai » Wed May 25, 2016 9:03 pm

Hi, I wonder if the MIST FPGA board is available in the USA anywhere. I saw no dealer outside Europe?

User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 347
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby farvardin » Thu May 26, 2016 9:32 pm

It seems Lotharek is shipping to USA: http://lotharek.pl/regulations.php
Just contact him to be sure.

User avatar
piku
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby piku » Thu May 26, 2016 10:01 pm

I ordered a MiST and successfully received it in the USA
piku http://www.atari-source.org
Ever growing: Falcon CT60 in a Netfinity case, Coldfire M5484LITE, 2 TT's, MegaSTe.. And a bunch of macs, amigas, and linux boxes ;)

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: MiST - FPGA ST

Postby ericgus » Thu May 26, 2016 10:06 pm

farvardin wrote:It seems Lotharek is shipping to USA: http://lotharek.pl/regulations.php
Just contact him to be sure.



As did I .. he shipped it pretty fast considering the distance..


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests