[Solved] SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

News, Support and Development discussions relating to SuperVidel.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, instream, Moderator Team, Nature

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby leech » Mon Jul 31, 2017 10:08 pm

According to Dark Lord, this is from the original run of the SuperVidels, and was never used. So has whatever the original firmware is.

Edit: Am I wrong in thinking that the Xilinx software would be able to read some of what is flashed to the FPGA? Wondering if I could figure out what is on there with that. Anyhow, they're only 43, so I'll go ahead and order the xilinx.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 854
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby shoggoth » Tue Aug 01, 2017 5:28 am

leech wrote:According to Dark Lord, this is from the original run of the SuperVidels, and was never used. So has whatever the original firmware is.


You stated earlier:

Tried doing the update to FW v10, and that crashed. Same with the update to v09. No clue what version is on there.


So you did try to update the board, failed, and we can't know for sure whats in there until you A: succeed using the update utility or B: succeed using JTAG.
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby leech » Tue Aug 01, 2017 6:39 am

Correct. Plugged it in, put in the prg into auto folder, it gave a bus error. tried to update it, gave a bus error. Is the updater supposed to do somethong besides instantly writing after reading it is there?

I have the JTAG proggrammer ordered that was previously mentioned. Wasn't that pricey, and may come in handy in the future anyhow.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 854
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby shoggoth » Tue Aug 01, 2017 7:51 am

leech wrote:Correct. Plugged it in, put in the prg into auto folder, it gave a bus error. tried to update it, gave a bus error. Is the updater supposed to do somethong besides instantly writing after reading it is there?

I have the JTAG proggrammer ordered that was previously mentioned. Wasn't that pricey, and may come in handy in the future anyhow.


If you tried to update it, and failed, there is a likelihood that you've zapped the FW and need to go the JTAG route. Sounds to me as if the device isn't detected at all and it makes sense to reprogram the FPGA FW.

(Henrik, Tobbe - help me out here :) )
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby leech » Tue Aug 01, 2017 4:57 pm

At least it sounds like that could fix it. Unfortunately it's being shipped in from China, so probably won't get here for a week. Maybe I should start working on a list of SuperVidel software to play with in the mean time...
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

fidzen
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:13 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby fidzen » Tue Aug 01, 2017 5:29 pm

Looking at the pictures you first posted, you seemed to have the same issue as I with the CT60e and SV.
The first picture is the same as I got using the SV with the jumper on, when I removed it, it worked fine.
The next pictures are after a unsuccessful update of the FW. This have most likely bricked your SV and
you need the JTAG to update it correctly. Don't be surprised if you still get the error message in the first
picture after updating it with JTAG. Then you need to remove the jumper on the SV for CT60 filtering.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT60e, Supervidel, Svetlana, 512Mb RAM, 8Gb CF.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT63, 256Mb RAM,4Gb CF.
Firebee Series 2, 16Gb CF, 2Gb SD, MEGA ST Keyboard and Atari Mice.
Atari 2600 4-switch Woody

Rustynutt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 388
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby Rustynutt » Tue Aug 01, 2017 5:42 pm

leech wrote:At least it sounds like that could fix it. Unfortunately it's being shipped in from China, so probably won't get here for a week. Maybe I should start working on a list of SuperVidel software to play with in the mean time...


The Xlinx programmer I have came with several different cables. The SV is straight forward to connect, unlike the CT's which takes a bit of "is it right" thought.

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby leech » Tue Aug 01, 2017 5:50 pm

fidzen wrote:Looking at the pictures you first posted, you seemed to have the same issue as I with the CT60e and SV.
The first picture is the same as I got using the SV with the jumper on, when I removed it, it worked fine.
The next pictures are after a unsuccessful update of the FW. This have most likely bricked your SV and
you need the JTAG to update it correctly. Don't be surprised if you still get the error message in the first
picture after updating it with JTAG. Then you need to remove the jumper on the SV for CT60 filtering.


Interesting, from all the docs, it seems you should only remove the jumper if you have other cards stacked on top.
I did test this though and got a black screen, then tried again with a DVI cable connected there to make sure the output wasn't going out there instead of the RGB/VGA port, and still no luck.

Rusttynutt wrote:The Xlinx programmer I have came with several different cables. The SV is straight forward to connect, unlike the CT's which takes a bit of "is it right" thought.


Good to hear, plugging in the single pin connectors didn't sound like any sort of fun! I'll ask for input once I get mine in.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

fidzen
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:13 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby fidzen » Tue Aug 01, 2017 6:07 pm

leech wrote:
fidzen wrote:Looking at the pictures you first posted, you seemed to have the same issue as I with the CT60e and SV.
The first picture is the same as I got using the SV with the jumper on, when I removed it, it worked fine.
The next pictures are after a unsuccessful update of the FW. This have most likely bricked your SV and
you need the JTAG to update it correctly. Don't be surprised if you still get the error message in the first
picture after updating it with JTAG. Then you need to remove the jumper on the SV for CT60 filtering.


Interesting, from all the docs, it seems you should only remove the jumper if you have other cards stacked on top.
I did test this though and got a black screen, then tried again with a DVI cable connected there to make sure the output wasn't going out there instead of the RGB/VGA port, and still no luck.

Rusttynutt wrote:The Xlinx programmer I have came with several different cables. The SV is straight forward to connect, unlike the CT's which takes a bit of "is it right" thought.


Good to hear, plugging in the single pin connectors didn't sound like any sort of fun! I'll ask for input once I get mine in.


Black screen is more pointing in the CT60e itself. Even if the SV is corrupted you should get some boot picture.
If you turn on the Falcon and it get black screen right away, it's the CT60e that fails.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT60e, Supervidel, Svetlana, 512Mb RAM, 8Gb CF.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT63, 256Mb RAM,4Gb CF.
Firebee Series 2, 16Gb CF, 2Gb SD, MEGA ST Keyboard and Atari Mice.
Atari 2600 4-switch Woody

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby leech » Tue Aug 01, 2017 7:27 pm

I would have to check again to make sure 100%, but I believe it lit up the monitor as if it was trying to display something. how would I even test if it's the CT60e? I've been trying to find some games/demos that utilize the 060, but in my overzealous copying of files, I managed to fill up my D: and now it's needing some dosfsck love. By the way, litchi (FTP client) is absolutely fantastic. Throughput worked great and fast on it, with wget in bash in 060 mode it likes to hang.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby leech » Fri Aug 11, 2017 12:37 am

Sweet, I got my JTAG programmer in the mail today. Which is nice, since the original estimate was August 29th, then when I looked at the tracking it said it was in the state, but was going to be delivered on the 12th.

Now I guess step 1 is completed, Step 2) locate and download the software.
Then onto the instructions of how to actually flash the firmware!
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby leech » Fri Aug 11, 2017 4:26 am

Woo HOO!!!! So... I took downloaded the 'SV_no_cache_2016081313_rev10.zip file. Extracted at first the score2_0 and 1 mcs files.

Programmed them into the SV, and exact same error. Then tried the score25. Exact same error. Then I noticed this little note on the website.
Of note here though, it no longer caused a black screen and locked up.

The "..._1.mcs" should be selected for the left icon in Impact and the "..._0.mcs" should be selected for the right icon.


So I programmed them the opposite way and BOOM! We have 1600x1200! Now I guess what I need to do is get it to output via VGA vs DVI. I'm 100% stoked about this!
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby leech » Fri Aug 11, 2017 4:36 am

Woo Hoo!! Thank you very very very much everyone!

So, got the JTAG, downloaded the insanely HUGE 4 part chunk of Xilinx ISE, and got that installed. Then downloaded the version 10 firmware from Nature's website, and flashed two of the .mcs files...

At first, the only sign there was anything different was that I could take the jumper off and it wouldn't lock up. Still got the bus error though, exact same one. Then I happen to be looking over the website and found this little tidbit of information:

The "..._1.mcs" should be selected for the left icon in Impact and the "..._0.mcs" should be selected for the right icon.

Then boom, I did as it said (the score25_0|1.mcs files from the FW 10 link) and it's working!!!

Now I just need to sort out the VGA vs DVI output issue and I'll be set!

Again, thank you everyone for your help. And now I've learned something awesome out of the whole mess!
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2594
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: [Solved] SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby alexh » Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:29 am

FYI You could have downloaded ISE lab edition which is tiny.

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: [Solved] SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby leech » Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:36 am

Haha, well I ended up playing Doom (the new one) while it downloaded. But I will probably uninstall that and just install the smaller one then!
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 854
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: [Solved] SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby shoggoth » Fri Aug 11, 2017 7:18 am

:cheers:
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

Rustynutt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 388
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: [Solved] SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby Rustynutt » Fri Aug 11, 2017 8:29 am

Yea, that got me the first time as well.
For some unknown reason, I kept wastinm to load the zero file to the left. RTFM quadruple times :)

Cost isn't even a factor now, is it. :)

You just created envy throughout some of the group.

DL can sleep well once again :)

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: [Solved] SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby wongck » Fri Aug 11, 2017 12:25 pm

Well done :cheers:
Have fun !! :megaphone:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: [Solved] SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby leech » Fri Aug 11, 2017 9:12 pm

Rustynutt wrote:Yea, that got me the first time as well.
For some unknown reason, I kept wastinm to load the zero file to the left. RTFM quadruple times :)

Cost isn't even a factor now, is it. :)

You just created envy throughout some of the group.

DL can sleep well once again :)


Seriously, on all accounts. Now to see what this puppy can do! Need to figure out how to extend out the DVI without gnarfing my case up too much. I found a short male DVI to female HDMI adapter, but not sure if it would work, does the DVI output support digital output?
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1300
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: [Solved] SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby mikro » Sat Aug 12, 2017 1:23 am

leech wrote:I found a short male DVI to female HDMI adapter, but not sure if it would work, does the DVI output support digital output?

Sure it does. I've done something similar: https://www.facebook.com/groups/2962672 ... 791268439/

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4182
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: [Solved] SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby DarkLord » Sat Aug 12, 2017 5:13 pm

Rustynutt wrote:Yea, that got me the first time as well.
For some unknown reason, I kept wastinm to load the zero file to the left. RTFM quadruple times :)

Cost isn't even a factor now, is it. :)

You just created envy throughout some of the group.

DL can sleep well once again :)


This! :cheers:

I was really starting to worry and had even held back from spending the
payment for it so I could refund if necessary. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: [Solved] SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby leech » Sat Aug 12, 2017 5:43 pm

Ha, just about crapped myself. Was trying an overclock, it was stuck at 100mhz and crashing... tried finding the recovery pins, finally found from a screenshot that they were UNDER where the SV sits... Still couldn't get that to reset, but without the SV on there, it'd boot into 100mhz after dumping everything but xcontrol and ct60conf. But then when I put the SV back on there, it kept giving me bus errors! Then I remembered to try to remove the jumper, and that worked... so random...
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: [Solved] SuperVidel + CT60e Woes.

Postby leech » Sat Aug 12, 2017 6:00 pm

mikro wrote:
leech wrote:I found a short male DVI to female HDMI adapter, but not sure if it would work, does the DVI output support digital output?

Sure it does. I've done something similar: https://www.facebook.com/groups/2962672 ... 791268439/


Whoa, I really need to either find time to do it myself, or pay someone to make a not-shitty-jumble-of-wires set up like you have. Granted, a lot of mine is just the shortening of wires required, but yours looks really nice and neat. I am kind of averse to cutting on my case though. I'll see if I can figure something out with the DVI to HDMI though.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)


Social Media

     

Return to “SuperVidel”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest