SvethLANa + MiNT: how to install?

News, Support and Development discussions relating to SuperVidel.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, instream, Moderator Team, Nature

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2026
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

SvethLANa + MiNT: how to install?

Postby calimero » Sun Oct 13, 2013 4:34 pm

Hi,

how to install SvethLANa? I follow instructions from manual:

1. I put svethlan.xif in c:/mint/1-18-0/
2. I create svethlan.inf in c:/ with content: 001200120012

and what next? :)

if I try "ping" from Bash, I get: "Cannot create socket: Address family not supported by protocol"
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 848
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: SvethLANa + MiNT: how to install?

Postby shoggoth » Sun Oct 13, 2013 6:42 pm

Your question is actually "how do I set up a network connection in MiNT" which isn't really the scope of the SV docs. What kind of mint distro are you using (you could try to look for a mint network tutorial, perhaps).

On an easymint setup, you need to edit some files in /etc/.
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2026
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: SvethLANa + MiNT: how to install?

Postby calimero » Sun Oct 13, 2013 8:39 pm

hm... before SvethLANa I had Hydra (NetUSBee) and it worked!

Maybe I change something else unintentionally lately... :(

I will check tomorrow - important is that there are nothing else specifically to SvethLANa that I should do beside that two steps?
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4066
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: SvethLANa + MiNT: how to install?

Postby Dal » Sun Oct 13, 2013 10:47 pm

keep an eye on your boot sequence. As the driver loads, your interface will be initialised with a mount point (could be "ne0" or "en0"). You must ensure that your references to the network adaptor are using the correct label.

Common methods of rigging this up are through mint.cnf (look for an 'exec ifconfig ...' command) or if you use sparemint, check out /etc/sysconfig/config.if and /etc/sysconfig/defaultroute

Good luck!
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2026
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: SvethLANa + MiNT: how to install?

Postby calimero » Sun Oct 13, 2013 10:54 pm

Dal wrote:keep an eye on your boot sequence. As the driver loads, your interface will be initialised with a mount point (could be "ne0" or "en0"). You must ensure that your references to the network adaptor are using the correct label.


and SvethLANa use ne0 or en0 ?

as I understand, ethernet driver predefine "name" of mount point?
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4066
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: SvethLANa + MiNT: how to install?

Postby Dal » Sun Oct 13, 2013 11:01 pm

I've not installed mine yet so can't confirm what label is given to it.

Yes the driver will determine the name - I remember using 2 different drivers for my netusbee, one mounted as ne0, the other mounted as en0. Also, if you still have your other drivers active, you could end up with en0 and en1.

It was just a case of going through my config, commenting out the existing lines and making new ones. This allows me to re activate different configs for different drivers or interfaces.
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 848
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: SvethLANa + MiNT: how to install?

Postby shoggoth » Mon Oct 14, 2013 7:22 am

Yep, I had to change this when switching from EtherNat -> Svethlana. It would be nice to have a utility which enumerates network cards in the system with their proper names/references (is this even possible? Is there an API which can do this?).
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11924
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SvethLANa + MiNT: how to install?

Postby wongck » Mon Oct 14, 2013 12:15 pm

If you install DHCP, it will auto config for you..... so you do not need to know the name of the interface.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

evil
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:03 pm

Re: SvethLANa + MiNT: how to install?

Postby evil » Mon Oct 14, 2013 2:46 pm

calimero wrote:and SvethLANa use ne0 or en0 ?


Type "ifconfig -a" and it will list all available interfaces, including those not setup. You will see your svethlana there.

instream
Nature
Nature
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: SvethLANa + MiNT: how to install?

Postby instream » Mon Oct 14, 2013 4:29 pm

The Svethlana driver uses "en". The digit after it is added by Mintnet. So mine is called "en0".

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2026
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: SvethLANa + MiNT: how to install?

Postby calimero » Wed Oct 16, 2013 3:32 pm

instream wrote:The Svethlana driver uses "en". The digit after it is added by Mintnet. So mine is called "en0".

mine too :) :)

---

I just change ne0 to en0 in mint.cnf line:

Code: Select all

exec u:\bin\ifconfig.ttp en0 addr 192.168.100.30 netmask 255.255.255.0 up


after that I could ping 192.168.100.30 - so SvethLANa is working!! :)

---

but I have trouble with route. I did not change anything from my previous installation but I can not ping anything on network. I have in mint.cnf:

Code: Select all

exec u:\bin\route.ttp add default en0 gw 192.168.100.1
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2026
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: SvethLANa + MiNT: how to install?

Postby calimero » Tue Oct 22, 2013 7:53 pm

please take a look at my post in different thread about same problem:

viewtopic.php?f=27&t=24218&p=239796#p239792

it is look like that Svethlana is the problem!

thank you!
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 848
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: SvethLANa + MiNT: how to install?

Postby shoggoth » Tue Oct 22, 2013 11:56 pm

Is it just routing that doesn't work, or are you unable to ping other machines etc?
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2026
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: SvethLANa + MiNT: how to install?

Postby calimero » Wed Oct 23, 2013 5:59 am

shoggoth wrote:Is it just routing that doesn't work, or are you unable to ping other machines etc?

Summary:
With NetUSBee everything works (ping, local network, surf...).
With Svethlana nothing works! Not even ping to router or local computers.

(In my first post, when I install svethlana, I was thinking that I did not setup route correctly because I could not ping anything but as soon as I put back netUSBee in rom port and insert lan cable - everything works so routing is correct! But if I put lan cable in svethlana: i can not ping anything.
Mint install Svethlana drivers and I bring interface up with ifconfig so I can not see where could be the problem!)
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 848
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: SvethLANa + MiNT: how to install?

Postby shoggoth » Wed Oct 23, 2013 1:26 pm

Okie dokie. Could you verify that the physical (hardware) installation is correct, i.e. verify that the flex cable is properly seated in the connectors, and that it isn't placed upside down?

(Perhaps you could snap a picture of it as well)
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2026
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: SvethLANa + MiNT: how to install?

Postby calimero » Wed Oct 23, 2013 2:32 pm

shoggoth wrote:Okie dokie. Could you verify that the physical (hardware) installation is correct, i.e. verify that the flex cable is properly seated in the connectors, and that it isn't placed upside down?

(Perhaps you could snap a picture of it as well)

Pictures are here (taken before I close my Falcon):

viewtopic.php?f=100&t=25282&start=50#p239190

but I will open it tonight to check if cable is seated properly.
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 848
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: SvethLANa + MiNT: how to install?

Postby shoggoth » Wed Oct 23, 2013 3:20 pm

calimero wrote:but I will open it tonight to check if cable is seated properly.


Great :) I'll compare with my machine later this evening. Do you see any LED indications on the Svethlana (link LED etc?)
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2026
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: SvethLANa + MiNT: how to install?

Postby calimero » Wed Oct 23, 2013 3:28 pm

shoggoth wrote:
calimero wrote:but I will open it tonight to check if cable is seated properly.


Great :) I'll compare with my machine later this evening. Do you see any LED indications on the Svethlana (link LED etc?)

When I insert LAN cable both LEDs shine :) but never flash!

e.g. if I ping, my NetUSBee constantly flashing orange LED while Svethlana's LEDs remain on all the time (when LAN cable is inserted of course).
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 161
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: SvethLANa + MiNT: how to install?

Postby jury » Thu Oct 24, 2013 8:20 am

You could have the same issue I had lately, so here it goes:
- I installed svethlana some time ago and it worked perfectly ( sent many files through svethlana )
- few days ago I had some big files to sent to my CT monster so powered it and I had no connection ( both lights on when cable connected ), so I checked configuration on MiNT and Ubuntu zybelion times and all seemed OK
- by some coincidence ;) I touched the ribbon cable and find out that pings started going so finally I set the ribbon the way that it works flawlessly
:)

( of course I need to take this out and see whats wrong with this ribbon, but I did not find enough power in me to take all this out off my tower construction yet ;) )

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2026
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: SvethLANa + MiNT: how to install?

Postby calimero » Sat Oct 26, 2013 3:08 pm

you were right!

ribbon cable was not fitted well! I just reseted and now everything works!
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X


Social Media

     

Return to “SuperVidel”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests