svupd005.app crashes with Access Fault

News, Support and Development discussions relating to SuperVidel.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, instream, Moderator Team, Nature

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1378
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

svupd005.app crashes with Access Fault

Postby alanh » Sun Sep 08, 2013 2:41 pm

Anyone else get this in 060 mode ?

Not sure if my SuperVidel is already at 005 or not but thought I'd give this a try.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

instream
Nature
Nature
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: svupd005.app crashes with Access Fault

Postby instream » Sun Sep 08, 2013 7:52 pm

Does the SV still work after this happens?
Did you run it in TOS or Mint?
When does it crash?

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1378
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: svupd005.app crashes with Access Fault

Postby alanh » Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:00 pm

Just booted to TOS, no MiNT at all.

Double click the APP, and it appears to crash when it's finished loading, so expecting it to start executing the APP.

The whole machine is then dead as it displays the Access Fault message with a full dump.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

instream
Nature
Nature
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: svupd005.app crashes with Access Fault

Postby instream » Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:04 pm

Sounds like the app has been corrupted when you downloaded it.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1378
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: svupd005.app crashes with Access Fault

Postby alanh » Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:06 pm

Don't think so, just downloaded it again, same file size and same md5sum.

1180165 bytes

c4f232e2a71d3e900af93fbdab4df31b
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

instream
Nature
Nature
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: svupd005.app crashes with Access Fault

Postby instream » Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:27 pm

I just tried downloading the app using netsurf 2.9 in mint 1.17.0, then set the flags using chmod 755, then ran it from conholio. It started ok.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1378
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: svupd005.app crashes with Access Fault

Postby alanh » Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:34 pm

Do I need MiNT ?

Can you try it from plain TOS ?
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
saulot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 9:09 pm
Location: Warszawa
Contact:

Re: svupd005.app crashes with Access Fault

Postby saulot » Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:37 pm

i've updated everything under tos 1.03c, no problems at all.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1378
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: svupd005.app crashes with Access Fault

Postby alanh » Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:52 pm

I also have CTPCI installed. Can that cause problems ?
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

instream
Nature
Nature
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: svupd005.app crashes with Access Fault

Postby instream » Mon Sep 09, 2013 3:49 pm

It works from TOS too. I can't test with a CTPCI, but you should make sure your CT60 ABE and SDR FW are the latest. If the CTPCI is inactive I guess there should be no problem with svup005.app.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1378
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: svupd005.app crashes with Access Fault

Postby alanh » Mon Sep 09, 2013 3:53 pm

ABE & SDR are the latest. Sometimes it just hangs after loading and the mouse freezes.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1378
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: svupd005.app crashes with Access Fault

Postby alanh » Mon Sep 09, 2013 4:09 pm

I can run the APP in 030 mode, but obviously it doesn't detect the SV then.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

instream
Nature
Nature
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: svupd005.app crashes with Access Fault

Postby instream » Mon Sep 09, 2013 7:27 pm

Don't try to update the SV from 030-mode. Some people have bricked their SV that way. Then you need a JTAG cable.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1378
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: svupd005.app crashes with Access Fault

Postby alanh » Mon Sep 09, 2013 7:28 pm

I know, but just saying that it runs in 030 mode, so the APP checksum is o.k. and it executes. But crashes in 060 mode.

Just a side note, that maybe the APP should exit if it detects 030 mode so people can't brick their SV's.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

instream
Nature
Nature
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: svupd005.app crashes with Access Fault

Postby instream » Tue Sep 10, 2013 5:04 pm

Yes, absolutely. Haven't got around to it yet. :)

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 854
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: svupd005.app crashes with Access Fault

Postby shoggoth » Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:14 am

/PeP bitchslaps Hencox and InSTream :)
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1378
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: svupd005.app crashes with Access Fault

Postby alanh » Fri Sep 13, 2013 1:28 pm

Now that I'm back to 1.03 (see speckles on output post), this now works :-)
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

instream
Nature
Nature
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: svupd005.app crashes with Access Fault

Postby instream » Fri Sep 13, 2013 5:28 pm

Great! :)

Then we may also need to add a check in svupdXXX.app that the CT60 TOS version should be 1.03 or 2.01.


Social Media

     

Return to “SuperVidel”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests